Ratings based on 740 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from RUH

A True Family Getaway

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Positives: The place is amazing surrounded with mountains from a side and the gulf from the other .. facilities are extremely nice and well organised .. kids club and baby sitting services with a great rate are available.. staff is nice.. Negatives: Far from the city or any important places like pharmacies..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

excellent 5 star resort

Posted Sep 29, 2016
I took my wife and 2 year daughter for 3 nights. We had a fantastic trip. The service was excellent. Breakfast buffet was included with my room rate. Besides other meals, all other amenities were included including free water bottles in the room and poolside. The beach has clean sand and a beautiful view. The kids indoor area was included with the stay and was excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Wir waren eine Woche mit Kleinkind in dem Teil Al Wahl, in dem Familienfreundlichkeit wirklich noch groß geschrieben wird. Eine wunderschöne Anlage mit tollem Service!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

kids' paradise

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: pools, lazy river, walk
vacation with kids. Wonderful water sports facility with great ocean view.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saudi

Eid Retreat

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: The lazy river, buffet at Al Bandar, the beach, the scenery, the staff.
Cons: Pillows need support for our necks. Too soft!
Location: Snorkeling, dhow cruise, the hotel property has some beautiful sites. The banana boat ride last acted on site at the resort
Had a room at ground level across from the pool and only a short walk to the beach. We stayed at Al Waha part of the resort. It was amazing. The boys loved the lazy river and the shell picking on the beach was fantastic. The staff are beyond great. The children got to eat for free (8). Oman is so picturesque. We had breakfast every morning at Al Bandar and I have never seen such a selection for a buffet. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. If I was to say anything negative, which I am not, the pillows were way, way, way too soft.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bahrain

Beautiful resort a little ways from the city.

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Gorgeous setting with private beach, beautiful pools, excellent service.
Cons: Room was a little small. We paid to upgrade to a sea view, but really we only had a partial view that you had to step out on the balcony to see.
Location: Resort is fairly isolated. There are many activities on the resort, but not much else nearby.
Gorgeous resort with all the amenities you could want, but a little far outside the city. If you want a place that has all the things you want to do, eat, drink, activities, that you don't have to leave, this is the place for you. If you want to explore the rest of Muscat or Oman, though, this place is a little far out and rental car is a must.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BAHRAIN

Nice hotel awesome beach

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Nice hotel for family..room view was great Breakfast was good as well Room very quite Hotel is far from the downtown Reception is always busy because there are two only trying to handle all gusts and you have to wait for long time to just ask question I would definitely recommend this place
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Everything in this Hotel is excellent

Posted Aug 27, 2016
I really liked everything in the hotel.. They have shuttle buses to the main places..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milano

Vacanza confortevole ma noiosa e costosissima

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Cura e pulizia della struttura, personale cordialissimo, zona giochi per i bambini
Cons: Assenza di mini disco per bambini e di ogni tipo di animazione
Location: Posizione buona sul mare ma che richiede taxi o navette per qualsiasi tipo di visita o spostamento visto l'isolamento rispetto alla cittá di Muscat
Villaggio molto bello, pulito e ben curato, con personale cordialissimo e disponibile. Carina la spiaggia e il mare ma temperature ad agosto troppo alte per godere appieno del soggiorno. La zona giochi per i bambini (al chiuso) ed i giochi d'acqua all'aperto sono divertenti e ben fatti. Il cibo è buono in tutti i ristoranti ma i costi sono estremamente esagerati (la cena a buffet escluse le bibite e considerate le tasse è superiore a € 50 a persona). Il problema è la valuta nel senso che l'Euro rispetto al Rial è molto debole e quindi anche se i prezzi in Rial sono simili a quelli in Euro in termini unitari, il cambio penalizza molto (2,5 € x 1 Rial). La note più dolente del soggiorno è senz'altro l'assenza totale di intrattenimento durante il giorno ed alla sera che rendono le giornate molto noiose e ripetitive. Il tempo sembra fermarsi e non nell'accezione positiva dell'espressione. Nel complesso, Shangri La non delude le aspettative a livello di struttura e personale ma eccessivi costi di cibo e servizi e noia alla sera non sono - a mio avviso - coerenti con l'elevato costo del soggiorno.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Great hotel in a stunning setting! Friendly staff and a splendid stay overall. Would definitely recommend.