Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rensselaer,In

Nice. Beautiful area

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Aside from not getting the room I wanted it was ok
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jeffersonville, Indiana

You get what you pay for.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
If you or your family are allergic to dust this is not your hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ill

nice place

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: a older design with alot of character
Cons: parking lot is starting to show its age and winter is taking its toll
Location: beach is close good food is close
the staff was very helpful on finding us a good place to eat pool was very nice place was very clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Location: Indiana dunes National park and city of Chicago
it was nice and clean. it as nice cozy feeling in the lobby and breakfast area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Coverup

Posted Oct 18, 2016
I'm not sure what they are attempting to hide. The room had an overwhelming perfume like odor that caused both my wife and I to get Ill within less then 10 minutes, buy which time I was back at the front desk. When we asked for a refund, the desk clerk said he was not allowed to refund back to a credit card. I asked him to contact some one who was able to grant a refund. This took about 20 minutes or so. But he was finally able to do it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good For the Money

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: It's great if you are doing something at lake or in Porter/Chesterton. Has a good rib joint about a 2min drive away.
It's an older facility and the room was a bit dark. But, the bathroom was spotless and bright and the staff was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ligonier, Indiana

Peaceful hotel in a beautiful wooded area

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: a nice place to relax
Location: Indiana Dunes Beach, national lake shore to Lake Michigan just a few miles away. Close to Chesterton
Relaxing, beautiful country setting in a wooded area Room decor is romantic and spacious with a beautiful peaceful view. Every room has a terrace that faces the woods. We enjoyed sitting on our terrace watching nature. Hotel staff is awesome and very friendly. A great value with breakfast included with your stay. We have already booked for the weekend for next month with the change of the seasons as the leaves will be changing then. However; would be a place to stay for any of the seasons as it would be lovely with the snow on the trees, changing of the colors of the leaves or even during spring or summer. We were very pleased with our stay there. Close to Indiana Dunes Beach and national lake shore. Lots of amenities to offer including indoor pool, dry sauna room, guest laundry and whirlpool rooms. We are looking forward to our whirlpool room for the weekend next month. Close to town yet nestled in a country setting.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ROOM SMELLED

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Not sure......
Cons: Manager with a backbone and rooms that were clean.
Location: Lake nearby and an outlet mall.
Our son's room smelled really bad. The clerk at the front desk came to the room to smell the odor. He agreed. Brough air freshener to lessen the odor. No other rooms were available. Why we were assigned this room was beyond me. I asked for a discount on the room OR a free room. The clerk said he would message the manager. Next day manager was very unaccommodating and said she would have to check with owners. Checked out Monday. It's Wed and I have heard NOTHING from them. Called the hotel this morning, no return phone call.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2016
When we got to our assigned room the key did not work. THEN they told us at the desk the lock was brokrn and we would have to have them open the door for us each time. Finally found another room for us. But the smell from the cleaner they used caused a reaction to my wife's breathing. We stayed one night instead of three. Train whistle kept bothering all night. The place was quaint, nicely located in the woods and was once a nice place. We will not be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mt Sterling KY

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Very nice charm. Old character but we'll maintained.