Ratings based on 1,065 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Jun 23, 2017
We stayed at hotel since we were visiting Oregon Cave National Monument. TV was an old CRT model with lines on screen. The heater was out in the swim pool and it took some time to check in since the lobby was locked when we arrived. Room was clean and quiet. Continental breakfast was good. Price was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Helens, OR

Wearing out with no curb appeal.

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: t was a place to rest, the beds were indeed quite comfortable.
Cons: See above!
Location: There is a lot of amenities in the area with more coming. Downtown is just down the street. The bear statues are fascinating.
The entry drive has been cut for a new pipeline and filled with dirt, leaving potholes to dodge. The lobby is OK, but not spectacular. The security door for our room was not always functioning. The room was clean but not overly inviting. No refridgerator, what is with that? Two pillows per bed, one HARD and one soft but no inbetween. Breakfast was OK, but not impressive and lacking in protein. Keys, actual brass keys? How quaint!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Terrible front desk staff, awful room, 'massage' parlor next door, stay elsewhere!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from portland

Paying to stay in prison

Posted May 30, 2017
My fiancé and myself were policed like we were in prison. They explained the no smoking policy and had me sign a policy form promising not to smoke or I would be charged 300. I think it's pretty clear there is no smoking. Everywhere we went on the property we were being watched. I thought about getting a diff hotel there was no hospitality they then called my room at 8 am to ask if we were smoking. Not sure what is going on but I will never go back and I am telling everyone I know what they do there. I stay in gpass all the time. No where else has ever been like shilo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Great staff, location, value

Posted May 23, 2017
Had a great stay and sleep during a busy Saturday night in May. This is a budget hotel, of course, but as such it deserves a full five-star review. Room was super-clean and quiet, staff was top notch, and the location is solid - convenient to highway, and close enough to old downtown GP that you can walk (although don't forget your return walk is uphill :) ). For half the price of even a mid-range hotel, this is a solid recommendation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and overpriced.

Posted May 21, 2017
Very dated inside. Ever heard of flat screen tv's?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Choose Another Hotel

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Their continental breakfast passed our expectations.
Cons: Cleanliness and competence of staff.
Location: Location was excellent. There is a small Mexican Restaurant about 2 mikes down the road call El Charro which has excellent food.
We requested a room with a refrigerator upon check-in. Was told that there was an additional $10 "upgrade" fee (which was fine). When we got to the room it smelled horribly like cat pee. We were scheduled to stay here on our return trip but canceled that reservation and booked at La Quinta down the road. Shorty after checking in, I noticed I had been charged 3 times for the upgrade. Went to the office two separate times with two different people and it is still not cleared up. I will so, though, their breakfast selection is good and the area is clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Underwhelmed

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: The ONLY thing that was good about the hotel was the comfort level of the bed.
Cons: They need to update the rooms and then they need to clean them EVERY SINGLE TIME.
There was a towel on the rack that was folded nicely and yet had "stuff" on it. It looked like make-up or something. Obviously they don't change the towels if they think they haven't been moved. Ick. After that I was uncomfortable sleeping in the sheets. I inspected everything. Not a great way to have to start your stay. The overall condition of the place was pretty rundown. I didn't even take a shower because I didn't want to use the towels!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Fine for an overnight stopover

Posted May 14, 2017
The Shilo Inn was one of the least expensive places in Grants Pass. For the price, the room and amenities were fine. Didn't have high expectations but the overall facility is kept up fine and it's safe. The complimentary hot breakfast is also a plus.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by social media , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beaverton, Oregon

Little value for the price.

Posted May 1, 2017
Check in and check out was fast and the staff was friendly. The room was very dated and basic. No fridge, out dated TV and a cable network that did not show all the channels. No comfortable chairs or couch to sit on, only one office type chair and a hard uncomfortable chair. Beds were decent and clean and that's about all I can say for the room. For the price I will stay elsewhere and be more comfortable when in Grants Pass.