Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Small, friendly, innovative hotel in superb locati

Posted May 2, 2017
Built under and above rock terrain, great location in Ragusa Ibla but totally unsuitable for disabled or infirm guests due to stairs formed out of rock
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Generally good standard. Only very minor niggles: grit/dust from ceiling/walls tends to reappear each day, despite cleanliness of room (probably unavoidable); good choice of items for breakfast, but no fresh orange juice; a bit hard to find by car and parking is a little way away (part of the charm of Ragusa?)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Turkey

very difficult to climbe to the rooms

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: Maybe location
Cons: English speaking personal.
Beware of uneven stairs, in the bathroom you might easily hit your head . Breakfast is just ok. Locations is good parking is a problem. Staff did not speak english we needed to wait for 30 mins for reception. Confirmation was not there and they made us wait until the owner speaks to the reception guy.
4 out of 5
by Muhammad from London

Stone rooms in the old town.

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is a nice 15min stroll from the old town. I recommend staying here if you are looking for a rustic, stone room feel. The rooms can smell of damp. We were in room 8 and they moved us to 9 with a massive bathtub and bigger bathroom! The service is mixed, the porter man is very kind and helpful and parked are car nearby and offered to help move our bags in the rain - he was always smiling but the woman at reception desk seems to be always on the phone making personal calls and not very interested in helping the guests. Breakfast is small and very basic - you have to ask the lady at the bar for milk if your cereal, which is a bit weird. Overall a nice place with great rooms. Might be cold in winter but in the summer it's great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lilongwe, Malawi

Charming little hotel on a charming little town

Posted Jul 30, 2015
The hotel is on Ragusa Ibla, the lower town, which has the Duomo and where tourists are more likely to linger. Upper Ragusa is accessible on foot. The hotel owners run a Michelin-starred restaurant in the vicinity, but the reception desk was kind enough to recommend two trattorias with more traditional fare. My room was fairly tiny, particularly the bathroom, the design of which required some ingenuity due to the very limited space available. Still, a very convenient option for a stop-over on this charming little town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Tiny, friendly hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Character
Location: In the World heritage area of Ragusa Ibla. There is a beach about ten miles away where the hotel has a private area.
When full this hotel has 22 guests, it must have nearly as many staff. It is built into the side of the hill, like most things in Ragussa Ibla and hence has a lot of stairs but it is worth climbing them to get to the characterful rooms. Breakfast, which is on offer for four hours in the morning, has a wide range of cheeses, cold meat, cakes fruit and yoghurt. Plus fruit juice tea/ coffee etc. We had a nightmare journey to Sicily, entirely the fault of Rome airport The hotel staff, who had booked us a taxi from the airport, kept in touch with us and the taxi driver so that when we finally arrived seven hours late, the taxi was still waiting and reception staff were available to greet us. What more could you ask for?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Some difficulties

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: The room
Cons: Staff training
Small hotel in a good position. Acces to all bedrooms up VERY steep, diificult to manage stone staircase. Breakfast only adequate - no hot food. Some staff rather unfriendly and unnhelpful. Internet and hotel phones down for our 3 night stay.
1 out of 5
by Jim from Argyll, Scotland.

Not a 4star hotel really a glorified B&B

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: The staff were helpful and courteous
Cons: It would require a total revamp and especially with regard to the standard of breakfast. Taken into account it's sister Michelin starred Restaurant.
Location: The centre of Ragusa is a pleasant easy walk along lovely narrow road emerging into the main square next to the Duomo.Ragusa is brilliant.
The Private Beach at Ragusa Marina is an Extra which you have to pay for, so in reality it has no facilities if you exclude the Bar/Breakfast Room. The standard of breakfast fare was extremely poor the same every morning with the choice of fruit reducing as the week progressed. The shower was so small u could hardly turn around and the quality of the bathroom facilities poor. Overall very poor value for the money and a hugh disappointment
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brunswick, ME, USA

Atmospheric Hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2014
This is a great base from which to explore wonderfully quaint Ragusa. It is a 10 minute stroll up and down hill to the Piazza del Duomo; just far enough to make you feel like you're living in the city. The breakfast is great, excellent pastries; I wish we would have a few more mornings to try them all. My only complaint is the shotty internet, which only really worked in the lobby.
4 out of 5
by LD from York

Excellent breakfast

Posted Feb 11, 2014 on Hotels
Very comfortable stay. Slight difficulty with stairs up to rooms. Great breakfast service and helpful, friendly staff.