Ratings based on 887 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Amazing View

Posted Feb 15, 2018
Pros: The hotel is gorgeous inside and out
Cons: There was a leak in our bathroom so we woke up to water all over the bathroom floor
Location: We were right on the beach so there was everything to do that you can do on Balboa Island...it was awesome!!!
Our room was beautiful. The view from the room was amazing. We could see everything (i.e. ocean, trees, and beach path) from our balcony. It was wonderful waking up to the view. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Balboa

Posted Feb 14, 2018
The staff made the stay wonderful, Sam the valet/concierge was just delightful. You can't beat the location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Not sure that it was worth the price

Posted Feb 13, 2018
The room for us was a place to rest our head because we were visiting family, however, I would have liked the accommodations to have been a little nicer. We were in a room with a queen for most of the trip and then the suite for our last night. In the queen room, the lightbulb on my side of the bed was out, the toilet had issues, the noise from the people smoking outside neighboring Mexican restaurant was rather loud (not really the hotel’s fault) and the door to the bathroom wouldn’t open all the way due to getting stuck on the carpet. In the suite, the housekeeper left the previous occupants’ shampoo and conditioner in the shower and the tub/shower leaked all over the floor. The front desk staff and the bellmen were very nice. Just not sure that it was worth the price that we paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 9, 2018
Overall great experience from staff to location Very clean and pleasant experience
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In General Very Dissappointing

Posted Jan 29, 2018
Pros: The front desk staff were friendly.
Cons: Rooms need some remodeling, and lots of other help. See above comments. This place is in need of a "Hotel Makeover" / Hotel Hell with Gordon Ramsay
Location: Steps from the sand, in front of Balboa Pier, near ferry, restaurants, right in the heart of the action. It's the only good thing.
Front desk staff were competent, friendly. Everything else was not very good. Room wasn't very clean. The telephone in the room was not in service. Seemed like there were hairs (human?, dog?) on the bed when we checked in to the room. The carpet under the bead but extended out a few inches, was old, worn, and looked dirty. Room was very small. Ambiance is very noisy during the evening. Sound seems to be amplified for rooms facing the middle patio area, so you hear lots of noise from anyone walking or talking in that area. The "resort fee" of $24 seems ridiculous for a "budget" hotel in this neighborhood. It supposedly covers the cost of the "breakfast", but it was a very weak continental breakfast at best, as I saw it. We didn't partake. Parking. We were lucky and found a public parking lot which was very reasonable. The other option is their $30+ valet service. Be aware. I've never stayed at a hotel in which the room had zero paintings, photographs, or other accents in the room..........until we stayed at this hotel. Very bizarre, and not commensurate with the cost of such a room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Quick trip to the ocean

Posted Jan 23, 2018
Pros: Location is the best part
Cons: My room was being remodeled. Probably should not have been used yet.
Location: Found a great place with live entertainment called The Blue Beet. Also the Catholic church is close by
This was my second visit. I had expected a full ocean view which was not the case. Had a few minor glitches with temperature control, no phone service and lack of refrigerator. Definitely would stay there again though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Excellent location with easy self parking.

Posted Jan 17, 2018
This is a great place to just park your car and go on foot or bike. Just feet from the sand, it is near to many dining options bars and quick bites. Ocean view rooms are nice and overlook the ocean and a nice park. Staff was awesome to deal with and very accommodating. We are happy to have found this hotel and plan to return. Thanks for a nice stay!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from enumclaw washington.

First time here

Posted Jan 5, 2018
It has been a really nice place. Great location and has some good really neat things. Like the hot tub is huge and is all tile. So refreshing. The only down side is that our ac unit isn’t working and didn’t get fixed while we were there. And the continental breakfast was cheesy but they always are. Great breakfast just a block away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pasadena

Staff extremely nice. Very helpful.

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Everything was very good. The bed was a little hard for me. But we enjoyed the hotel and the area. Will definitely come back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sun Valley, ID

Univiting

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Put the warm charm back. Abviously the new owners don’t have a clue
Location: Great location, shame on the owners.
First room smelled so bad of chemical cleaning agents. Second room did not smell but cold, only tepid water in shower and bathroom., furniture all scratched up, only one set of towels, outlets for phone chargers behind bed. Night stand lamp not working, no clock. One hook in bathroom for any towels, clothes, bathing suits. So much noise in hallway and outside .......pounding, slamming doors, loud talkers. Complimentary breakfast was a joke. Packaged danish, freash sqeezed orange juice had to be at least 3 weeks old, so rancid. Called week before to see if any reastuarants would be open on Christmas, they had no idea. Turns out there were 3 opened on the the same block. Stayed here 3 years ago, was fabulous. So disappointed this time.