Lobby

Reviews of Strawberry Hill

4.5 out of 5
Strawberry HillIsland Outpost Irish Town, Irish Town, KTP
4.4
Excellent
5 - Excellent
53
5 - Excellent 64%
4 - Good
19
4 - Good 23%
3 - Okay
6
3 - Okay 7%
2 - Poor
5
2 - Poor 6%
1 - Terrible
0
1 - Terrible 0%

4.6/5

Cleanliness

4.3/5

Staff & service

4.0/5

Amenities

4.4/5

Property conditions & facilities

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
The location of the property is breathtaking and the food is good. Overall the staff and service is fair. the front desk staff needs improvement in communication about the checking and checking out process. However, the restaurant staff was courteous and helpful. Especially, Roxine who went above and beyond.
Stayed 4 nights in Nov 2018
Response from DMelbourne on Nov 26, 2018
Hi V, Thank you for visiting Strawberry Hill. We appreciate your review on our property, and will certainly continue to improve our services so you can have a superb vacation when next you choose to join us. One Love!

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 7 nights in Oct 2018
Response from DMelbourne on Nov 26, 2018
Thank you for staying with us - it was a pleasure hosting you at Strawberry Hill. We hope to welcome you again in the future. One Love.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Attentive staff; anything you wanted appeared! Relaxing, great continental breakfast, delicious coffee! Mountain air!
Stayed 5 nights in Aug 2018
Response from Island Outpost on Sep 4, 2018
Thank you Maggie for visiting us at Strawberry Hill! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Please come visit us again soon. One Love

5/5 Excellent

Go visit the mountains!!
Beautiful resort. Gorgeous pool. Cooler air than down on the beach. Friendly staff.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2018
Response from The Staff at Strawberry Hill on Aug 28, 2018
Thank you for your review! Please come back and visit us again soon in the Blue Mountains. One Love, Strawberry Hill

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
It is a good property. Getting around maybe a hassle. I can’t say the food is great. But the villas are the best thing to take if you go there.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2018
Response from The Staff at Strawberry Hill on Aug 14, 2018
Thank you for your review Almuhannad! We are so delighted to have hosted you with us at Strawberry Hill. One aspect which makes our hotel is so special is our secluded location within the Blue Mountains. There are many activities and local places to visit; so our guests can do as much or as little while staying with us! Our neighbourhood has lots to offer and there are alternatives for dining, which we encourage our guests to visit as part of our community oriented model. Please come visit us again soon! One love

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2018
Response from The Staff at Strawberry Hill on Aug 7, 2018
Thank you Anne! We are so delighted you enjoyed your time with us at Strawberry Hill. Please come visit us again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2018
Response from The Staff at Strawberry Hill on Aug 7, 2018
Thank you Anne! We are so delighted you enjoyed your time with us at Strawberry Hill. Please come visit us again soon.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Staff was courteous and friendly. When compared to other facilities of similar rating I think that the WiFi service could be greatly improved. Overall a beautiful scenic environment and perfect place to leave the stress of everyday life behind .
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2018
Response from Strawberry Hill on Jul 17, 2018
Thank you for your review Joanne. It was a delight hosting you, and we look forward to welcoming you again.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nature at its best.
It was AMAZING. Comfortable room- You are as close to nature as it gets and spectacular views night and day. Simply beautiful.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2018
Response from Strawberry Hill on Jul 10, 2018
Thank you for your wonderful feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you at Strawberry Hill again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great for a relaxing vacation in the Blue Mountains!
Stayed 4 nights in May 2018
Response from Strawberry Hill on Jul 10, 2018
Thank you for your wonderful feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you at Strawberry Hill again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Fabulous mountain escape
Response from Adriana on Apr 24, 2018
Dear Dan, It is wonderful to hear that your escape was fabulous! We would love to see you again! One love, Strawberry Hill Team

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Wonderful hotel in Jamaica's Blue Mountains
Very relaxing hotel with fabulous views and very romantic rooms. It is a great getaway for a few days of R & R to a place that seems a million miles away from the hustle and bustle of Kingston. We were doing several hours of work each day and it was a quiet and peaceful place to work on a creative project.
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2018
Response from Adriana on Mar 19, 2018
Dear Jim. It is great to hear that you had a memorable experience, and that you found inspiration and peace while at beautiful Strawberry Hill. Although you did not explore the area this time, there are many activities and local places to visit; so our guests can do as much or as little while staying with us! Jamaica is not an inexpensive island, and for many guests' surprise, the prices are higher than expected. However, our prices are in line with other similar establishments both in Kingston and also more touristic areas like the north coast. Thank you for sharing your experience with other readers, we appreciate your time. One love, Adriana Moreno-Vogt Hospitality & Service Manager

