Ratings based on 702 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Best hotel location in town

Posted Sep 22, 2017
The hotel is near major tourist attractions in city... 10 to 15 minutes walking distance. Dozens of restaurants with in 5 and 10 minutes. Bus Stop # 8 to go on outside city tours is 2 minutes walking distance. The hotel faces # tourist spot in the city Hallgrims Church!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Good location but only average hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Location was very convenient but the place that we were housed was across the street, no elevator and a very small bathroom. Noisy location as our room was directly above the street and we could literally hear the conversation of the people who were going home at bar time. If you don't care about the amenities, the location is really nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stillwater. MN

Great location

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Hotel has great location especially for travelers who like to walk in the city. Reykjavik is a very friendly and walkable. The hotel is right across from the big church which made it easy to keep ourselves oriented. The staff was exceedingly helpful with all our questions and needs. Love being at a small hotel and this is one that we would recommend to all our friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia Pa

Great Hotel Close to Everything!

Posted Sep 7, 2017
This was our first hotel in Iceland and we were very pleased. It's an older hotel that has 2 buildings. The main building is the older building I believe with the reception area and restaurant and the 2nd building is across the street which is probably newer. Its located right across the street from Hallgrimskirkja so it's impossible to not find it. Restaurants and grocery are in the same area. There is no parking lot so you'll have to park on the street but we came in on Sunday which is free and I believe there are areas that you can park free nearby. I know Monday morning at 9am we would have had to pay for parking where we were. We had breakfast at the hotel which was complimentary. It had the lunchmeats, cheeses, cereal, waffles..no eggs or bacon if that's what your looking for. But we loaded up and were good until dinner. The location can't be beat. The room we had was small but our room overlooked the Hallgrimskirskja and were only staying 1 night. I would recommend this hotel for its charm and convenience to everything.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

tiny room not big enough to open a suitcase.

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: tear it down and rebuild
Location: near restaurants
never again will I depend on Expedia to select. A travel agents recommendation will be used next trip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Canada

Good location, eye watering prices

Posted Sep 2, 2017
The hotel has a good location right across from the Hallgrimskirkja and across the street from a little grocery store. 3 blocks away from the main street of Rekjavik. Everything is in easy walking distance and the hotel is accessible for tour pick ups. That said, the prices in Iceland are extremely high, and a recent surge in the exchange rate of the Krona hasn't helped. What you are getting is more Bed and Breakfast than Hotel. TV with 4 channels, 2 in Icelandic ( which weren't working when I was there,) free but spotty wifi, a bed, and a wet room style washroom (shower, toilet and sink are all the same space.) None of that bothers me particularly, everything was worked and was clean. But you will pay as much as you would for a 3 star hotel in London or a 5 star in much of North America, be aware.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location, clean, complimentary breakfast

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Location and complimentary breakfast. Room was decorated cozy.
Cons: Smell of the water
The location was perfect. The room was clean. There wasn't a lift, but the guy at the front desk helped bring our luggage to the room. Room darkening shades were good. Complimentary breakfast was the only complimentary breakfast we had along our journey, so that was a plus. The water however smelled like sulfur, so I'm not sure if that was just the hotel or the area. Other than that, it was a great hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bruce Mines, Ontario

All About Location

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: The coffee lounge.
Cons: Upgrade the rooms with new linens, furniture, decor. Staff could be a little more hospitable.
Location: Location was good for us as we had to use the bus stop. Shopping was nearby in the old town.
We stayed three nights on our way home from a two week tour in Scandinavia. The location was right across from the bus stop for tours and the airport. It was also close to the old town district as we didn't have a car. The lounge area is quite nice and the various coffee selections are always available. This was all very nice but now comes the down side. Upon checking in the clerk said our room was across the road in the other building. We pulled our suitcases out the door and across the road. He opened the door and we were then faced with 35 steps up to our room. This is fine for the young but we are both over seventy. The clerk carried one suitcase and I carried the other. Then our room. Very small, stuffy and sloped ceiling. Furniture was well beyond worn out, the linens were far from crisp. Anyways we settled in. Upon sitting in the lounge we saw young people coming down from their room in the main building, their room was on the second floor. We had booked this room in March and wondered why we had the room furthest away from the lounge area. They should suggest to people that this hotel is geared to the younger set who are totally physically fit. No I wouldn't be staying here again next time we come to Iceland. the staff are just OK. There was no conversation with them, no greetings, no eye contact, no smiles. The staff personalities were very cold. Maybe that's where Iceland got its name.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Good location, however...

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location is the best
Cons: An easy travel comfort - blackout drapes during those long summer nights.
Location: Easy access to downtown with a short walk downhill.
Perfect location for all the tour pick-ups across the street at the big church. No black-out curtains on windows makes for a long night, lock to room broke while we were there so staff had to let us in each time until fixed, noisy outside at night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Un-cooperative

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Cannot comment a was unable to utilize.
Cons: Flexibility in their set policies for clients who must cancel as a result of uncontrollable circumstances.
Booked hotel in March 2017 via Expedia for 3 night stay in August. Suffered severe accident in July and had to cancel trip. Hotel refused to offer refund even though Expedia was willing to credit me for the full cost. Hotel even though given a months notice said it was against their policy which could not be altered for any circumstance even though they had adequate time to re rent the room.