Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Nathan from Usa/Brazil

Wish we had stayed somewhere else

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
Tried to check in at 7:00pm. Receptionist wasn't there. The lady that we found (I think she was a maid) didn't have a clue about our booking. We went to eat super, so she could call the owner. Still clueless when we returned, but showed us to our room anyway. The room was fine, but the wifi didn't work. Breakfast wasn't good. The cereal was stale, bread rock hard. My wife made a chocolate milk, this is kinda funny, they had refilled the Nescal brand container of mix with an off brand! I got a laugh, as I know she knows her chacolate mix. Anyways, it was clean but disappointing at best. Stayed a couple hours in Paraty (disappointing as well) the next day. Then went to Ubatuba (much better!)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful rooms, but

Posted Oct 30, 2015
the rooms were beautiful, as well as the location (if you want to go to the historic zone of Paraty is a 30 minutes walk), but at the last moment we had to pay more for our daugther because they didn't talk to us before or remind us about an extra prize, or even had the option to specify on the expedia reservation we were traveling with a kid. Must do that better. Besides, nobody recommended us plans for Paraty or even promote their spa and location. Anyway, the location is nice. Service can be improved.
4 out of 5
by Scott from Scotland

Recommended

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
Room was huge and incredible value for money. Only criticism is that the fridge and A/C were loud in the room. The grounds are beautiful and the owner friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2015 by Luis, Hotel Management
Hi Scott Thanks for your comments about our pousada. The air condition and frigobar supposed to be silent. I will call a technician to see what is going on. Best regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento, Ca

My stay at Bamboo

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: Breakfast and the welcoming environment.
Cons: Add a microwave to the room, and seal the cracks on the door.
Location: Nice restaurant near by (great brick oven pizza)
Nice place to stay for a few nights. Breakfast was abundant, with lots of choices (fruits, breads, juices, etc.) next to a nice river view. We arrived in June ( autumn in Brazil ) and we did not have any problems with mosquitos at all but we encountered tiny ants on the floors. There were some cracks to the doors but they had a private curtains over it. The bed was comfortable enough but it would 've be nice if there was a microwave in the room. The Wi-Fi on the cellular phone worked fine but for my computer, I had to go to the Lobby on the 2nd floor to get the internet. The shower is what to be expected in most of the places in Brazil...not a lot of water pressure, since the water is headed up by electricity inside the shower head. Overall, the place is well kept, a nice pool and safe neighborhood. We rented a car in Rio de Janeiro and drove to Paraty. We had a little bit of problem finding the location even though we had a map ( some of the streets didn't have names/signs)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chile

Nice Hotel,

Posted Feb 17, 2015
It is a good place to stay, we rent two rooms (two adults and four children was our group) and we were very pleased with the experience,
4 out of 5
by Craig from Sydney

Clean and comfortable

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
Clean and quiet, if not a bit too far from town on a hot or wet day (25 mins walk to bus station) Lovely breakfast by the river, nice communal lounge area with wifi access. Helpful staff and nice rooms, the pool has comfortable sun lounges but the spa is no longer in use.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Qc

Nice hotel with massage spa

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Great host, helpful and always nice. Excellent breakfast by the river (beautiful landscape) Little far from downtown...20 min walk at least to get to the historic center.
5 out of 5
by Liz Szczypka from Brazil

Comfortable retreat, helpful staff

Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels
From the first moment we arrived, Ben welcomed us with open arms. He gave great recommendations and made sure that we enjoyed our entire stay. Our room was very clean and our beds comfortable. You feel like you're in your own little spa retreat with the lounge chairs, pool, steam room and sauna. I also loved the beautiful location of breakfast on the river. Although the hotel may seem a bit distant from the town, we found the walk pleasant and comfortable with lights the entire way. I would happily return here again, and we were so reluctant to leave!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Honeymoon and birthday celebration.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Great location, walked to historic down town. Plenty of food for breakfast. Large lot for Inn with a great view of animals. I would stay again due to friendly staff and great time.
5 out of 5
by brian from uk

fantastic

Posted Jul 13, 2014 on Hotels
great hotel ben the english owner really helpful