Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great character

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: the character of the building
Cons: could use a little more updating,especially the carpeting.had no large bath towels, need bath towels.
Location: love the setting in the woods
you can tell it is old. the room carpet could stand to be replaced. but overall the place has character,and was nice
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disgusting

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Mouse fecies all over room. Absolutely disgusting
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Wooded setting, ,Ike a lodge, near the Indiana Dunes beaches.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Porter, Indiana

Wish we were staying longer. Just passing through

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Beautiful hotel but could use new curtains and rugs. There was food in fridge when we arrived. Nice setting. Good breakfast. Frank was very professional and helpful. Would stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IL

Cute, secluded little hotel close to the beach.

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Had a great time. It is in the middle of nowhere, yet it is in the middle of everywhere. Very secluded and peaceful. Indoor pool was a little cool but that didn't stop the kids from getting in. Definitely going back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Nice for the price

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Quiet and economical. It is probably not as quiet during peak season, but was fine for early April.
Cons: Room furnishings, carpeting, bathroom, could use an update.
Location: Dunes are nearby, and Chesterton has some very nice little restaurants, and seems quaint.
Total charged for one night, including taxes, etc., was $77. Staff was pleasant, room and bed were clean, quiet and comfortable. Some of the furnishings and carpeting were worn, with a few stains on the carpet. Bathroom light switch automatically turned on fan, which was quite noisy. I missed breakfast, because serving stopped at 9:00 am and I got down about 9:05 am. Since the one hot item served that morning was biscuits and gravy, I didn't miss much. But I was surprised there was not even coffee available, although the room had a coffeemaker. Overall, it was an economical and quiet 1-night stopping point, and is very close to the Indiana Dunes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by single dad from Elkhart, IN

Clean Cozy Rustic Lodge Retreat

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Out of the beaten path, which the trade off is great scenery,no Stressful Busy Traffic or Noise.Quaint Quiet surroundings.VeryPleasantPeaceful. Check In fast/easy. In room in mins. TastyContinentalBreakfast included"Waffle Bar" fun for kids. Rooms r spacious clean. Matress is wonderful,great sleep. bath roomy&clean. Rustic,well kept,could use suttle updates. Unfortunately we had our heater go out in the dead of winter. The front desk moved us to a different room quickly. Over all the experience for a 1st timer here was pleasant. It's not a 5 star, but it's not Buget Hotel either. I'd give it a rating above average and clean. For the Expedia Deal,I would return in a heartbeat. We stayed for 2 days,long weekend -it's a short hop MichCity Outlets/Dunes/BluChpBoat. Relished calm settings Nice getaway. Don't have to stress&worry about a bad neighborhood and your safety! Staff is accommodating. I'm will be a repeat customer!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bob from Kalamazoo, MI

Quiet off the Beaten Path Location

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Pros: The location was great. Certainly not next to a major highway with the accompanying noise, but easy enough to get to. Just use a GPS.
Cons: The breakfast could have used a little more variety but it was enough to get you started and out the door early.
Location: Lake Michigan! Also not far off I-94 about half way across Northern Indiana.
I was looking for a place to get in to late and leave early so my main criteria was cleanliness and price. This hotel fit the bill on both counts. It's a bit hard to find, located in a residential wooded area and it looks more like an apartment complex from the 1970s than one of the typical hotel chain buildings but the common areas and the rooms proved to be spacious and comfortable, if a bit outdated. There is an indoor pool and exercise room and a fair breakfast. I seen better of each elsewhere but not at this price. I imagine in the summer the place is packed due to its proximity to the Indiana Dunes Lakeshore, but in the winter it was quiet and peaceful just as I wanted. The price was better than some places that had terrible reviews for cleanliness and the staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay again if price was a main criterion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Like a Resort

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: Beautiful wooded setting, warm and welcoming lobby, spacious an comfortable room
Cons: Problems finding reservation at check-in
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rl from Chicago, IL, USA

Forest View-great value

Posted May 22, 2013
Pros: Pool, sauna, great view out the back patio.
Cons: Stale smell when we first walked into the room. It cleared up in minutes when we turned the fan on.
Location: Quiet. Make sure you check out the Mexican restaurant less than a mile away. Great food at a great price.
This was a last minute purchase on the way to our destination. We chose it because we like "off the beaten path" kind of places at a great price. When we walked into the room, it smelled kind of stale, but after a few minutes with the fan on, there was no trace of the smell. It was quiet, woodsy and the staff was very friendly. I loved feeling like we were in the forest. It has a cozy, cabin kind of feel.