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great location and lovely staff
Our stay at SW was amazing. The location is great and staff is very friendly. Great view over the city.
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2018
Response from Adriana on Mar 19, 2018
Dear Duarte, We are happy to hear that your stay with us was perfect! Thank you for sharing your experience at beautiful Strawberry Hill, and we hope to see you again. One love, Adriana Moreno-Vogt Hospitality & Service Manager

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Beautiful
Strawberry hill is as beautiful as you think it will be. Breathtaking. The service is a bit odd and not great with the exception of the property manager Adriana, who is amazing and lovely. The food is fairly expensive and pretty bad. There is a great little restaurant down the mountain a mile or two that is a better bet for meals. The rooms are clean and very comfortable with amazing views. The property is truly stunning and so peaceful. I would go back again in a heartbeat. But be prepared for lackluster service.
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2018
Response from Adriana on Jan 27, 2018
Dear Sarah, Thank you for your feedback, we receive your comments as an opportunity to continue improving and providing our guests with the best experience. We are happy to hear that you had a relaxing time and enjoyed the comfort of your cottage. We would love to welcome you back when you need time away from the city. Our neighbourhood has lots to offer and yes, there are a few alternatives for dining, which we encourage our guests to visit as part of our community oriented model. One love, Adriana Moreno-Vogt Hospitality & Service Manager

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Jamaica Mountain Resort
Unlike other Jamaica resorts, this one isn't on the beach. It's on a mountain 3000 ft above Kingston with fantastic views. Super romantic, great food. Weather is consistently mild.
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2018
Response from Adriana on Jan 27, 2018
Dear Dan, Yes, our location is unique and offers a different Caribbean experience. Our guests and visitors are always delighted by our setting and natural environment. We are glad you had a memorable experience. We hope to see you again in the future! One love, Adriana Moreno-Vogt Hospitality & Service Manager

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Blue Mountains
The views of the mountains and Kingston at night are amazing. A bit of a trek to get there but well worth it!
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2017
Response from Adriana on Dec 8, 2017
Thank you Bonnie, for your review. You are right, the views are majestic! One love, Adriana Hospitality & Service Manager

2/5 Poor

Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
My last stay at strawberry hills
I was dispointed and I demand a refund because it's not worth the money. It's not a high end quality hotel. It rain and water came in and wet up my belongings. The food is mediocre not worth the US dollars they charge and they nickel and dime you for drinks. I was appalled that a cleaning staff member pick up a soap that had being on the show flloor and put it back in the tray unsanitary conditions. The WiFi works when it feels like and I could not get anything down on the internet.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2017

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great place to relax!
My girlfriend and I wanted a getaway that was low key, and would be able to just relax. We found it. Strawberry Hill is exactly that place. Beautiful scenery, relaxing atmosphere with just enough options to keep you occupied if you wanted to. The ENTIRE staff was excellent. Don't be fooled by some reviews that say the drive up was unpleasant. It's not, the roads were excellent. Obviously those reviewers had never traveled in the mountains before. The food was good and priced right for the location. If you need a place to recharge your batteries, and enjoy a low key relaxing atmosphere Strawberry Hill is your place.
Stayed 5 nights in Aug 2017
Response from The Caves on Sep 1, 2017
Thank you for your review Scott! Please come back and visit us again at The Caves. We look forward to seeing you in Jamaica again soon.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Wonderful getaway spot. Omg!!!
Breathtaking views everywhere you turn. Be prepared to spend but it was fully worth every debt adding penny. Brunch is spectacular!!!
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2017
Response from The Caves on Nov 29, 2017
Thank you for your review! Please come back and visit us again at The Caves. We look forward to seeing you in Jamaica again soon.

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Beautiful View But Nothing More
The road leading into the mountains are in terrible condition. I arrived late but could discern the mildew/dirt covered wooden walkways and steps. Several steps were decayed and partially broken. Inside the dimly lit room the screens have holes in them allowing mosquitoes to enter the room. The wooden floors are in bad need of refinishing. No TVs our phone system for outside lines under the auspices of peace and tranquility but in today's world we need to be connected. The shower had enbedded dirt in the shower tile floor. The iron worked well. I could continue but it's not worth the price even if it was half the price. The property is in a great location but is in need of a complete overhaul. The "white" bath robs were dirty and discolored.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Paradise Found
My room had the most spectacular views. I experienced such serenity. I could only stay one night. I plan on going back for longer. No TVs in the room or radio. If you are looking for activities this isn't the place. If you want peace, scenic views, clean air, excellent food and five-star service, this is the place. I'm going back.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Everyone was friendly, including the guest. Food was amazing. Keep in mind, only the breakfast is free. Prices on the menu are not cheap, but well worth it. I'll refer this place to anyone.

