Ratings based on 321 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great central hotel in Lyon

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Perfect hotel:great location in central Lyon,very friendly,helpful and efficient staff,great facilities and total comfort in a quiet environment . Totally satisfied !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chambly que can

Rely nice location

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Very nice in general easy to walk anywhere For restaurants and shopping
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Friendly staff and central location

Posted Dec 13, 2015
Pros: Apart from the luxurious rooms, the friendliness of all staff and their willingness to help. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
Cons: Cannot think of any improvements that could be made.
Location: Centrally placed for the old city and the peninsula.Tourist office in Place Bellecour- 2 hour guided tour of old city and traboules is excellent.
Hotel reception staff extremely helpful. One of the best welcomes we have received anywhere on the continent. Our hotel room was luxurious with a comfortable bed and well appointed shower. Extra touches much appreciated- such as free bottled water left every day and gratuitous soft drinks from the mini-bare. Good to have a Nespresso machine in the bedroom. Wi-fi was free each day but could be upgraded for a superior business service. Reception was excellent and never failed during the stay. Tourist office was close by and the bookable walking tours with English speaking guides were excellent- particularly the tour of the old city and the traboules. A visit to the Lumiere Museum is essential for film enthusiasts. A lovely city to walk around and so many excellent places to eat.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamm

Immerhin gute Lage

Posted Nov 11, 2015
Pros: Die Aussicht in der Bar, am Samstag sehr gute Livemusik
Cons: Ja, den Service der Damen am Empfang
Location: Direkt an der Rhone an einer sehr großen und belebten Straße, aber gut gelegen für alle Arten von Aktivitäten
Das Hotel ist völlig unpersönlich, schon die Lobby enttäuschend. 5 Sterne haben wir nicht leuchten sehen. Als wir um 10:00 Uhr aus dem Taxi stiegen, nahm uns niemand das Gepäck ab, es war auch nicht auf das Zimmer gebracht, als wir es um 17:00 beziehen wollten. Ein Bemühen, vielleicht ein schon fertiges Zimmer anzubieten, war nicht zu erkennen (offensichtlich nicht ausgebucht), stattdessen ein lapidarer Hinweis, dass die Zimmer immer erst um 15:00 Uhr bezogen werden könnten. Statt des gewünschten ruhigen Zimmers bekamen wir ein Zimmer zu einer großen Kreuzung. Im Bad, das mit einer übergroßen Dusche gut und modern ausgestattet war, fehlte Body Lotion. Mitten in der Nacht kam aus dem Abfluss der Dusche ein lautes Rauschen wie ein mittlerer Wasserfall, das etwa 30 Minuten anhielt. Positiv: Die Lage, die Bar im 8. Stock mit schöner Sicht (Zutaten für die Cocktails allerdings, die allenfalls zum mittleren Segment zählen), der Concierge hat einen guten Tipp für ein Mittagessen gegeben, das Bett war Sofitel-typisch gut.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

We think we got flees from this place

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Pros: That I have flees!
Cons: They have rooms that are pet only and you know you are not getting one if you don't want one.
Location: Great location
The room was a disappointment from start to finish. The shower did not work and the only way we could get some air was to open the window and let in the loud traffic noise. The biggest problem however was the acceptance of pets. I was wakened by a buzzing sound and felt my arms were being bitten by insects. In the morning both my Wife and I had been bitten in several places and we have boils on legs and arms. My Wife who is allergic to pets had badly swollen eyes and was sneezing. We were comped our drinks (25euros) for our inconvenience!! Worst hotel experience I have had as I write this review with bite relief ointment on!! shame as the hotel is in a great location in a stunning city!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2015 by Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, Hotel Management
Dear Stewart, we are truly sorry for the inconveniences met during your stay at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are truly sorry that you had bug stings and allergies. Please note that we can provide you with synthetic bedding if feathers bother you. All our Ambassadors are your entire disposition to answer your expectations. We hope to regain your confidence during a next step in the city of Lights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel in Great Location

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
Great location with easy access to transportations. Near point of interest. Great river view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Posted Oct 30, 2015
Pros: Everything
Location: Overlooking the Rhone River on PresqueIsle, a two minute walk from Place Bellecour
Appropriately classified as a five star hotel. That said, the warm graciousness and professional efficiency exhibited by all staff members goes beyond classification. A memorable experience in hospitality
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Eveline

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Philippe from Paris

Chambre vétuste ne correspondant pas à 5 étoiles !

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
Grosse déception. J’adorai cet hôtel qui m’avait laissé un excellent souvenir dans le passé. En fait, la chambre n’avait pas changée depuis X années : Confortable, spacieuse, mais très vieillotte et parfois brinquebalante. Je ne parle pas de l’odeur qui régnait dans le couloir et qui m’a vraiment incommodé. J’ai signalé le lendemain ces problèmes indignes d’un 5 étoile. Il m’a gentiment été répondu que la prochaine fois, je pouvais demander une chambre rénovée. Depuis, je suis retourné à Lyon mais dans… un autre hôtel. J’attendrai que toutes les chambres soient rénovées pour peut-être retourner dans celui-ci.Je déteste réclamer ce qui est du pour un 5 étoiles.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 東京

高級感のあるホテル、立地もよい

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Pros: 立地、高級感、アメニティなど
Cons: 特にありません
Location: しない観光にも歩いて行ける距離なので大変便利でした
コンシェルジュの対応が大変よくレストランが混雑していたにも関わらず、何軒もトライしてくれました。 ペットボトルの水が用意されているのは、到着してすぐに飲めるので大変たすかります。 そのほか、紅茶、コーヒーなどもおいてありました