Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saratoga Springs, New York

My Dream of Indian Hospitality

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: The staff was the best: friendly, caring, gracious and serving. This included all the staff- front desk, restaurant, roomservers and front doormen
Cons: I rarely say nothing but in this case, it is true.
Location: On a quiet tree-lined street in old section, 2 blocks from ocean & shore promenade. Near museum, central park, ashram.and markets.
This was the perfect place for my stay in India. It was quiet, near to everything and the staff felt like true friends. I was traveling alone and they looked after not only my needs but me personally. They helped with excursion reservations, directions and offered cultural explanations to my many questions. I felt they truly cared about me and I truly cared about them. I can't say enough about the warmth of their hospitality and the thoroughness of their service. The hotel is small which suited my need for quiet and simplicity. The rooms open to an airy covered courtyard circled by palms and greenery. You can sit on the verandas or in the restaurant and drink your morning tea with papers. The included breakfast is diverse and generous. The restaurant served really good Indian food and is open to the public. The surrounding neighborhood is the old section of Pondicherry built by the French. The streets are tree-lined and safe and fairly empty of traffic. My room was large and decorated simply with period pieces. Everything was clean and well-kept, inside and outside. I will definitely stay here on on my next trip Pondicherry, a city top on my list of travel loves.
4 out of 5
by Steven

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice staff and clean, comfortable rooms.

Posted Apr 29, 2016
A very tranquil and well located spot in Pondi, thier breakfast is great. Near the Aurobindo Ashram.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Nice, Pondicherry Meh

Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
Pondicherry was a bit of a let down. Except for the names of the streets, there really wasn't much French about the town. I expected cafes and bistros. There were none. Even the promenade was a let down. In the evening, there were thousands of people walking on the promenade but there weren't quaint restaurants to sit and people watch. The hotel was nice enough. The air conditioner worked well and was a welcome relief from the heat and humidity. The shower and toilet were a little funky in their open design. The breakfast was simple but sufficient--croissants were stale.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston tx usa

Okay but needs lots of maintenance .

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Pros: Historical property
Cons: Toilet seat. Room seating. Hall to my room full of furniture. Tired towels. Poor lighting.
Location: Fairly good location but major construction next door and entire sidewalk torn up or full Too many tables in Resturant and no public space for guests.
This hotel has character because it's old but it lacks a lot of amenities. The toilet seat was kind of a leather wood combination had tears in it. The faucet in bath didn't work properly and was not secured to the sink. Shower was difficult to enter.I left the room about 430 in the morning to catch a bit of Wi-Fi because it did not work in my room and found a woman employee sleeping right outside my door (to room number two.) She Remained for several hours even though multiple employees noticed that I was having to walk over her to get out of my room. The lighting in the bedroom is not good and there was one comfortable chair and one uncomfortable chair to sit in. I did get the staff to give me an extra chair that was along the wall but it was faded and not particularly clean. The towels were not white but they were clean. I really don't know if there's something better in Pondi but I sure hope I find it next time .
5 out of 5
by ARUN from Chennai

Posted Jul 16, 2015 on Hotels
Nice Stay, Good Service. Enjoyed our family trip.
4 out of 5
by Bhawik

Great stay at Le dupliex

Posted Jun 30, 2015 on Hotels
Good location of the hotel. Staff was very warm and welcoming and tasty food.
4 out of 5
by Divya from Delhi

Absolutely stunning Hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful Hotel, worth every penny barring the breakfast which doesnt change any day during the stay. If you ignore the breakfast part I will give it 5 stars, the rooms are simply beautiful, only glass and wood. The website pics don't do justice to the Hotel ambiance. Good and helpful staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy hotel...

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: Globally the hotel is nice, well situated and not so expensive
Cons: The room are noisy, the windows are not stopping the noise from outside. It smell strange inside the room also.
Noisy hotel, bteween road and other construction. Staff do not take many attention to you. To go if no other option....
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Absolutely useless staff, loud building works.

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: The view from the top floor in the palm trees is nice, the room was clean.
Cons: Sack the management. Install a competent manager and train the staff. Tell people there are building works before they book the hotel.
Location: Go eat at the Maison Rose and Villa Shanti both a couple of minutes walk and both excellent.
If you enjoy loud building works next door, the most useless staff/ management in India, not great food then by all means stay here. The management ask you five times a day how is everything but the moment you complain nothing can be done. They arranged an airport pick up but were 45 minutes late for me at the exit. Of course I called and they just kept on saying give us five minutes. They offered me a £15 meal for the inconvenience of the building works but seeing the standard of breakfast I simply never took up their offer (on a £577 booking).