Ratings based on 564 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Portmarnock Charm

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Sea view and quiet location just outside Dublin. Old home to the Jameson Distillery family. Renovated Sea view room
Cons: Will be a beautiful hotel once again once the hotel common area renovations are finally finished
Location: Walk along the Portmarnock Beach and if you like long walks, you can walk all the way along to the town of Malahide
The Reception staff were lovely to give us the same Sea view room for two nights as we booked two separate bookings due to booked out dates. We had a lovely renovated room, it was very spacious and had an extremely comfortable bed. The Room Service was plentiful! Well worth it to have it overlooking the sea on both mornings
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Early morning drilling and pipe work from 8am-11am

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Lovely dinner, beautiful setting.
Cons: I would not recommend staying in room 201 or any room on that side of the hotel until the construction is done.
Beautiful hotel, lovely food, but for us a very disappointing experience. I pulled key points from a letter I sent to the hotel on 14 August 2016. We received no response from the hotel. We stayed here for the last night of our vacation, 3 July 2016. We had a lovely evening. We planned to sleep as late as possible & check out at noon. In the early morning, in the 8 o'clock hour, we were awoken by loud construction, metal-on-metal hammering sound of banging on pipes that came from the wall directly behind the headboard, and drilling directly underneath us that caused vibrations, and not the good kind. It was quite disruptive to our sleep and it prevented us from having the wonderful, relaxing morning we had hoped for our last night in Ireland. I thought it would be hard to describe the intensity of the noise in words, so I recorded the noise from inside our room, in a video called "4 July Portmarnock hotel", posted to vimeo. Two front desk members attempted to quiet the construction. After a couple of hours without success, the woman offered us to move rooms with a 1pm checkout and free breakfast. We chose to check out instead, because it was late when this was offered, our bubble of relaxation was popped, we'd have needed to pack all our belongings and move rooms. We needed to leave at noon, in order to make it to our lunch destination in time. Overall, I would not recommend staying in room 201 or any room on that side of the hotel until the construction is done.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from No England

Somehow managed to deliver less than it promised

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Plush enough... But the hotel did not appear to be in a fully finished state - almost as if works had started and not quite completed, and in the meanwhile making the best of an incomplete job. Particularly frustrating was the fan in the bathroom which, as the result of its design the staff said, could not be switched off and purred on throughout the night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: The location and staffs attention to details
Cons: difficult to say, they don't have a pool, but maybe a Jacuzzi would be good.
Location: perfect location right on the beach front, with plenty of walks and things to see within walking distance.
The hotel is in the perfect location for a relaxing break, straight onto the beach with plenty to do and see within walking distance and some great views of the Irish coast. The staff are fantastic, catering for your every need and always doing that little bit extra so you can focus on enjoying yourself. The hotel is kept to a high standard throughout and the location is perfect, sitting right at the beach front with a superb golf course if you fancy a round or two.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super Hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Das Hotel ist sehr zu empfehlen. Die direkte Strandlage ist super. Das Hotel ist sehr sauber und die Angestellten sind sehr freundlich. Die einzigen Punkte, die zu bemängeln sind, es gab leider keinen kleinen Kühlschrank in unserem Zimmer und das Frühstück ist finde ich mit 14 € pro Person pro Tag zu teuer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leverkusen

Sehr schön restauriertes Traditionshotel

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Ein gut geführtes, sehr freundliches Hotel.
Location: Golfspielen, größere Strandspaziergänge.
Das Hotel steckt gerade in den letzten Umbauarbeiten, danach wird es noch großzügiger und angenehmer werden. Das Hotel ist ein perfekter Ausgangspunkt für Golfer, in Flughafennähe und nicht sehr weit von der Stadt entfernt. Wunderschön der Blick über den Strand auf die Bucht.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Nice hotel close to the beach, good hotel bar, and also close to the seaside town of Malahide for shops and dining.
Cons: Parts were under renovation which hampered the parking a bit
Location: Location was great and close to Dublin, Malahide Castle, and many other sites.
Nice hotel close to the beach, good hotel bar, and also close to the seaside town of Malahide for shops and dining.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

A Little Disappointed

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: We liked the setting and its proximity to Dublin.
Cons: Upon arrival, better information on dining and services available. Quality of breakfast ingredients. Attention to detail in room.
Location: Malahide Castle is a terrific day out. Very interesting castle and garden, warm welcome and good Avoca shopping area.
Our room was clean & comfortable with attractive decor but it was not especially well equipped. For example: most hotels of this class supply biscuits and offer a choice of green tea on hospitality trays, face flannels are usually standard and bathrobes usually supplied. They were missing here. Toilet roll on the holder was also missing when we arrived at the room, but fortunately we found a spare one at the back of a shelf under the sink. Our meal in the seafood restaurant was good and we enjoyed a table by the window but while the waiter was efficient in serving us, there was a lack of the usual Irish warmth and charm. Although there was a wide choice of food at breakfast,it was not good quality. There was no fresh fruit or porridge, the bacon was fatty and the sausages very basic. We had expected more from this hotel as we have experienced much higher standards in less notable hotels.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Komfortabel!

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Homefeeling, Service, großzügiges Zimmer, Pianist.
Location: Golf, Strand, Dublin
Perfekt für den, der Golfen will und Strände liebt. Angenehme Atmosphäre. Sehr nettes, zuvorkommendes Personal.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bangor

Lovely hotel, beside an amazing beach!

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff. Wonderful location.
Cons: Major refurbishment almost complete.
Location: Loads golf courses to choose from. Shopping at Kildare just down the motorway. On bus route for scenic trip into Dublin. Close to Howth.
Lovely stay. Hotel undergoing major refurbishment although they tried to minimise the impact as far as possible. It is almost completed. Location perfect for golf. We got taxi in to Dublin to see Riverdance. Highly recommended!!