Ratings based on 229 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gardnerville, NV

Extraordinarily welcoming staff.

Posted May 14, 2017
The staff desires your room is well-equipped w/necessities & wanting to make you as comfortable as possible. Further, I had a personal need separate from the requirements of the room & they bent over backwards to assist. I was very blessed w/my entire 6 day stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for me

Posted May 13, 2017
I found this to be a charming, quite and comfortable resting spot. My family visited the huge antique store right next door and walked to the nearby park. Great staff that helped us get more towels and also let us check in early. I would love to stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, CA

Great Place with the Best Access!

Posted Apr 30, 2017
The staff were kind, helpful and truly on top of things. I was in the valley the weekend of the Genoa cowboy festival and it was just a hop, skip and a jump down the road. It's close to shops and convenience stores, for those just-in-case items! The best Mexican food place in the town, Francisco's, is less than a mile north along the highway. It was just a lovely time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and Modern with lots of Charm.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: I particularly like the beautiful thick natural wood headboard and sink counter top. They gave real personality to a modern looking hotel room.
Location: JT's Basque Restaurant. Great ! COD Casino. Lots of atmosphere, clean and fun. The beautiful Sierra Nevada Mountains and scenery.
The room size was larger than most big name hotel chains. My wife and I have stayed at a number of hotels in cities such as Los Angeles, San Diego, San Francisco and Las Vegas. The Historian was cleaner than any of the others and without any strong chemical smells. We stayed a week at the Historian and it was kept impeccably clean the entire week. The best part however was the staff. They could not have been nicer or more helpful and accommodating.A+++
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Acton, Ca

Don't be fooled

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Ambiance was great, price no so bad, Staff was excellent but they know about the staircase and didn't warn us until I pointed it out.
Cons: Staircase, guest safety. Room layout, noises.
Location: Just passing through didn't have time to scout the area.
Good price, accommodations minimally acceptable for a quick in & out but serious safety concern with staircase to upper floors, mid-level platform has loose debris and is slick in the rain, maybe it won't rain any more there. Additionally heating, ventilation and air conditioner very noisy, either you get heat or you get sleep but not both and of course it's only cold during the daytime when most are not (not really). The air blows up under the drapes so the window get all the heat, we had to stack things on sill to get heat into the room without having to turn it up to max. Bathroom fan comes on with the light but when someone is sleeping while another uses the facilities it's not convenient, suggest separate fan circuit or tie into the heat lamp so fan comes on while showering (could work in the winter but probably not in the summer while AC is cooling). There was no way to allow someone to continue to sleep and another to read a book, make coffee, anything but sit in the dark until the other wakes, some people are early risers while their spouse is a late sleeper, couldn't even leave the room without waking up the other,. Need to rethink all thing that make noise and light and the affects on sleeping. It's not so great if traveling partner is well rested. Claims to the benefits of the on-site market are bogus, breakfast is not just yogurt and nuts. Other statements about usefulness of on-site store are over stated, better like wine no useful food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Very clean
Cons: No
Location: Easy parking
Very nice hotel Very clean Stuff very nice Easy parking
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tv problems

Posted Apr 8, 2017
The tv service does not include a guide. It's impossible to know what's on, when.
4 out of 5
by Ulrike

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Michelle

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
It was overall good. Downsides include the outdoor hallways and the heater can't be set to a specific degree, a little outdated, but the place felt very clean. The location is a small town with very nice people.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs Updating

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: rooms need updating
Location: Close to Reno, Virginia City and Lake Tahoe
Very friendly staff but the room was antiquated and in sore need of updating. Curtains wouldn't close, TV wouldn't work the first night. Great parfaits for breakfast in their dining area.