Ratings based on 389 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Good location but needs a lot of updating

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: The view from the pool balcony. The beds were comfortable.
Cons: The rooms and hotel needs painting. More flowers or palm trees in the front of the hotel to give more island vibe. There needs to be music.
Location: Good location. Access to Hip Strip and Doctor's Cave Beach.
I checked into this hotel but was disappointed. The hotel is located near the airport and the famous Hipstrip, Doctor's Cave Beach. This hotel has a great view of the beach but it is not located on or near the beach because you need to take the shuttle. It is not a place to bring kids because it is not entertaining. I brought my kids and they were so unhappy that I had to switch hotels the next day. Unfortunately, the fees were not refundable so that was a total lost. The room had no fridge, no microwave, coffee pot. :(...The hotel staff were nice but there was no Jamaician vibe. Some music/entertainment would help the hotel invite more tourists. The rooms and hotel needs painting and more flowers to make it more inviting. The chairs by the poolside needs replacing they were all broken. A lot more upkeep would help the hotel tremendously.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly safe environment with beautiful views.

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: I enjoyed the clean pool and friendly staff. The food that was prepared was excellent. I loved the amazing views from the balcony.
Cons: Beds could use some improvement or at least a mattress topper the bed was very hard and you could feel every spring. The hotel could use ant spray.
Location: The location of the Hotel is within 5 minutes of Doctor's Cave Beach and The Hip Strip. Don't be afraid to walk to the beach be aware of traffic.
From the time that my Wife and I arrived till we left 3 days later, everyone we met was friendly and helpful. We had a few meals in the hotel restaurant, the food tasted great and it was beautifully arranged on our plates. I loved how the cook came out of the kitchen to personally ask how everything was. Back in our room, the bed was hard and you could feel every spring witch made for a horrible sleep. The rest of the room was clean and what you expected of a 3 star hotel. Our room was on the 3 third floor looking over the pool and also where we had amazing views of the sea. The pool was always clean and nice to relax in after a day on the beach. We took advantage of the free shuttle to Doctor's Cave Beach it saved on taxi money. The bartender Roman was very friendly and chatty with us, we made a friend. If I was to go back to Jamaica I would stay here again. Great service, friendly staff and a nice location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Pros: The Staff
Cons: Everything
Location: There was nohing cloe by
The hotel staff was very nice. The hotel needs to be updated. The hotel was very old I would never recommend it to anyone.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

It was just ok

Posted May 1, 2016
The hotel needs a lot of work. We you run the shower bathroom lights flicker. No one tells you that there is only one outlet in the room that the iron can plug into and you have to search for it. The iron doesn't work. Security staff is surely and wait staff appear to either be lazy or incompetent. The food is great and the pool appears to be very nice although I did not have the opportunity to use it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Reasonable priced, close to shopping, beach, clean

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Pros: Quiet, reasonable prices, Excellent service from hotel staff, clean room
Cons: need better lighting in the room
Location: Shopping, beach are nearby.
The room was OK, which is what I expected for the price paid. The staff however was excellent, especially the front desk who helped to charge my phone several times as my charger was lost, and the Chef prepared my breakfast exactly as I requested because of severe food intolerance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Room door sweep torn open space which allowed bugs to come in. Had to ask repeatedly for wash cloth. Had to ask for iron and iron board. The iron board cover had two large holes. The blind on window in bathroom had only 2 panels. The ceiling in bathroom need maintenance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Haven from the heaviness of our mission.

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Pros: The spacious utilitarian nature of the room, the courtyard pool, the inexpensively priced/well prepared meals offered by its restaurant, its proximity
Cons: Amenities in the rooms beyond towels and washcloths
Location: See above
In Jamaica for the funeral of "Mama". The light-filled, comfortable, and accommodating environment of The Grandiosa provided a respite from the heaviness of our purpose. The view of the courtyard, pool, lush vegetation, and the ocean beyond was a persistent and soothing balm. Off the frenetic action of Montego Bay's hot strip ... it was proximate enough (within one kilometer) to enjoy Doctor's Cove Beach, Margaritaville, and its other attractions while literally being above and removed from the traffic and congestion. Despite being an older and more stately faciity ... it will like become our preferred venue for our trips to Montego Bay ... with the feel of a home away from home.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very satisfactory, not your ideal vacation hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2016
Pros: The staff are very friendly and accommodating, an absolute pleasure to deal with.
Cons: The rooms could be kept in slightly better condition—there were one or two small insects in the bathroom—but nothing too dire.
Location: It's next to a high school and a mile from the beach and Hip Strip. In other words, not ideal for tourists on vacation.
We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights while waiting for more friends to arrive, after which we checked into the Gloucestershire. For this purpose, it worked fine. It's cheaper than other hotels closer to the beach, and this reflects in the quality of the hotel, but for the price it's a perfectly adequate place. Our room was air-conditioned, and there is a safe in the room. There's a restaurant which is decent and not amazing, which is about what you're expect, as well as a pool. The main catch is that it's a bit far from most fun things. It's about a mile's walk to the beach; note in particular if you look at a map that you can't walk in a "straight line" down to the beach because there's no road and a massive hill. It's not really close to anything, which is actually more of an annoyance than you'd think. But it's not somewhere specifically to avoid if you're on a budget and are looking for somewhere to be temporarily until you move somewhere more exciting.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Centrally located

Posted Mar 26, 2016
This hotel is on top of the hill. Gorgeous view. Secured location. Close to hip strip but just far enough to feel secluded when in a different mood to read and sunbath. Staff are very friendly and go that extra mile.
2 out of 5
by Leroy from Atlanta Georgia

Posted Mar 19, 2016 on Hotels
This place is more for taking a prostitue not your family I went to get a cold beer the beer was room temperature overall I didn't like the condition of the hotel the pool needs cleaning bad