Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff and clean and comfortable room.

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly staff, comfortable room, good breakfast included. Right in the middle of town and close to the bus and train stations.
4 out of 5
by Peter from Vienna

Location, location, location

Posted Jul 19, 2015 on Hotels
Sopron was the ideal spot for the "Rotweinfestival Mittelburgenland". Enjoyed the location (right in the center of Sopron) as it is right in the center of the city. You can walk to all the bars and restaurants. The wellness spots are 5 min by car. Parking is available at the hotel or right at the center plaza (for a small fee). The room was ok. Mostly clean. Small damages are visible - but nothing to worry about. No air-condition. WiFi is for free but not very fast. Biggest downside was that there was no shower gel in the bathroom. Breakfast was ok and included. Overall - if you do not stay in the room during the day and just wanna have a place to stay - go for it.
4 out of 5
by Julie from Sydney

Excellent location!

Posted Jun 9, 2015 on Hotels
It is in a fantastic location in the heart of the old town. The shower was great and bathroom modern. The hallways clearly need new carpet but the room is fine. The breakfast includes cereal, meats, cheese, eggs and sausages among more. The WiFi didn't work at all, however next door had free access without a password which I used in my room. The staff spoke minimal English but happily used online translation services to communicate and were very friendly and eager to help.
4 out of 5
by Aftab from London, UK

A great place to stay

Posted Nov 5, 2014 on Hotels
The stay was great! Would totally recommend it to others. The breakfast was decent too! The location is right in the centre of the medieval town, you cannot get any closer to everything you need. The only downside is that they gave a wifi and password, but the wifi network was not strong enough to reach the hotel room - just downstairs. So apart from that I totally recommend it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Saint Lucie, Fl

Excellent location. Close to Old Town.

Posted Oct 18, 2014
We really enjoyed our lengthy stay at The Palatinus Hotel. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Special thanks to Sandor, Nikolett, & Suzie for making our stay even more pleasant.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent for the price,very comfortable beds.Very handy for the train station and some good places to eat and drink.Good breakfast for a hotel in this price range.Can be difficult to find as its in a predestrian area with limited acces for cars.But overall very good.
5 out of 5
by Ed

Very, very clean and quiet

Posted Oct 30, 2012 on Hotels
Palatinuis is located in a beautiful area of the city that is not open to most vehicles, so it is in a very quiet location. I did not hear any of my neighbors while staying at the hotel, so the walls are probably thick. The staff is very friendly and professional. It is one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed at. I would say that it was unusually clean. I had a very protein rich breakfast, which was fantastic. There were a few minor annoyances. The wifi connection was weak. I didn’t like giving them my hotel key every time I went out. I wish they had accepted payment through hotels.com rather than bill me when I checked out. Other hotels in this city are like this as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Francine from Christchurch, New Zealand

A friendly welcome and a perfect location.

Posted Oct 26, 2012
What a great location! This quite modern hotel is located in the heart of the old town, which is in fact car-free except for taxis and the occasional pizza delivery. The hotel is spacious, comfortable, with a wonderful buffet breakfast included, and friendly, helpful staff. On our last morning we had to leave before breakfast so the night duty person packed us a picnic breakfast to have on the train.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2011 on Hotels
The Palatinus Hotel is small, clean, comfortable and located in the most beautiful mediaeval city of Sopron. The breakfast was pleasant, substantial and offered lots of choice.
3 out of 5
by Patrik from Hviezdoslavov

palatinus

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
poloha hotela bola dobra priamo v historickom centre a zrejme kvoli tomu bolo mozne parkovat len na verejnych platenych parkoviskach v sirsom okoli....vybavenie izby bolo skromnejsie, nabytok starsi, postel nepohodlna, steny by sa zisli vymalovat (dost zaspinene)....stravovanie - ranajky velmi dobre, bolo z coho vyberat