Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2017
We like the hotel and the staff could not have been any nicer. I don't believe there are people working there at night because the people above us came in around 1 am and yelled slammed the floor and continued to party until around 5am. There was also an argument in the hallway outside our room. If you are going to donthe. At scene and not worried about sleep this would be a fun place. We had a busy day planned for the next day so it was wrong for us. That said they serve an awesome breakfast, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the people extremely nice. Just loud at night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2017 by Gerry, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments and sorry you had to put up with the noise.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well situated but...

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Well located but staff unfriendly. The hotel is situated in a pub, so it's noisy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great spot for low cost large group trip, not so g

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: provide something to help with airflow..
Location: heart of town, there are many many pub and restaurants. castle is easy 5 min walking distance, walking along the river is nice too..
Room was large with 4 beds and small bathroom, run down, reminded me of a low cost ski lodge. we got room with biggest window, it was tiny, opened about a ft. with no AC, fan or any other way to get some air flow, even with temp dropping to 50s at night, kept the room very hot and stuffy. high for day was 70s. we were uncomfortable enough to consider moving but decided to tough it out one night, ended up no rest and wanting to leave early but no staff to check out.. we waited till after 9 a.m. for anyone to show up, room did include free breakfast but we didn't know when that would be so left. Room only had one plug available (after unplugging the lamp) with 3 of us charging. Staff if very friendly but considering i paid 180 euro fro some of the hotels, can't say this was worth it. Also, avoid front facing rooms if possible.. with all the pub in the area, street was very active till early morning..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Gerry, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for your comments.Sorry you were not happy with everything, however,its untrue to say that staff didnt appear until 9am, as we ALWAYS have staff working from 8am, and Breakfast is Always served from 8.30am. However, we hope we can look after you again sometime, and if you let us know in time, we can upgrade your booking. Thanking you.
5 out of 5
by John

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed on a Tuesday. I was worried that the bar may be noisy but no problems. A weekend could be different. We were right in the heart of Killkenny, we could walk to the main area. Breakfast in the bar was great.
4 out of 5
by Kelly

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Richard

Nice B&B

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Great B&B right off the main shopping street. Personalized service, good food and free full Irish breakfast! The steak on a stone is a must try!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

The Rafter Dempseys

Posted Jun 3, 2011 on Hotels
Friendly staff but there was a mix up in the room when we got there. had booked 4 single beds in one room but they only had a room with 3 beds available. got to the room and noticed that the bathroom door would not shut. It kept swinging open so we had to use the pub toilets. rooms not very secure {as we found out when we got back that night and some drunken men kicked our room door in. terrifying!} night porter was around but he wouldn't call the police even though the men harrassed us for over an hour. wouldn't stay there again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampton, VA

friendly staff

Posted Oct 27, 2010
Very friendly staff. Quaint b&b above a pub near Butler castle. Shower was small but water was hot and pressure was strong. We would go back if in the area again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Munich

Hotel room and bad

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Nothing
The door to the BAD / WC could not be closed. In the hotel and room smelt very bad
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Gerry, Hotel Management
we are sorry you were disappointed, and if we were aware of this, we could and would have offered an alternative room. Thanks for your feedback.