Ratings based on 351 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Stay!

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: The staff seemed to like working at this hotel. The cleanliness of the facility.
Cons: Add the hotel name to the area's marquee.
Location: There are plenty of places to eat and shop. The facility is conveniently located in walking distance to a variety of shops.
The staff at this hotel is GREAT! We recommend this hotel because of the 5-star treatment we received. The facility is well-maintained (and we are quite picky). We enjoyed the choices that were available for the free breakfast, i.e., oatmeal, cereal, fruits, pastries, pancakes and/or waffles, eggs, and meat along with coffee, juice, water, and/or tea. It's a given that if we have to visit Durham again; we'll choose this hotel!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MD

OK, but there are better choices in the area

Posted Sep 4, 2016
What I care about in a hotel is the quality of the sleeping (bed + quietness) first, quality of shower/bath second, and function of amenities after that. Springhill was fine on the first two parts (firm but comfortable bed, pillows, and linens; room was quiet and wall thermostat had the option to run the fan at night, which I like since white noise blots out a lot of sins; and shower was strong). It fell down somewhat in being small floor space for our king bed room (the compact layout used space well, but the two of us were often circling each other), in relatively pokey house wifi, and in the uber difficult breakfast situation. The choices for breakfast were good in theory, but good luck getting to it - almost impossible to take advantage of because everything was crammed into one way-too-small counter; both mornings we were there had large numbers of people climbing over each other, many items ran out and weren't refreshed quickly enough to matter, and there was not nearly enough lobby space to sit and eat. One has to wonder if that plan was meant to limit intake. Staybridge across the street was a better value for similar cost.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Nice hotel...just need a few minor repairs in room

Posted Sep 4, 2016
This is a nice hotel, nice location, the staff is friendly. The decoration is modern and is very clean. The breakfast included has good options for adults and kids but the space is very limited. The only 2 problems ...the 4th floor smell was bad...wet carpet?? And there is not a functional extractor in the bathroom of the room...you really need this if you are traveling with a family of 4!!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from massachusetts

Nice hotel centrally located for college visits

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Hotel was in a good location with many chain restaurants close by. Hotel was clean and had a very friendly and helpful staff. The free breakfast daily was a plus but remember it gets busy if wait to go later toward end of serve time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from milwaukee

Would stay again

Posted Aug 28, 2016
We stayed here for one night while we were visiting UNC. We had two teenage boys with us as well as a senior. There were two queen beds that were comfortable. In addition there was a pull out sofa. The shower area was separate from the toilet area- wierd but convienent. We had 6 ladybugs that we had to exterminate ourselves because front desk said she was the only one there. My concern was for HER safety. How does an enormous hotel have only 1 staff member? However- it did not impact our stay. The area had TONS of amenities and restaurants. I am not familiar with the area but it seemed like a very nice and safe area. The outdoor seating area had a fire pit which was cool. Overall- good hotel with included breakfast. Would stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

poor service

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Front desk not manned and had to wait several times. Keys would not work and amenities were closed. Not happy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

깨끗하고 직원이 친절함

Posted Jul 28, 2016
객실이 매우 청결하였고, 직원들도 친절하였음. 가까운 곳에 몰이 위치해 있어 쇼핑도 편하고 식사하기도 좋았음. 욕실과 화장실이 분리되어 있어 나름 시간 절약의 효과도 있었음
4 out of 5
by Jonathan from Grantsville

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
Everything is wonderful except the sliding doors for the shower and bathroom. Neither closed all the way and both were right at the foot of the bed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Naples, Fl

very nice hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Very convenient location for the colleges we were visiting. Staff goes above and beyond in kindness. Antonio, who is mentioned so often in the comments, really does exist! And he is as wonderful as he has been described. I also got to meet the GM Ron Hunter who obviously sets a great example for the staff. The split shower/toilet set up worked out very well for us. The breakfast was also very good, fresh, hot and plentiful. Recommend without hesitation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels