Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Old hotel and appliances. Had many issues with internet (had to go somewhere else to work due to all the problems).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California, USA

Taking advantage of and lying to foreign visitors

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: The facilities were very nice and clean.
Location: The hotel is not on the beach, and it takes a shuttle to get to the beach.
I had booked a $450 room, and need to stay an extra half-day. Normally, the cost to extend for a half-day is 50% of the room rate, but I was charged $350 for staying 6 additional hours. The stated reason was that I was "upgraded" to a higher cost room, which was unverifiable. When I volunteered to spend the extra half-day in a different room that would have been in the original rate category, I was told they were all booked. I left the hotel around 930p that night, and it was very clear many rooms were unoccupied. My so-called "upgraded room" had a view of the hotel parking and entrance, not pool area. I paid more for a lesser experience, and was manipulated to pay extra for something that was not worth it. If you can avoid this hotel, I recommend you do.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Service

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
Charming Hotel
5 out of 5
by tony from Cape Town

Friendly Hotel Staff and People

Posted Jan 23, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here for 10 amazing days and enjoyed the friendly people and staff compared to BA!
4 out of 5
by Stephen from Lodi, CA

In the country at the Casino

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice hotel in a safe and enjoyable environment. The spa facilities are very nice, the service is good, the restaurant has good food and in general the rooms and facilities are well kept, maintained the grounds great. The hotel is far from most activities and would require a taxi or shuttle to get around. The beach is 15 minute walk. The bar restaurant is quite poor. Food and drink are a little pricey. Overall a good spot for romance and quiet times in a pretty, well maintained setting in a safe neighborhood. Overall a good experience.
5 out of 5
by Ignacio

Great for a weekend getaway in winter...

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is quite fancy and glamorous, but a bit pricey though. We particularly liked the fact that it has a nice spa, which we managed to use quite a lot given the cold weather during our winter-time stay. The rooms are clean, well-decorated and spacious. The hotel is located in a laidback area, few blocks from the beach, and surrounded by woods. A car (and a GPS!) are necessary to get around. The staff is friendly and polite, even though they hadn't informed us about some of the ongoing social events hosted by the hotel. It's highly recommendable for couples.
5 out of 5
by Ariel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Laura from Montevideo

Stay at Mantra in Punta del Este

Posted Jul 9, 2015 on Hotels
Great place and great stay. I would definately recommend it. With family or just for a romantic getaway!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montevideo

Great Hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Mantra is a resort not too near from the center of Punta del Este, but very near from "La Barra" with a lot of restaurants and Pubs. It has an incredible external pool (climatized), and unique infrastructure to enjoy your vacations. Has Kids Club, great SPA (with indoor pool and jacuzi), and very good restaurants with classic meet from Uruguay and mediterranean options too. One of the bests hotels of Punta del Este to enjoy.
5 out of 5
by Cara from Toronto

Customer service excellent

Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel. Accommodates food allergies(gluten). Front desk speak English well, all other service providers don't understand English as well as they let on. Food is expensive but premium. In the winter not a lot to do...cinema is closed, casino is closed. The resort is beautiful but is set in a large nature setting. Which means you have to drive everywhere. Only the one restaurant and room service available. The rooms are beautifully Appointed, and the beds are extremely comfortable. Overall a great experience.