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, room comfort
Amazing views but impersonal hotel
Strawberry Hills is in a stunning location that will take your breath away. The bed is one of the comfiest we've slept in and the pool is spectacular. The food is good but breakfast was rather sugar heavy. When we asked to switch cake (which comes with the standard breakfast included in the room rate) for eggs or a Jamaican breakfast this wasn't possible without paying for a new breakfast in full. We were also celebrating a 30th birthday and got engaged the day before we arrived. We mentioned this to the hotel but received no token of congratulations for this at all. Not even a note! We found this quite astonishing for what is meant to be a five star experience. Overall, Strawberry Hills is wonderful for one night but given the price, we would recommend staying elsewhere after that. There's so much to do in Kingston that it's definitely fun to spend some time down in the action after you've absorbed the views.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Heavenly!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Mountain heaven
At over 3000ft in the Blue Mountains high above Kingston, this is a marvellous place to get away from the bustle of town. The grounds are beautiful and the views stunning. The food is good if not exciting and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. Slight downside is there is little to do if the weather turns rainy as it often does in the autumn.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Beautiful remote mountainside getaway.
Unique resort with great staff. Food excellent albeit pricey. Cool breezes in the evening. Magnificent views over the mountain side. Evening city lights of greater Kingston provide a beautiful view. Lush flora throughout. Quite a bit of stair climbing to reach rooms and dining area.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Tranquility with excellent food....
I absolutely loved my visit. The villas were spacious and located in the most exquisite location with amazing views. I have no complaints. Cadeene was attentive to every detail and l look forward to a return visit. You must experience the spa, well worth the time and expense.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Unbeatable location overlooking Kingston
Staff very obliging in all respects, were concerned when we were late back one evening. Every bit as relaxing as we had hoped.

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Extremely disappointed
Sorry to say, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. My family and I were EXTREMELY disappointed. The rooms did not look like the pictures online and need updating. The hotel states online that is an ALL-INCLUSIVE hotel but it is NOT. The only meal provided is breakfast which is continental (on the days they choose) and the service is extremely SLOW. Please don't waste your money and stay at this establishment.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Can't help fall in love with Straberry Hill.
Beautiful villa with amazing views and very realixing. Absolutely love it!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Gorgeous setting! Great service! Pricey food!
My family of four stayed at the Strawberry Hill Resort for seven days. We opted to rent a car instead of using a driver. Driving up the mountain to the resort was scary. The road is very windy and very narrow. We never enjoyed driving up or down the mountain, but we did get used to it by day seven. One of our rooms had a view of Kingston and the other a view of the mountain. The city view was spectacular. We loved sitting on the balcony and watching the city lights twinkle at night. The mountain view was beautiful, too and we enjoyed watching the sun rising over the mountain in the mornings. However, if your accommodations face the mountain, be prepared to hear packs of wild dogs barking in the middle of the night and roosters crowing at dawn. There’s only one restaurant on the resort premises. The service is wonderful. The wait staff is attentive, polite and unobtrusive. Unfortunately, the food is only adequate and too expensive. Meals cost twice as much as other restaurants in Kingston (quadruple what a comparable meal would cost in the United States). Therefore, we ate at least one meal a day at Café Blue, which is located a quarter of the way down the mountain. Be forewarned-you have to get to the café early, before they run out of food!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
tranquility
Beautiful views and tranquility the place to go to write that book you always wanted to away from it all .

