Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U.S.

Not as described on Expedia.

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: The view! Room size. Pool.
Cons: New towels. New cook tops. Accurate description on Expedia.
Let me start by stating the view was spectacular. When we arrived, however, we were informed they had overbooked and needed to move us (a party of 7) to their sister location for the night. This was a 30 minute shuttle ride which was hard after a long day of travel. We had planned our trip according to Expedia's description of full kitchens with microwaves and dishwashers. There are no microwaves or dishwashers. We asked for kitchen utensils and were given a bag a misc. broken things. The stove top did not heat well and we could never get it to boiling. This made our plans to eat-in basically impossible. The basics like towels are worn and falling apart. We never received hand towels or wash clothes. The beds were uncomfortably firm and noisy. Due to the time of year, most things on the beach were closed so it was hard to find places to eat. The room size was exceptional and the view was hard to beat.
4 out of 5
by IRENE TOH

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Carlos from Petaluma, CA

Great room at a very quiet place.

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in a very quiet place, far from the busy area. Need to take a taxi to go anywhere. The hotel has a free shuttle to Phuket town. The hotel has a restaurant that serves good breakfast, they are a few restaurants on the beach (much cheaper), they are walking distance. The hotel room is huge, it's more like a small appartment with kitchen, living room and small dining table. Wifi is no the best.
5 out of 5
by John from Manchester

Fantastic hotel, give it a try.

Posted Feb 2, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay, hotel staff are really nice and the whole place is so relaxing, right on the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cambridge uk

Massive beds! Good all round..

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Great place, good staff very helpful. Good meals on offer to cater for westerners ( like my mother!) would definitely go back to this hotel - but not much to see on this side of the island.
5 out of 5
by SEOK HOON from Singapore

excellent service at By The Sea Phuket

Posted Aug 30, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly staff. Comfortable stay. We travelled with 2 elderly folks and they always standby to help out. Very respectful service. They cleaned the beach every morning.
4 out of 5
by Jennifer from Western Australia

Lovely holiday by the sea

Posted Jul 7, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed 4 nights at By the Sea in Cape Panwa. A buffet breakfast was included daily and it was very good. The resort is quiet and off the beaten track so if you're looking for nightlife or lots of "stuff" to do, go somewhere else. The pool and free use of the kayaks provided some entertainment for my 9 year-old son but he was bored on occasion. But, it was just the down-time our family needed. I would definitely return and highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by Michael from Sydney

Great place to stay.

Posted Apr 12, 2015 on Hotels
Spent 12 nights at by the sea and enjoyed every minute of it. It is located in a quite location with amazing views. The food and service at the hotel is of a high standard and there are some great restarunt only a short walk along the beach which we really enjoyed. We would recommend this hotel to anyone look for a quite getaway which is only a short drive from all that phuket has to offer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth Australia

Very good hotel beautiful views and quiet

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Location, views, beach and food
Cons: Wifi
Location: Quiet and tranquil Hire a car is better than taxi charges
Really enjoyed our 8 day stay The food was very good and nearby beach resteraunts are literally on the beach. Perfect to unwind and relax. About 40 minutes from Patong so best to hire a car or if you prefer a scooter. Have your own wifi as the hotel wifi is practically unusable. It will boot you off within 1 minute if you read a blog but if you continually stream, play music or watch a video you are ok for 2 hours then blocked that day. Excellent deal with flights included so I may stay again if I cannot get another Panwa hotel cheap deal. We use wifi regularly and the hotel management know of the issues but the owner is unwilling to fix. Been a long standing problem apparently.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Nice Hotel on the beach. Friendly staff , Helpful.

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: I liked that it was a smaller place. It made it more intimate . I like that it was on the beach.
Cons: Perhaps a little more attention could be paid to the rooms. I found some cocoons on the walls that I had to remove myself as they started to hatch.
Location: Because it was in Panwa, it is a bit out of the way. There was a twice daily shuttle to take you to town. A taxi stand within easy walking distance.
We stayed 20 days at By the sea. We loved that it was right on the beach. The staff were friendly and willing to help, whether it was more towels or a change of room.