Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Dan

Country hotel near Punta Arenas

Posted Dec 31, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful place in a wonderful location outside Punta Arenas, Chile. The staff is wonderful, and the food is great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place but hard to find. Do not use google map

Posted Dec 31, 2017 on Hotels
This is a nice hotel, a mansion that has been turned into a hotel, so it has a lot of character. The staff tries their best to make you comfortable. However, it is not near the city center and there is nothing to do nearby and no restaurants nearby as well. The main problem is that it is hard to call a taxi because the drivers get lost not knowing where the hotel is.
4 out of 5
by Hooman

Short stay, unforgettable memories.

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
It was a nice short stay with an incredibly attentive and helpful staff, especially Carlos. The hotel is more like a bed and breakfast that could use some significant improvements and updates but did not get in the way of our stay. Overall, we were very happy with our time there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richardson, Texas

Nice secluded location, quaint, very friendly staf

Posted Feb 13, 2016
Pros: Very friendly staff. Comfortable room
I was welcomed by friendly staff. All my needs were satisfied
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Estancia taken over by the large city

Posted Feb 12, 2016 on Hotels
It is a unique place but it probably is worthwhile mentioning that d/t the large expansion of the surrounding city this is not an 'estancia' in the classic sense but rather an antique hotel in the middle of the city.
5 out of 5
by Joyce from San Francisco, California

Love!!

Posted Feb 11, 2016 on Hotels
We were in Chile for 2 weeks and this was by far the most hospitable stay. The host was SO incredibly friendly and thoughtful. We arrived at almost 1 am and he dispensed with the checkin process bc he knew we were exhausted, letting us take care of registration the next day. When we returned from our outing the next afternoon, we were greeted with such an enthusiastic hello as if we were long lost friends. We felt so welcomed here - really felt like home. This hotel is about 3 miles outside of the main town of Punta Arenas. I loved it - no noise from traffic or people. We actually walked there from town one afternoon and it was a lovely walk along the waterfront. Only about $4000 Chilean pesos if you want to take a cab. The food is only so-so, but doesn't matter too much since there is so much great food in town. Highly recommend La Marmita for a great lunch or dinner in Punta Arenas. I can't recommend Estancia Rio De Los Ciervos enough- if I am ever back in Punta Arenas I will definitely stay there.
5 out of 5
by Brian from Melbourne

Lovely Ambience at Los Ciervos

Posted Feb 11, 2015 on Hotels
I loved the old world nature of the hostel. Breakfast ,dining and entrance are all tastefully decorated ,along with older type wooden furniture. Service was friendly and good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice bed and breakfast

Posted Nov 14, 2013 on Hotels
Great atmosphere, definitely a bed and breakfast type of setting. The owners have many pictures/memorabilia of their heritage. Great to walk around the house to view. It was one of the best complimentary breakfasts we have had in south America. Only a few minutes drive from the touristy section o punta arenas. Beds/rooms very clean and Internet was great. They didn't understand much English but were very friendly and patient with our broken Spanish! We stayed for dinner one night, it was delicious but it was quite pricey so be careful and ask for the price beforehand.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Sydney NSW, Australia

Kind of a hunting lodge

Posted Mar 27, 2013
Disadvantages: it's a long way from food, town or airport; staff don't have a lot of English. Advantages: interesting decor; pretty area; staff are helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Adrian from Shanghai, China

A 1930's Hunting Lodge

Posted Feb 26, 2013
Pros: The home cooking and selected wine
Cons: Shower was old and needed replacing
Location: The town centre is a good walking distance away with sea shore across the road and worth a morning walk to watch the sunrise
This reminded me of a "hunting lodge" with rifles hanging on wooded walls and antiquities for the 1930's displayed around the hotel. Staff were warm and friendly and made our stay welcome. One note the hotel requested cash on arrival as their Expedia account was not working. This caused concern and wondered whether others had a similar experience? Overall we stayed during peak season and found this hotel a reasonable option to downtown and suggest couples or a family are best suited.