Ratings based on 420 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Fantastic Resort

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Accommodation was excellent and the setting was outstanding.
Cons: Meal prices could be a bit more accommodating. We would have had breakfast at the lodge every morning but we could get similar food in Pt. Douglas.
One of the best resorts we've stayed at. A real effort was shown toward accommodating guest needs. The rooms are all excellent. Exposure to nature was phenomenal - with plenty of forest and beach to explore. Location for other tourist and activities was good - not far from Port Douglas, but 45 minutes from Cairns.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Excellent off the beaten track

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Lastminute
Had a great mini break that was beyond our expectations. The staff were excellent and accommodating with everything from before our stay to check out Room were secluded and there is so much to do in the area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Amazing property!!

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Lastminute
Pros: The pools, the beautiful beach, the scenery and comfortable accommodation.
Cons: My a la carte breakfast had pre-cooked buffet items in it -- it did not appear to be cooked fresh to order. Cosmetic update of bathroom.
Location: Lots of activities, restaurants and shopping in nearby Port Douglas.
All staff here were very welcoming, friendly and professional. The pools were amazing in both their design and setting and a great place to beat the humidity.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Be prepared to really get into nature

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Wotif
Thala was as it is titled; a nature resort. And for that reason we had difficulty using the resort facilities. We visited in mid January and at this time the mosquitoes are out in full force. It was impossible to sit by the pool or out on the bungalow verandah. Being right in the middle of the rainforest, there were also green ants crawling over the outdoor furniture, so it was hard to sit outside. The staff and rooms were good though. It was just a pity we couldn't make full use of the resort because of the insects.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Beautiful nature resort

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: The staff was super helpful and courteous. The location and accommodations are excellent especially considering it's so nestled in the woods.
Cons: The food at the lodge was fine but not exceptional and a bit pricey.
Location: Huge private (to the resort) beach. Lots of nature trails. A couple of very nice pools, one of which is completely shaded during the day.
If you're looking for a place to stay near Cairns that has a bit more wildlife and a bit more relaxation I can easily recommend Thala. The staff handled everything including booking a couple tours (which went excellently) leaving us to just relax at the end of a long vacation. The location is great since it's about a 15-20 minute drive to Port Douglas and the more touristy resorts, bars, and restaurants if you want but it's far enough away that you'll see lots of animals and get lots of peace and quiet.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved it!

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
Loved Thala. Great resort. Nicely maintained and quiet. Only negative was lack of WiFi and lack of food choices. There is only one restaurant which is pricey. We went into town a few nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Lastminute
The staff that ran the activities were so knowledgable and helpful. Loved the nature walk with Brett. The facilities were great! Such a beautiful location would love to come back and spend more time at the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Wotif
The location is amazing, the beachfront area complete with hammocks is a haven, and the restaurant and lounge area - oh my goodness - you could sit and admire the view for days on end! A must to see for yourself !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Townsville

Secluded in Nature

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location (secluded). Integration into forest. Near beach.
Cons: Not sure.
Location: About 15km from Port Douglas. Nice setup on beach. Lots of walking tracks.
Accomodation in form of bungalows (very nice) that are almost setup as part of the rainforest. Very nice room and verandah. I love the "minimal impact on rainforest" building of the bungalows. The resort feels quite exclusive and staff are very friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
Great location. The coconut tours are entertaining. The beach was a bit windy but overall nice.