Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
Good service! We arrive early and get a early check in. The cabin is big and nice. One cabin have 6 beds which suitable for family or friends. Have sauna room inside the cabin.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ned to the ski field but away from city centre.

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Ned to the ski field but away from city centre. Buying of essential items may be difficult if needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

All we hoped for & more

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: Everything we would love to return one day with all of our extended family.
Cons: More vegetarian options on the evening menus.
Location: We loved the location of the hotel as it felt far away from the city surrounded by forests, but was still close enough to get to Rovaniemi
The Chalet Hotel was a fantastic place to spend our first winter holiday. The price was very good and we had our first skiing experience at the Ski resort just behind our hotel. The rooms are very clean and cosy with a comfy sofa and bed. It was nice to see a Christmas tree from our window which was lit up. We did plenty of Activities through Lapland safaris which were amazing but also ideal as they picked us up from the hotel reception. We had a magical holiday.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A OK hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
Great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Picturesque

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Lovely hotel, slightly away from the town but right by the snow park. We stayed in a chalet about 5 min walk away from reception. Chefs special menu good but privet, not much else to eat at hotel. Chalet was clean, and spacious. Lovely place. Staff very god and friendly .
1 out of 5
by David from Chippenham

Do not purchase the the Safaris and Activities

Posted Jan 12, 2016 on Hotels
WARNING: Do not use the 'Santa Claus Visit in the Cottage' as advertised in the Hotels Safari & Activities brochure. Absolute waste of money and cannot even get the Manager to respond to emails You can have a perfectly good meeting with Santa at the Santa Park or Santa Village locally. We opted for the onsite visit as assumed it would be a better option for the children. This cost us €228 which worked out at €16 per minute as he was only there 14 minutes. There was no research on the children so this character knew as much as the character in Santa park that is included in the entry price. For the money it cost I expected a personalised service where he could interact with the children at a minimum and something that would be a real memory to cherish On plus side the cabin accommodation was really good as was the location - although the evening meals were terrible. Overall the Hotel is worth visiting but I certainly would advise against the Santa Visit and would also make me sceptical about the other tours they organise - there are plenty of other companies offering trips that will offer a better customer service
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2016
The location of this hotel is not convenience. It takes around 30 minutes walk to the city center & there are no public transport, restaurants & convience stores nearby. There is insufficient staff in side the hotel. And no daily cleaning service is provided.
1 out of 5
by Wai Yee from Hong Kong

Unexpectedly poor hotel service

Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
We have had a terrible time during our two nights of stay at the Chalet Hotel in December. We checked in at around 2pm and immediately noticed that all the lights in the sitting room are broken. The sitting room was so dim that we cannot even do a proper cooking or read a book. It took a couple of hours before the hotel technician came and looked into this. He couldn't fix it and said he would come back the day after, but nothing happened the next day and we were not updated of any progress. We then tried to call the reception for almost an hour but the line was perpetually dead. We have had no choice but to get to the reception in person to check on the status, which is another 5-minute walk under a freezing minus 10 degree celsus. Reception finally told us that they could not fix the lights. We were extremely unhappy about this, not just because the hotel cannot fix the lights, but also because they made zero effort to remedy the problem or even to let us know the status. We have asked on the spot for at least extra lamps if not a room change, but they refused to action on any of these. So we were stuck with a house with extremely poor lighting for two nights, and bore with the very dissapointingly apethetic attitude of the hotel staffs, despite paying fairly expensive price for the stay. We will definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone. We will also be making an official complaint to the hotel.
4 out of 5
by fanny from Los Angeles

Good location but bad food

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
The cabin/chalet are very nice and well located... A bit of the beaten track! We had a nice walk to Santa Claus village and enjoyed the colors of Lapland. Unfortunately food at the hotel is awful... If you want to avoid the buffet for dinner and go downtown...
3 out of 5
by Adam from Birmingham

A wonderful hotel but let down by the reservation

Posted Dec 21, 2015 on Hotels
On our arrival we was told the hotel was overbooked and we had been moved to another hotel which was not the standard we paid for. The hotel did pay for our taxis and gave us a refund for that night. After the chaotic start the hotel was lovely, romantic and the tours we very well arranged. However be warned, many other hotel guests experienced similar checking in facilities with many rooms not being available or on time.