Ratings based on 398 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Enclave of nature & serenity - pocket of paradise.

Posted Jul 12, 2016
The resort has unprecedented, panoramic views from the lodge of unspoilt rugged coastline with towering majestic mountains.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide SA

Romantic Weekend

Posted Jul 4, 2016
We arrived on Friday in time for lunch. Fantastic views and a French chef made lunch an enjoyable occasion. The hotel is intimate with great staff and has a brilliant beach. Sublime cocktails and always attentive staff made for a great weekend. Dinner was a treat as the sun set over the rainforest. Lovely
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxury hotel in a natural environment

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: The fact that the eating relaxing area was open and had magnificent views. The food was also really delicious.
Location: Close to port Douglas but in a lovely quiet environment. Easy to get too from cairns airport.
Staff were very welcoming to this beautiful resort in a nature reserve. Loved the Beach with hammocks and lounges. Wonderful spots to view sunset have a drink or relax. Only downside were the biting insects which made it uncomfortable at our room as we could not leave lovely doors open. They were not such a problem at main lodge. There is a fair bit of stair climbing and uphill which did not worry us but may worry some. However there are carts which can transfer you if you need. Would certainly return but with lots of insect repellent
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from QLD

Fantastic place.

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Wotif
This is a very special place. The location and views are simply out of this world. The staff are attentive but discrete, rooms old fashioned but comfortable, the food was exemplary. We've enjoyed three stats here and will defibitely return. My only hope is that it doesn't get too popular and busy!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful forest setting

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Pros: The forest setting and privacy
Location: Well placed for day trips to Port Douglas and Cape Trip north and Cairn or Table lands south.
We had a lovely time very private and relaxing with friendly staff and great facilities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Mar 15, 2016
I had a wonderful stay. in true nature amidst the trees and all its splendor. Trails to get back to lodge from cabin room can be a little tricky at night time.
5 out of 5
by Jody from New Hope, PA

A wonderful stay in the jungle !!!

Posted Feb 29, 2016 on Hotels
This is a beautiful property. Wildlife is right outside your door. You can enjoy walking on forest trails or on the beach. They're both RIGHT THERE ! The French Press coffee maker in the room was a nice touch. Sitting on my porch drinking morning coffee listening to the birds and the ocean waves was heaven.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Redlynch

Exceptional place to stay

Posted Feb 1, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Everything - location, staff, meals, facilities, etc......
Cons: No
Location: Great location - beaches nearby, Port Douglas township 10 minutes away
What a beautiful way to spend your weekend. We felt welcomed from the moment we got out of the car! Great staff, great location, beautiful room and superb facilities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cairns

Thala, perfect for weekend breaks.

Posted Jan 27, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location, room, food and service.
Cons: Cheaper rates for Cairns locals?
Location: Set in rainforest, beautiful seperat bungalows where you hear the wildlife and see no other guests, 2 great pools and hammocks on the beach to relax .
Beautiful room,fantastic property with private beach frontage,2 pool's and fab food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Immersed in Nature & Escape from Busy Life

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: Grounds are stunning, surrounded by nature Every single staff member was incredibly hospitable Plenty of fun (and free!) activities on the grounds
Cons: There aren't many options for food: not a huge variety for lunch and dinner. Paper Straws :)
Location: Location is intended to be secluded Transport is easy but could do with more shuttles daily Visit Port Douglas, Great Barrier Reef & Daintree Forest
This place is for true nature lovers. Grounds: Our cabin was located right next to Oak Beach - and though it was stinger season - we loved lying down on the sand with magnificent views, lazing in the hammocks, and going for nature walks. There was a Rock Pool near our cabin and the main lodge with the main pool was only a 5 min walk from our cabin (we are fast walkers). Staff: The staff made sure we had a great experience, they were very helpful and had all the time in the world for us. We chose to do the star gazing tour with the very knowledgeable Rose (plenty of great activities on the grounds for free and kayaking for a fee). This is a positive for me: Wifi was only available in the main lodge and I was truly able to enjoy the relaxing experience. Food: There isn't a large variety on the restaurant menu and it would have been too pricey to have lunch and dinner there daily, so we needed to go out some days just to eat and bring food back with us. Transport: 15 min by car or cab. Shuttle buses available for a small fee throughout the day and night and depart at specific times daily - it takes 30 min to get to City Centre. The last shuttle departing Thala Beach is at 6.30pm - I found this inconvenient because we wanted to go to the City Centre for dinner - but return shuttles are available until late. Environment: Incredible respect for the environment from Rehabilitation of Rainforests down to the biodegradable shampoo bottles!