Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
27% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Worst hotel stay in more than 30 years

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Location
I realize that the lodge is under new management but they really need to upgrade their hospitality factor before renting these rooms out. Their website talks about a "retro" motel experience. That was a sad excuse for a very dilapidated, outdated building. We couldn't wait to leave and felt like we needed a shower when we arrived at our next hotel. I rarely write reviews but this experience was so bad, I felt like I needed to warn others. While any one of the below mentioned issues would be no big deal, the sheer number of issues added up to a very uncomfortable, disappointing stay. - No outlet in bathroom for hairdryer/shaver/other electrical -No kleenex provided -No safety lock on door -Door doesn't auto-lock -Carpet filthy -Rotted, broken trim and molding -No reading lamp near beds (one small lamp on far side of room) -No hairdryer (when we requested one, they brought it to us at 9:30 in am as we were leaving) -No daily cleaning (beds weren't made, trash wasn't emptied) -Shower very small and cramped -Shower water fluctuated between scalding and freezing, would not maintain temp. -No closet or hangers -Walls made of painted plywood -Toiletries provided had been used (hand lotion bottle half-full) -No one in office until 9 am
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old but comfortable

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Lady at office had already charged my credit card before I arrived. She told me my account was balance was zero handed me an envelope with a key and card that told me about their rules. The room was a cobbled remodel but still very clean. You'll need an extension cord to curl or blow dry your hair as ther are no elect outlets in the bath and only one in kitchenette. Office hours are from 9-5 so if you check in after that they leave your key in a box outside , so much for security. The Lodge is approx. 25 mi. from Estes Park. Very clean and beds were comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful mountain surroundings

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Scenic, close to venue
Cons: In room #1, the mattresses were uncomfortable. Also, the cable, room #1 wasn't working.
Very close to the the venue we were attending. Stayed in the small town for brunch the next day-1.5 hour wait. We should've drove out of town to find a restaurant .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Way better than expected !

Posted Sep 17, 2016
We ended upgrading to room 21 for such a great price ! The staff was friendly and the room was great! Pots and pans were nice too. The sheets were so clean and I was very impressed! Nice hiking trails and a pool too. In the end was very impressed and exceeded my expectations , and the windows were squeaky clean too! Whoever cleans those needs a pay raise !
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't count on your reservation.

Posted Sep 14, 2016
This was my second time/attempt at staying there. First time, pretty spartan but reasonable for the area. Second time I booked through Expedia and Expedia confirmed the reservation on 8/11, about a month out from Labor Day. A couple of weeks before Labor Day an Expedia Email; "No rooms available for the selected dates." As I am driving to Lyons, on Labor Day sunday, the day I was to have my reservation, I get a call from Stone Mountain. "We just saw your reservation today." I told the guy I made the reservation a month ago and it was confirmed through Expedia only to be unconfirmed a week or two later, and now he is telling me he just seen it a month later? I asked if he indeed has my room available and I get "Sorry we are doing a wedding".
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Just OK

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The setting is beautiful. The property has a clean, cozy, quaint appearance.
Cons: The rooms didn't seem ready. They were clean, but we didn't have tissues, and one room we were in didn't have a phone. The walls are paper-thin.
Location: Lyons is great, and it's close to Estes. We had a wonderful breakfast and coffee at a coffee house called "The Stone Cup" in Lyons.
I used Expedia to book a room with a queen size bed. We ended up with a full-size. They said we got the full bed because we booked on Expedia. We used that room for one night. They were kind enough to move us to a queen bed for the next night. Unfortunately, the walls were so thin, we could hear the neighbors until the wee hours of the next morning. Without much rest, we ended up just getting up at 4:30am to head to our next destination. I was disappointed in the stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
nice folks...easy access to lyons, boulder, estes park, loveland etc. Newer owners and units will improve with time. Very comfortable sleeping quarters.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I expected

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Very old facility. Bed was clean, towels are clean. Spiders in room and webs. Nothing to clean dishes with , not even soap. Cleaning man tried walking in room without knocking. Will not return.
3 out of 5
by Anthony from Frisco, CO.

Decent; Not great

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
Not a great value for the price. Outdated style of motel room; The TV did not work in the room. Not many choices for hotels in that area.
4 out of 5
by Jason M from California

Great Cozy Lodge

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
Overall a very good stay. We stayed in one of the lodge building rooms. They also have individual cabin rooms as well. Those looked to be a bit nicer. Very convenient located right on US Highway 36 against a mountain. The Thompson River is right across the highway. Property was in very good, clean condition. Property is used for weddings regularly. Staff was very helpful. We had a problem with the TV and he came and fixed it. Room was clean, comfortable and cozy, but a little on the small size. The only negative we experienced were the water outages. The owner explained they have well water and the water comes in and out if well runs out. If a lot of people use water at once you have to wait for well to fill back up before there is water again. This happened to us a couple of times in the morning and at night. Not a huge negative, but something to keep in mind if bringing a family. My overall score is 4.0