Ratings based on 681 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portmarnach

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Lovely hotel and very friendly staff . Room a little small for an upgrade. Great location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Ontario Canada

Lovely, friendly and well run Hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2017
From the moment we arrived off a transatlantic flight; our room was ready "what a treat" this is not the first time My wife and I have stayed at The Portmarnock Hotel . The service, food, and the room "a sea view "was excellent, The pictures of the Beach does not do it justice it's beautiful.With the jet lag I was up at 4:00 AM wide awake walking the beach watching the sunrise and all the transatlantic flights coming in to land. Transportation is excellent and free car parking.Malahide village is just a 20 minute walk or a 5 minute bus ride. City centre 30 minute Dart train ride. Highly recommended this Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N Ireland

Lovely hotel set in beautiful location

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Location, helpful staff and the lovely restful decor throughout
Cons: It may be helpful to have more small dining tables (seating for two people) for breakfast but no big problem - hotel busy during our stay
Location: Location just great - walks in hotel garden and beach. Loved Malahide and Howth nearby.
We thoroughly enjoyed our 2-night stay at this hotel - staff were very welcoming and helpful - we loved all the refurbishment that has taken place and we would have no hesitation in recommending it highly to friends and family. Great choice - the sunny weather gave an added bonus!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

A quiet golf retreat

Posted Jul 12, 2017
This is a lovely North Dubli retreat with modern rooms super staff and great food. The setting is perfect with access to the Velvet Strand beach and lovely views over the Irish Sea
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Beautiful hotel within walking distance to beach

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Rooms were great, and staff was superb. There were a few hiccups with getting our food in a timely manner, but the wait staff was very gracious in explaining the delays. The rooms were beautiful and clean, and the front desk clerk actually took the time to walk us to our room and explain the room features. There is a beautiful outside garden area, and a path that gives you direct access to the beach. It was a lovely hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful short stay

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Would love an indoor pool and larger gym but there is the sea!
This is the second time we have stayed here and yet again it was a truly wonderful experience. Great location by the beach Hotel is beautifully appointed, rooms are large and clean modern bathrooms. Staff very helpful and friendly Nice on site restaurant or bar if you want a less informal setting Can't wait to come back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Nice hotel and great location.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
The only negative was much of the hotel does not have A/C and heat wave while we were at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location with easy access to the beach

Posted Jun 27, 2017
I was very happy at the Portmarnock hotel and will definitely plan on staying again when I'm next in the Dublin area.
5 out of 5
by Ross

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greater Manchester

Nice hotel near the beach

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Location, standard of the room and cleanliness.
Cons: Change the Jameson lounge back to how seating was originally.
Location: There is a lovely sandy beach, with a lovely walk into Malahide where there is great food places, shopping and a castle.
Having stayed at this hotel previously we were unhappy with the changes to the drinking/dining area. In particular having to be seated when just wanting a sandwich. The menu did not have the price of the meal shown which was a concern. Overall the staff are very good but there is a lack of "Irishness"