Ratings based on 385 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

It was just ok

Posted May 1, 2016
The hotel needs a lot of work. We you run the shower bathroom lights flicker. No one tells you that there is only one outlet in the room that the iron can plug into and you have to search for it. The iron doesn't work. Security staff is surely and wait staff appear to either be lazy or incompetent. The food is great and the pool appears to be very nice although I did not have the opportunity to use it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Reasonable priced, close to shopping, beach, clean

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Pros: Quiet, reasonable prices, Excellent service from hotel staff, clean room
Cons: need better lighting in the room
Location: Shopping, beach are nearby.
The room was OK, which is what I expected for the price paid. The staff however was excellent, especially the front desk who helped to charge my phone several times as my charger was lost, and the Chef prepared my breakfast exactly as I requested because of severe food intolerance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Room door sweep torn open space which allowed bugs to come in. Had to ask repeatedly for wash cloth. Had to ask for iron and iron board. The iron board cover had two large holes. The blind on window in bathroom had only 2 panels. The ceiling in bathroom need maintenance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Haven from the heaviness of our mission.

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Pros: The spacious utilitarian nature of the room, the courtyard pool, the inexpensively priced/well prepared meals offered by its restaurant, its proximity
Cons: Amenities in the rooms beyond towels and washcloths
Location: See above
In Jamaica for the funeral of "Mama". The light-filled, comfortable, and accommodating environment of The Grandiosa provided a respite from the heaviness of our purpose. The view of the courtyard, pool, lush vegetation, and the ocean beyond was a persistent and soothing balm. Off the frenetic action of Montego Bay's hot strip ... it was proximate enough (within one kilometer) to enjoy Doctor's Cove Beach, Margaritaville, and its other attractions while literally being above and removed from the traffic and congestion. Despite being an older and more stately faciity ... it will like become our preferred venue for our trips to Montego Bay ... with the feel of a home away from home.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very satisfactory, not your ideal vacation hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2016
Pros: The staff are very friendly and accommodating, an absolute pleasure to deal with.
Cons: The rooms could be kept in slightly better condition—there were one or two small insects in the bathroom—but nothing too dire.
Location: It's next to a high school and a mile from the beach and Hip Strip. In other words, not ideal for tourists on vacation.
We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights while waiting for more friends to arrive, after which we checked into the Gloucestershire. For this purpose, it worked fine. It's cheaper than other hotels closer to the beach, and this reflects in the quality of the hotel, but for the price it's a perfectly adequate place. Our room was air-conditioned, and there is a safe in the room. There's a restaurant which is decent and not amazing, which is about what you're expect, as well as a pool. The main catch is that it's a bit far from most fun things. It's about a mile's walk to the beach; note in particular if you look at a map that you can't walk in a "straight line" down to the beach because there's no road and a massive hill. It's not really close to anything, which is actually more of an annoyance than you'd think. But it's not somewhere specifically to avoid if you're on a budget and are looking for somewhere to be temporarily until you move somewhere more exciting.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Centrally located

Posted Mar 26, 2016
This hotel is on top of the hill. Gorgeous view. Secured location. Close to hip strip but just far enough to feel secluded when in a different mood to read and sunbath. Staff are very friendly and go that extra mile.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs some work

Posted Mar 12, 2016
This place has the potential to be a nice hotel but needs work. The staff was very helpful and nice but the rooms certainly needed cleaning. There were spider webs and spiders everywhere. No bath mat and wet marble floors can be dangerous. While they have WIFI the connection made it unusable. We had to get up at 3am to catch a flight and no hot water. I can't say I enjoyed taking a cold shower at 3 am. I wouldn't stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from München

Preisleistungsverhältniss o.k.

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: Die Aussicht bei Meerblick und der freundliche Service!
Cons: Sanitäeinrichtungen.Service und Angebot im Restaurant!
Location: Hanglage an einer Hauptstraße,weiter Weg zur City,nur interesant mit Leihwagen.Lärm durch Flughafen,sehr hohe Strand- gebühren.Touristenabzocke.
Der Service im Hotel ist gut,jedoch das Restaraunt,läst zu wünschen übrig,schlechte Auswahl,gesalzene Preise und zum teil überforderte Bedienungen.Barbetrieb ist unzulänglig,keine Auswahl und keine Cocktails.Der Fußweg zum Ort ist weit und abenteuerlich(keine Gehwege und freilaufende Hunde).Lieber Taxi bestellen,aber auch im Ort viel Touristen näb. Sind fast täglich 75 km nach Negril gefahren,nächster Aufenthalt dort,ist wesentlich atracktiver.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for.

Posted Mar 2, 2016
You pretty much get what you pay for. The rooms need to be updated but they serve their purpose. Room was tidied up everyday and you get a free "welcome drink" at the bar when you check in. It is close to the airport and Hip Strip. They also have a 10AM taxi to the strip that is free with admission to Dr. Caves beach. Overall, not terrible and not the greatest.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel with great views

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Stayed there for a week on the 19th Feb, great location if your plan is travel the island. I didn't eat there because I spent most of my time out. But for the times I was there I didn't find a fault with room or surroundings.