Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Join the 21st century already

Posted Aug 12, 2015
I know in-room Wifi was not promised,but every other hotel we stayed at in Sicily already made that upgrade. WiFi was only available in the lobby -a tiny, 4-chair vestibule - and in the outdoor rooftop garden. And even then it was slow, sporadic, hard to access and expired frequently. The hotel itself is charming and perfectly situated, but the lack of WiFi makes it impossible for people trying to combine business with pleasure. When even the gelato stand next door has WiFi, there's simply no excuse for Hotel Isabella to be so backwards. For this reason I could not recommend this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What a great disappointment

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Friendlier and more accomodating staff - preferably staff who are smart enough not to insult their customers right in front of them
We arrived on a hot day to a sweltering room in the middle of summer. Air con didn't work. We complained to the night manager who basically said "what can I do about it?". After a restless, sleepless, uncomfortable night, we were not well rested, refreshed or happy. We complained to the day manager who said she would fix it. We went out for the day, arrived back late afternoon to rest, but still found a sweltering room. We went downstairs to complain to find someone else making the same complaint. Only because they had 5 rooms booked did the staff see fit to act on the matter finally (we obviously weren't important enough). They later promised it would be fixed in three hours (leading into the night), we proceeded to change accomodation. Only when we went to check out early did they begin to offer us any alternatives. For us, by then it was too late, unassisted by their scowling faces and the fact they didn't realise we understood every word they said to each other about us in Italian (although we pointed this out). We were still charged FULL PRICE for the night we stayed despite all of the above and them not providing an essential service, without which we would not have booked in the first place. Plus the wi-fi doesn't work in the room. We moved to the friendly, accommodating and air conditioned Villa Schuler just 3 mins down the road - cheaper, more spacious, better wifi, better views - we recommend there instead.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from herts

Fab hotel located in the centre of Taormina.

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: The staff and the helfulness, the cleanliness and the beautiful breakfast terrace that overlooks the sea and offers a beautiful view of Mount Etna.
Cons: Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would be fantastic; we missed having the opportunity to make a drink when needed.
Location: Mount Etna, Taormina itself, Noto, Castelmola, Isola bella. All a must to see. The opera that shows three nights a week is superb.
I went with my sister to this hotel which is located in the centre of Taormina, it is a delight and I would throroughly recommend. If you love amazing restaurants and shops, fashion and culture, people watching and being able to visit a range of excellent tourist attractions such as Mount Etna and all the amazing churches, theatres, villages etc etc. I could go on forever. It is really worth experiencing and I cannot find a negative to our weeks stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Deva

Must See

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: Fantastic location, efficient and friendly staff, clean room, with llittle balcony over Corso Umberto.
Cons: Baing elderly lighting in bedroom made reading difficult.
Location: Fantastic and inumerable - read up well beforehand.
Stayed two nights returning from Aeolian Isalnds to Catania, So pleased we saw Taormina, well worth more time. If in Sicily dont miss the experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London/W. Sussex

Central location

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: The location and the staff.
Location: The Greek amphitheatre is a must see and at 8 euros well worth the admission price, spectacular views.Also Castel Mola ,Mt Etna and Public Gardens
My 1st visit to Sicily with my mother and 2 daughters. The hotel is in a great location. Rooms were very clean, beds were very firm , but that suited me as I have a bad back. Although I knew the bathroom would be small(from previous reviews), I was still dismayed at the general layout, the shower cubicle was very narrow and you practically stepped out in to the bidet. A few hooks would have been useful to hang clothes on. Having said that, I was pleased to see that there was a mini fridge in the room for our water and a safe for our valuables. Our room overlooked the street and unfortunately building work was going on opposite us, obviously not the fault of the hotel My daughters room however had a balcony and overlooked rooftops to the sea. The breakfast was continental as stated, and after the 1st day , the food table was continuously replenished, enough choice for most. The jewel in the crown for this hotel were the staff, especially the receptionists. They were all very welcoming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They spoke excellent English, and kindly arranged an excursion for us with a local tour operator to Mount Etna. We had our own driver/guide, Alessandro, who was very knowledgeable and courteous. Lots of lovely restaurants, our personal favourite was La Cisterna del Moro. Food was fantastic and the waiters very helpful. The views across the bay from the terrace dining room were breathtaking. All in all a very enjoyable Sicilian experience.
2 out of 5
by P from london

No value for money

Posted May 29, 2014
Essentially you are paying for location when it comes to hotel Isabella. Everything else is nowhere near value for money - there are no facilities and as for wifi it only works in the reception. The rooms are very small and the bathroom even smaller. Extremely congested and not worth what you pay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe and I from New York

Charming and gracious, right in the middle of life

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Pros: see above.
Location: very central - in the heart of things
The hootel is small and gracious, not the chain hotel feel. Understated in elegance and comfort. most lovely view from the room top terrance used for breakfast, which was wonderful, or at any other time to read or chat. Location could not be more central. Isabella has beach rights to a lovely "lido". Helpful staff with great suggestions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aiken, SC

Good hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2013
Pros: Good location. Good size room. Wonderful view from breakfast restaurant.
Cons: I could hear the sound and voice from next room and hall. Some pigeons messing up breakfast. Wi-Fi is not free.
Location: Many restaurants, cafes and gift shops.
Location is best. This hotel is in main street in Taormina. The view from breakfast area was wonderful. You can see the sea, horizon and cliff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sidney from Boca Raton, FL

Nice Hotel in Excellent Location

Posted May 26, 2013
Location: Location is excellent. It's in the HEART of Taormina.....in the center of all activities.
Hotel Isabella is situated on Corso Umberto...the pedestrian street in Taormina. The location is perfect; staff is helpful and breakfast is included. The single problem I had with the hotel is the internet connection: it is only available in the lobby. We're from the US and require an internet connection for (inexpensive) phone calls and for just staying in touch with things back home. It was inconvenient having to go sit in the lobby to use it. But if this is not important to you...this would be an EXCELLENT hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Garry from Sydney, Australia

Great location

Posted Apr 18, 2013
Pros: Location on the main street.
Location: Excellent, main street, 15 minutes from bus station.
Nice hotel, good room and bathroom. Good breakfast. Great location in main street of Taormina. Easy walk from bus station, uphill 15 minutes.