Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasure to be back😊

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Perfectly peaceful location to immerse yourself in Spanish life, but still close enough to Seville and Córdoba for more touristy things. Pool re-vamp fabulous, staff, great to see some familiar faces again, who were impressed by my ability today more than one word in Spanish now. Wonderful place but don't tell anyone!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Recepcion, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your comment. We wait for you the next year. Best regards, María José Escote
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Orbitz
A beautiful historic monastery in a great location. Palma del Rio is a central location for visits to Sevilla, Cordoba, and Granada. Palma also has its own attractions and charm . We were there for Holy Week, and the processions of Palma were moving. Monasterio San Francisco is attached to a church, and the processions on many nights ended at that church, so from our room we were able to see many different penitents marching solemnly behind the carried sculptures of Jesus and Mary. Palma also has a wonderful palace of its own, Portocarrero, which is well worth a visit (must be arranged with a phone call first). Overall, we had a great stay (two adults and one child).
5 out of 5
by David from Ringwood

You will never forget the charm of this hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2015 on Hotels
I have read with interest other reviews about this hotel and some aspects of the accommodation being lacking ( yes - there are only six sun beds..) . My thoughts are if you want four or five star service you'd better head to the Hilton. On the other hand if you want a stopover in a truly atmospheric old Spanish building loaded with history and with unique charm then this is for you. One day a "boutique" hotel chain will buy this wonderful property and you won't be able to afford to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, England

A hidden treasure

Posted Mar 23, 2015
What an unexpected surprise. A historic piece of Spain adapted for the modern tourist while maintaining all the mystery and stark charm of a monastery that was the home of 500 monks at its peak. Long corridors with nooks and cranies that lead the guests to their adequately furnished, and well heated, large cell ; we visited over wet and chilly days in March,. To dine in the former monks refectory with the walls hung with tapesteries and paintings beneath a wooden beamed ceiling, prepared diners for what was a splendid supper offering a range of Spanish specialities and local dishes. The courtyards and large vegetable garden encourage the visitor to explore the estate. A place to revisit.
5 out of 5
by Pedro from Miami

FAR AWAY HOTEL

Posted Oct 18, 2013
Pros: the room and the shower
Cons: the internet the ad about the hotel should indicate the distance to Cordoba and also that there is no elevator
Unfortunately the ad for the hotel does not mention that it is located 35 miles (48 km) from Cordoba. Other than that, the hotel is fine
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kate from London

Something a little different to the norm

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Pros: Quirky decoration and grounds, different to anywhere we have stayed before
Cons: Information on arrival, i.e. WIFI password, details of breakfast/restaurant
Location: There are some sights nearby and Cordoba is ~40 min drive and Seville ~1 hour drive
We really liked the hotel. You could park for free on all the side roads surrounding the hotel so it is perfect if you are on a driving tour round Andalusia. The decoration is quirky and the place grounds are beautiful. The hotel is a good place to stop off between Cordoba and Seville. We visited in late September and found the actual town it is in, Palma del Rio (approx. 40 min drive to Cordoba) is a quite little town, mainly with local people who don't speak English. There were plenty of good cafes and bars near by and we managed to muddle our way through with virtually no Spanish language skills. The restaurant and bar in the hotel were very quite, and far more expensive than the local places, so we avoided them.
5 out of 5
by Marjory from Australia - ACT - Canberra

Posted Jun 17, 2013 on Wotif
Pros: REAL SPAIN!! living inside history/work of art, locals and food, restaurants cheap and authentic
Cons: I can't think of anything "worst" We worried (unnecesarily) about parking in the street
Location: Wonderful, 100 km from Cordoba
Facilities: Above average, did not make best use of ; Value: Great deal, Great breakfast; Service: Go the extra mile, Recptn staff warm welcmng; Cleanliness: Spotless; 100km from Cordoba wondeful Roman walls, Moorish castle, convent ruins in the town, fantastic Pena Flamenca restaurant with locals singing and dancing
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Monastery Retreat but Still silent order.

Posted Oct 29, 2012
The hotel was fine. They let themselves down in 2 ways. They told me about their secure parking but didn't tell me it cost 10 euros a day. The food was ok but very salty and not up to the promised levels. Nice place though. Lots of ringing bells on a Saturday night.
4 out of 5
by Paul & Myriam

Wonderful historic building

Posted Oct 19, 2012 on Hotels
The magnificence of the building easily blinds one to its defects as a modern hotel. The maintenance was a concern, as the bath shower didn't function correctly, and the main shower was less than 6 feet high, and required you get wet and cold before adjusting the taps (non-mixer). Also the headboard was not fixed and banged against the wall every time you moved in the night.having said that, it was a great building and a good location. Parking was €10 extra, and they were on a skeleton staff with only 1 receptionist, and one waiter at dinner coping with about 20 people. He did a great job and the food was excellent.
4 out of 5
by W Foults

Rural Parador

Posted Jun 23, 2012 on Hotels
An interesting experience, great for one night possibly. Not much to see in the city. An hour from Cordoba. Much construction going on through the grounds. Pool was nice.