Ratings based on 374 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel to relax

Posted Apr 20, 2017
We have visited on a number of occasions and it never disappoints. Bliss.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Stunning winter sun

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Fitness & spa facilities. Position. Design. Food & staff.
Cons: Beach being groomed. Windows that open.
We had never visited Oman but wanted a change from the UAE for a week of winter sun. We found the Chedi on the internet and decided to go for a week. What a fabulous decision that turned out to be. With only minor criticisms (the beach isn't groomed, wine is supremely expensive, we couldn't open the windows in our room), the Chedi rates 9.5/10 with us. Great food, the most impressive gym & spa facility that we have EVER seen, sublime staff, stunning chlid free long pool and a beach restaurant that tempted us never to go elsewhere. We will certainly return.
5 out of 5
by Marc

Fantastic hotel with eye-watering prices

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
This is truly a world-class hotel with fantastic facilities and wonderful customer service. However, the prices in the restaurants are extortionate - with anything from £75 per head for 2 mains, a shared starter and a bottle of wine. The cheapest bottle of wine if £36 for a very ordinary rose. This is just over the top. The hotel is too far from amenities to walk and actually restaurants in the locality are poor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Most disappointing hotel experience

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
The most disappointing hotel experience I have ever experienced. I was so looking forward to our visit to round off our trip in Oman but felt nothing but underwhelmed from check in to check out. The Serai Room was one of the most basic and tired rooms I've stayed in, lanterns were broken, outdated iPod dock, no plug sockets next to bed or in bathroom. No ironing board and after staying in hotels earlier in the trip with the most incredible bathrooms for a third of the price of The Chedi the bathroom facilities were very basic. We found the food very average for lunch in the main restaurant, we had to ask for each menu, ask for our water to be topped up etc, staff were not at all attentive. For dinner we ate at the Beach Restaurant, again the food was very bland. None of the restaurants have any background music, even the bars don't so it's a very sterile atmosphere. The only positive were the pools and gym. Unfortunately the weather was very cloudy and cold (14dgs) which is very low for February so we didn't get to use the pools, one of the three pools was out of service - as were the tennis courts for maintenance. We did complain to concierge our disappointment of the rooms - all they said was we're sorry to hear you are disappointed but this is the room you booked. On check out we weren't even asked how our stay was. The only part I really enjoyed was the pastries at breakfast. We wish we had stayed back at the Grand Millennium Hotel just 5 mins away - much better service.
5 out of 5
by Faz

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Dugald

Perfect for relaxing break

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
went with my wife for a 1 week winter sun break. great setting, well kept grounds, pool and spa facilities. excellent attentive friendly service and good food. not much to improve upon, maybe power sockets next to the bed and a better selection of sports and news channels on the tv might be helpful,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outstanding Relaxation

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
A beautiful, stylish city hotel complex with amazing gardens, pools and private beach. Excellent service and hospitality, with excellent restaurant options. The only downside was that the room, whilst very clean and well-maintained, felt a little dated and the seating area wasn't as comfortable as it might have been.
2 out of 5
by Darren

Over rated

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel property and grounds are lovely but the service is very slow and staff (around pool area and the restaurants) are not providing the 5 star service that the hotel warrants considering the price on the menu. Over rated for a 5 star hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent facilities but disappointing bedroom

Posted Nov 21, 2016
f you imagine waking to the sound of the Gulf of Oman gently lapping, the tinkle of fountains from the (beautiful) water gardens, and birds chirping in the palm trees you will be disappointed. The windows (desperately needed cleaning) don't open. What you will wake up to is the drone of noisy and smelly (damp dog) aircon in a 5 star facility box - unless you are affluent enough to afford a suite with a door to a balcony. We were in a Chedi Deluxe - expensive enough. But it's a tale of two worlds. You then walk (from a dark dingy corridor) into the most aesthetically pleasing garden paradise with a backdrop of blue sky and sea, bliss. Read other reviews and know that the photos are as gorgeous as the reality and the facilities are excellent. Reception/Management response to the question about the possibility of opening the windows (the ones at the end do have hinges but were locked) or moving to a room that has that possibility, led to some kind of bartering room upgrade game. No, I just wanted to know if there was any possibility of opening the window! The response to my comment on the filthy windows (after thanking me for my feedback - which shouldn't have been necessary) was to send a window cleaner - excellent - but a courtesy call of warning prior to a man suddenly appearing at the bedroom window would have been appreciated..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Really good hotel.

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Really complete experience. Good on every count. Wonderful sandy beach. Sea unbelievably warm.
Cons: It is quite near the airport so some aircraft noise is a feature.
Location: Really interesting city to explore - you need a taxi to get there. Great architecture. Really friendly locals. Feels very safe.
Staff couldn't do enough for you. Wonderful facilities. Food very good. Wonderful swimming pools and very adequate room. It is expensive!