Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by susan

Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Hotels
Nice, but not worth the cost. Air conditioning in rooms, wasn't great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Capovaticano Resort Thalasso & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At MGallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore, your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely The Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Italian Jewel

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Fantastic hotel in all aspects. Excellent pool beachfront and the rooms are top notch. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by revivit

Beautiful hotel amazing setting needs improving

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
3 days out of a month visit to Italy , this was the most expensive hotel we stayed in during this visit unfortunatley did fulfill all our expectations having stayed at Sofitel hotels in the past. Wifi was mostly non existent , air condition poor made noise but did not cool the room, the food was mostly cold with some poor choices such as sliced mushrooms out of tins for breakfast , serving dishes empty very often , not up to the standard expected from such a chain.
5 out of 5
by STEVE

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Rachael from London

Relaxing break

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
We had an excellent week's stay at this hotel. The quality of the accommodation was good, the architectural design of the hotel is particularly impressive. We chose to book full board and particularly enjoyed the healthy selection of food on offer at lunchtimes. We enjoyed the relaxed feel of the resort and the modern and comfortable facilities. We appreciated the 'low key' entertainment in the evening - this was very tasteful, comprising of a piano soloist. He was excellent, it created just the right atmosphere in the evenings to relax and enjoy a cocktail! A few things to note - there is not much in the local vicinity, this wasn't a problem for us as we were there for the relaxation. There are only 2 small bottles of water included during your stay - we helped ourselves to the daily restocked water in the minibar only to find the full quantity on our bill at checkout....... Wifi coverage in certain areas of the resort is a little sporadic. Finally, there was no information about the resort in the room - it would have been good to know about the spa offerings, activities, meal times etc without having to ask every time! Overall - a great holiday and would recommend the Capovaticano
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

One week's stay in June.

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: All said above.
Cons: Clearer directions. Better catering.
Location: Done above.
Great hotel with super pool and beach setting. Worth having a room with sea views as the sunsets and views of Stromboli and Lipari are not to be missed. Room was large and very comfortable and fitted with all the usual amenities. The maid service was excellent and bed linen changed very regularly. Good safety cover at the beach and pool for unsupervised swimmers or emergencies. If anything was below par it was the restaurant. The choice of food for all meals was more varied than anyone needed . It was self-service which again was ok but I would have liked to have had the choice of an al a carte restaurant that was more private and deserved by the rating of the hotel in general.. The existing area for meals was fine for breakfast but pretty ordinary for supper. The area was tight so the coming and goings of people helping themselves meant that it was far too push and shove. If you don't have children with you then those there can be annoying when the kids club has not taken them in. I did enjoy the poolside lunchtime restaurant. The food was good as was the service and menu choice at reasonable prices. Hotel a little cut off but trips to Tropea were daily and worth going. Coast around Capovaticano was super. Good place to try out your Italian. Not like Sorrento where English is the norm.
5 out of 5
by Jen from Vegas

Outstanding!

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels
I highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to this area. It is new and so beautiful. It is also very quite as it's off the beaten path. I do recommend getting a car though as if you want to explore the area you will need one. The breakfast and dinner included in the room is well worth it as the food is incredible and there are many choices. Totally impressed with this place!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from reggio Calabria

Week end rilassante

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Albergo sul mare con panorama su Stromboli fantastico. Piscina sulla spiaggia,mare stupendo Ho trascorso un week end rilassante,veramente piacevole.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tolles Hotel aber...

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: Das Hotel selbst und die Lage.
Cons: Siehe allgemeine Beschreibung
Location: Direkt am Strand, etwas abgelegen, Auto empfehlenswert.
Sehr schönes neueres Hotel direkt am Strand. Wir waren für eine Woche mit Halbpension in zwei Doppelzimmern (4 Personen) mit Meerblick untergebracht. Zimmer sehr geräumig und hochwertig, Bad und Balkon ebenfalls groß. Schöner Ausblick auf Meer und Stromboli. Leider haben wir nach 4 bzw. 5 Tagen alle eine heftige Magen-Darm Erkrankung bekommen, die uns jeweils für zwei Tage außer Gefecht gesetzt hat. Ähnliche Symptome haben wir auch bei anderen Gästen gesehen und uns auch kurz unterhalten. Das Hotelpersonal hat uns zumindest mit Tee und Zwieback geholfen, auch wurde ein Arzt organisiert. Unser spezieller Dank gilt den Reinungskräften, die unsere Zimmer / WC z.T. mehrfach gereinigt haben. Aus diesem Grund können wir das Hotel nicht weiterempfehlen, da sowas bei einem Hotel dieser Klasse nicht passieren darf. Ob dies vom Essen, was eigentlich gut war, gekommen ist oder durch andere Umstände ist dabei für uns als Gast irrelevant. So etwas (alle 4 Personen erkrankt) ist uns in diversen Urlauben in u.a. Spanien u. Griechenland u. Dom. Rep. noch nie passiert.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by TM, Hotel Management
In the last days, Hotel Capovaticano Resort Thalasso and Spa MGallery by Sofitel have experienced cases of nausea and intestinal problems in some Guests and staff members. The Management immediately arranged laboratory analysis to check for possible contamination of air, water and food. However, all the customers involved have been in good health short after. The results of the analysis immediately arranged by the Hotel Management have failed, the response was negative. From these results, it is possible to exclude food contamination. It must therefore be assumed that the sickness registered must have a source not related to the activities and preparations of the Hotel Staff. The Management