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Relaxing and picture perfect but....
This resort perched atop Kingston's Blue Mountain is absolutely beautiful and enriched by old world charm. Dating back to the late 1700's, the old world charm has been maintained and make this resort truly unique. Owned by music mogul Chris Blackwell who arguably brought Bob Marley to world attention, this resort is special. Pictures suround the restaurant of famed guests from Bob Marley himself to Prince Charles, to Grace Jones to Mick Jaguar....the list goes on and on. One starts to get the feel very quickly that this place is a hidden gem where many well known and unknown have found solice from the craziness of the the rest of the world. Unfortunately, the management nor the staff seem to approach this venue with the sacred reverence it deserves. To put it mildly, the staff and manager (who is on sight daily- probably lives on the property) doesn't seem to take much more pride in working at this place than they would if they worked at the local Holiday Inn Express. This attitude is shown by the overall lack of attention to detail. Items listed on the limited menu in the one restaurant on sight are not available. With only 14 rooms and cottages, one would think that guests would have their choices of a daily array of delicious chef prepared meals from which to choose....not the case. The accoutrements of this place is nothing short of amazing, but the service is average to mediocre at best.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
wow!
Imagine a mountain top resort with the dining/bar/pool at the peak and the rooms below overlooking the sides in every direction. The grounds are beautifully manicured with dense greenery and with less than 50 people in the resort, you can easily pretend you are alone. At 1000 meters, the altitude reduces the temperature around 10F/6C degrees but even the taller peaks to the north/northeast won't obstruct the sun so you can work your tan all day long. Then you can watch the sun set and lights of St. Andrew Parish/Kingston glimmer on the horizon. The resort feels like a nature reserve with open-air cabins so you can't help but relax, unplug and be absorbed by the mountain. The wildlife can be a bit noisy and there may be some winter wind-chill at night so bring a light jacket. If you like to meditate then you should put this on your "places to visit before I die" list.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Top of the mountain, top of the line experience.
Amazingly quiet and quaint, the small cottages overlook the city lights. Friendly staff and delicious food, with a sense of old-time land-owner privilege. Visitors from around the world make interesting dinner companions. We took a guided tour, four hours down a 50 year old British-made trail with fresh fruit and flowers abounding and a half dozen waterfalls to enjoy. We took the hour spa experience, a unique body-sensational sensation.

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
great views but pricey
The views from the hotel room or common areas are simply phenomenal. The major complaint is that we did get hot and while we do understand not having air on we were surprised at the lack of a fan in the room. The food was the other let down. They had a great tasting brunch that is held weekly but the regular daily food was not very tasty and there was only four breakfast and four dinner options. We had a difficult time eating dinner but eh breakfast food was decent. The other major complaint is that the internet was basically unusable and would cut in and out.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
We loved our stay at Strawberry Hill
We really enjoyed our 1 night stay at Strawberry Hill. The hotel has 100% rustic charm (note it is old) and the grounds and views are amazing so I took lots of pics. We went during Restaurant Week and ordered the special. I was disappointed by the starter but the other courses were delicious. We were advised by the new mangers that we were only 3 mins by car away from Craighton Estate coffee plantation. We really enjoyed the talk and the tour here and would highly recommend the combo. We really felt that they contributed to the local communities. The staff were really pleasant and helpful, especially Kieran who had been with them for 6 months following qualifying at college. The new manager's were also very friendly, so have a great sense that it will get even better. Highly recommended !!!

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Disliked: Staff & service
Great location, terrible service
We stayed for one night only and loved the location and room. We also appreciated the complimentary upgrade. On check in we informed them that we were leaving at 5am due to an early flight. When we tried to leave we were held hostage and very nearly missed our flight. I very nearly called the police!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Wonderful view
Wonderful stay, great view, perfect for honeymoon or wedding. No TV or radio!

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Staff & service
Beautiful location, horrible staff
We were drawn to this hotel for its beautiful location but the food was way overprice and frankly not too good. Staff wasn't very hospitable and can be actually quite rude. Waited an hour for our food to come. Activities they offered were incredibly expensive such as a $150USD for a 20 min drive

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
My Two Night Stay
I can honestly say that staying at this hotel was such an enjoyable experience. The whole experience was designed to make you feel relaxed and the thing that I will always remember, is when I asked the member of staff where the TV was and he said you didn't need one and explained the reason why by opening the doors to the balcony, and he was right. The view was beautiful, and I remember taking in that view while sipping my complimentary Rum Punch. One of the highlights was not only eating the delicious Buffet, but watching the Football Final, with some friends, and the pictures of the Rolling Stones, and Grace Jones, showed that I made the right decision staying at the hotel. Compliments to the Manager, Mr Thompson, who I found to be friendly, and professional, and I look forward to returning.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Beautiful hotel located in the Blue Mountains
Such a beautiful gem nestled in the wonderful Blue Mountains in Jamaica. Everything was beyond our expectations and the service we received was brilliant. Would recommend this place to everyone.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Beautiful colonial-style boutique hotel on top of an old coffee plantation up in the hills outside of Kingston. Beautiful wood-frame buildings, nice balconies, great views. No TVs or air conditioning! Good food and OK service. Developed by Chris Blackwell, founder of Island Records, on his own property. Excellent atmosphere. I highly recommend it.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Unparalleled views
Very cool and relaxing. Never experienced the breathtaking mountain views in Jamaica quite like this.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great
Strawberry Hill is Great!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Beautiful views
Gorgeous grounds and views, amazing food! Great staff. Only negative was the ENORMOUS spider in our bathroom but comes with the territory, I guess!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
cool in the hills
Strawberry Hill is an idyllic place, with its old charm villas and gorgeous views of Kingston and the lush green surrounding hills. Service moves at its own pace, and meals are a bit expensive, but don't stress about it.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort