Ratings based on 759 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Al Waha not quite 5 star

Posted Nov 29, 2016
We stayed at the Al Waha hotel in one of the 3 hotels in the Shangrila Resort. The Al Waha did not match the worldwide Shangrila expected standards in luxury and comfort. it looked like a busy touristy hotel. Even the entrance was not as grand as the other 2 hotels in the complex. It looked like a poor relative. If I knew that there was such vast difference between the standards of the 3 hotels I would not have booked it. We ended up using the restaurants and facilities of the other 2 hotels.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dubai

Honest review

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Over rated. It's definitely not a 5 star hotel. No one briefed us on the grounds so we had discover everything on our own. We didn't know about the kids services or camel rides u too hours before check out and that was only by chance when walking past a sign. Service is terrible. They are either very understaffed and don't train employees well. At restaurants, service was slow and sporadic. Many customers asked for items repeatedly. I constantly had to ask for silverware and paper napkins at both the pool restaurant and Al Tanoor (stayed in al Bandar). Eventually I got up and served myself on many ocassions. We found a cockroach in our room when we first arrived. The manager could care less and said they will re-clean the room. The exteriors need a paint job. The interiors need a facelift. Not worth the $400/night price tag. Food prices are very expensive as well. Kids will have fun in the pools but I would not recommend this place to my friends or clients. - Habby Travels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Flott hotell med veldig god service.

Posted Nov 19, 2016
De ansatte er svært hjelpsomme og serviceinnstilte. Deilig strand få meter fra hotellet. Nydelig service der også. Flere restauranter å velge i, norske priser. Flott frokostbuffet.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saudi Arabia

The view from the room was breathtaking.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Everyone who works there is friendly and the rooms are so quiet and clean. The waves hitting the shore and the cool breeze were so relaxing. Went on a tour of the canyon in Nizwa and saw a lot of Oman. The mountains are beautiful. People are wonderful. Restaurants are great at the hotel. No complaints except wish we could go back. November is a perfect time to go. Weather is perfect.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great for a week's vacay

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Good amenities and choice of eateries. Very high standard of food available with something for everyone. Ideal for families as children kept well entertained.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ワシントン

心地良いサービス

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: サービス
Cons: ない
何より働く人々の丁寧な対応が素晴らしく何の不満もなかった。 ホテル内の落ち着いた雰囲気もリゾートに相応しく、ゆっくりとくつろげるものだった。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bahrain

Great Beach Resort but could be Better.

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Lots of things to do. Luxurious atmosphere. Food was pretty good. The receptionist, Nithya, was very polite and helpful and deserves to be mentioned.
Cons: A lot. See above.
Location: Other than the Matrah Souq, there isn't really that much to do in Muscat. Stay in the resort or go on day trips. Ask taxi drivers for deals on tours.
Although the stay was great there are a number of things which should be addressed in such a resort: - The room was not cleaned properly after someone had smoked in it. - Renovate the furniture in the room. It is old and outdated. - Maintain the bathrooms better. There was grime and mildew around the fixtures. - Maintain the facilities better. The pool and lazy river always had leaves and debris in them. The pool tiles were stained and there were portions of the lazy river paint that had come off. - Maintain the building better. The paint had begun to peel in numerous places. - Clean the sand on the beach better and remove the sharp stones from it. A resort of this standard should have the softest sand available.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Time

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: location, friendliness and attentiveness, food and comfort
Cons: the rate for airport pickup was 40 OMR - whereas it should only have been 15 OMR. This felt like we were being ripped off and not a pleasant welcome.
Location: its pretty secluded so you are left to the resort facilities - yet these are fine and the choice is there.
We visited with our 18 month old in November and had a fantastic holiday experience. If you have been to other 5* places then the reception welcome and the concierge don't quite meet up to expectations, e.g. you have to queue to check in and not offered a fresh drink etc however the rest of the hotel and staff were lovely - the food was delicious, the beach, pool attendants and lifeguards, restaurant staff and housekeeping were all very helpful and would do anything possible to meet your needs. We loved it, would stay and recommend again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Location: Only left the hotel on 2 occasion. Souk was very nice experience, the Mall (was mall)
Very highly recommend Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa, Oman. Hotel, staff, beach and food were excellent. i cant wait to book my next trip back to this Hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from qatar

Fantastic hotel lovely people stunning setting

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Location: Location is an hour out of Muscat by the sea stunning area mountains stunning views wake boarding skiing( water) great for kids nice restaurants
Room was lovely sea view staff lovely just really very nice