Ratings based on 477 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location to walk to restaurants

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Friendly,helpful staff
Excellent holiday in Iceland, the scenery is spectacular. Reykjavik sightseeing tours are fantastic, whereas Reykjavik excursions are terrible and should be avoided as a day trip to waterfalls allowed 20 minutes at 2 waterfalls each, but put in a stop to an Icelandic museum for an hour and everyone was bored after 5 minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Quirky rooms, great location

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Nice quirky décor in rooms but landings/ hallways were still dated
Cons: It was a little noisy/ busy overall
Location: Great location, close to sea and old town
Great choice for breakfast foods and stylish eating areas. Room was trendy and quirky with stylish decor, however hallways, stairwells etc were dated and have yet to be decorated. Hotel overall felt crowded and a bit noisy during night time. Helpful receptionist!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

MASSIVE room! Mountain view, fish for breakfast

Posted Feb 14, 2017
We booked very early, and seem to have been given the penthouse suite. Great! Big breakfast, lots of parking nearby, 5 mins' walk from city centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Lovely hotel - nice big bedroom, with a comfy bed and a sofa for chilling out. Breakfast was a treat, with a wide variety of foods both cold and hot. Hotel staff were helpful when asked questions about good food locations etc. Overall we had a great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice enough hotel,facing beach,great location

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: The room had sea view.Great location.The eating area kept very clean,cleared tables quickly.Staff very helpful and informative.
Cons: In a suite you should have a wardrobe and chest drawers,pillows were poor quality,lumpy and small.Rug very worn out.
Location: Location right on sea front ,easy walking distance to all restaurants,harbour,places of interest,church.
Hotel staff so polite,helpful,greet with smile.It was our ruby wedding anniversary.Always wanted to visit Iceland ,wasn't disappointed.We hired 4+4,so we could go off and do our own thing .Plenty of info available for tours etc.Reykjavik centre was great place to visit walk around .Then did golden circle,blue lagoon,volcano,waterfalls,all amazing.Weatherwise they had so much rain even though the wind chill was really cold,it was their mildest Feb in 140 Years.So lots of cloud ,people desperately waiting for clear skies and stars ,to see the auroras. It is very expensive to eat out. But we already knew that .Didnt spoil trip ,we want to go back again,possibly in summer to do more of the northern side.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sea view, great view and location central in city

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: nice bar, great Breakfast
Cons: bathroom needs more shelves and didn't like the shower wet room very wet!
Location: central close to bars, shops, sea front
Very pleasant, hotel staff were helpful, the food was very nice and lots of choice. The room was warm and the bed was comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Well situated great value for money room comfortable and clean . Staff helpful and breakfast lovely with a good choice . Happy hour good too .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, friendly staff, great breakfast

Posted Jan 23, 2017
We got to the hotel about 6 hours too early. They allowed us to store our luggage and have free breakfast. The staff was friendly and helpful. They let us check in really early. This hotel is just a street away from downtown Reykjavik and has a 24 hour convenience store right behind it. House keeping came in daily and kept our things organized. The breakfast buffet had a good variety of foods. We loved this hotel, will definitely be coming back!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Perfect locationcand buffet good , bit outdated.

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Great location and buffet very good
Cons: Tv in room had 1 english channel and alittle outdated and i had a single room amd just had 1 pillow
Location: Right next to the main strip which is fine and you get picked up all the day trips so its fine.
Its not going to win hotel of the year as very basic and alittle outdated , but for 3 nights it was fine , the buffet was great and just a 1 min walk to the main street where all the shops are and every time i went on a trip i got picked up and dropped off right outsidecthe hotel , and just like every other person from iceland i met the hotel staff were very friendly so if your having a short trip to iceland and after a cheap but nice hotel i would come back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville

Nice Central Location

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: The location is great for exploring downtown Reykjavik. It's also a drop off/pick up point for a lot of tours. The staff speak excellent English.
Location: Close to shops, museums, nightlife, restaurants, and the church. Gym is about a mile and a half away (we walked).
I was looking for a cost-effective centralized place to sleep in between tours, and this hotel met that expectation. Thinking I was "splurging" I upgraded to an ocean view room, which technically did have a view of the ocean but the room was very barebones. Two twin mattresses were pushed up against a queen-size headboard. Our bathroom contained only a tiny shower stall, and was a struggle to navigate even though I am of average height and weight. The shower curtain did not quite reach the edge of the stall, either, so the bathroom tile will end up getting pretty wet. There are no individual amenities like shampoo, soap or conditioner, only one large all-purpose soap dispenser. There is also no phone inside the room. The staff is, however, very pleasant and are willing to assist with things you might need like calling for cabs, giving directions, providing extra towels, etc. Also, be aware of their "take-with-you" lunch policy. If you take any snack or fruit from their free continental breakfast for your travels, expect to pay about $10 USD. I didn't notice the sign inside the dining hall (only posted near an area where I didn't initially take any food) and when the breakfast attendant noticed a few cookies wrapped in a napkin, quickly pointed out the sign and vocalized his displeasure- incredibly embarassing for me. Bring a power converter for your US electronic plugs, as they are not provided on site. I paid $50 for mine at the 24-hr convenience store behind the hotel.