Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel with good entertainment

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Hotel is nice near the beautiful beach and has big pools, the negatives experienced were at the restaurant where I made a reservation for dinner. It was full of mosquitoes, two cats appeared under the table which tried to bite us because wanted us to feed them, also appeared black insects looks like roaches. I could stayed there anymore and left the place very disappointed. The restaurant buffets did'nt have to many varieties of dishes
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Paula Mariño, Hotel Management
Dear Margie, A warm welcome from the Royal Decameron Punta Centinela Hotel, we thank you for taking the time to pass on the experiences during your stay. The black insect you saw are not roaches, they are insects called “chinchorros” usually come out in the coast area and rainy season. Fumigations are constantly carried out in the areas and rooms by means of spraying and misting methods when there is any requirement and where is necessary. The cats you may encounter outside the restaurant are cats that come from areas close to the hotel; every effort is made to keep them out of our installations and take them to a safe place for animals as part of our social work to the community and environment. We have 10 varieties of buffet breakfast options and 8 varieties of buffet lunch options with their respective patisserie; we also have our a la carte restaurants which offer Mediterranean and Ecuadorian specialties. In addition, our daily buffets themed dinners, such as Mexican, Ecuadorian, Colombian, Peruvian, Arabic, Oriental, Italian, 70's, etc, in order to offer variety to our guests. We regret any discomfort you may have had during your stay and we appreciate your comments that motivate us to continue along the path to excellence for your complete satisfaction. Always at your service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice place but they had no wifi working.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great views everything else ok

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
For being an all-inclusive resort, many of the workers there seemed very dossatisfied with their jobs. Beautiful views everywhere you look. The food was decent, but nothing to brag about. If you have a fish allergy it's hard to find a good meal. I know it's in South America, but they should be able to accommodate for that. My Spanish is very poor and they didn't have many English speakers there. I believe they should at least speak a little English for being a world wide company.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Expensive

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Food
Cons: Price. I would never again paid $300 per night
Location: ok
I paid about 300 per night why other people pay 66 per night. What is with that. This resort whould be at the most $100 per nigth so I feel I overpay $200 per night.
4 out of 5
by angelica

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place,but bad service and bad planning.

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: Location, clean.
Cons: Administration.
Location: In order to enjoy near places you need sign a form, we traveled by land and enjoy all the near beaches and the local sea food.
We stay 2 nights with the program all included, 4 pax. From the check-in the things was not going well, our reservation requirements wasn't took in care, they provide queen beds instead twin beds. At time to dinner 8:30 pm, the menu was not served, because the staff saids that was not enough and many dishes are not available, only chicken. Activities programmed with specific timing do not follow the schedule, in example the bar close half hour earlier and open one hour late, other activities as use of wind boats are only to experts, they do not allow learn our use without experience,.etc etc. in summary, the service is not good ,despite of the efforts of some staff that try to solve problems. From my point of view, the problem is in the administration area. The entertainment is good but in some instance the animator abuse with bulling to the participants. The hotel and facilities are good, but the service do not allow enjoy the place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel if a little disorganised

Posted Apr 13, 2014 on Hotels
This is a lovely little hotel set right on the beach front. The hotel grounds are beautiful and well kept, although the approach (via a security checkpoint) makes it a little difficult to find the reception area. The service in the bars and restaurants is excellent, although the staff at the front desk didn't seem too clued up. If you're after reliable Wi-Fi, this is probably not the place for you. It is only free in the lobby so if you want to use it elsewhere you have to pay $4 for a 12 hour session. Whilst not pricey, I do expect the Wi-Fi to work when I pay for it and more often than not, it didn't work. Another area of disappointment was the sheer chaos that occurred when putting our bags into storage after checking out. The storage room is located out the front of the hotel and there is no system for people to collect their bags when they need them. Instead, a pack of wild animals pile in through the doors and windows of the storage room and fight each other for the attention of the bell boys. Elbowing other guests out the way is par for the course as is a general lack of respect from guests. Rather than control the situation, staff just let this happen.
4 out of 5
by Alon

Really is all-included!

Posted Jul 24, 2012 on Hotels
The treatment of the hotel staff is super, they helped us with every request we had, from small things to bigger things. Great service!
5 out of 5
by LUIS ALFREDO

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
Excelente
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gye

Buenas vacaciones

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Al principio se equivocaron y pusieron mal las camas (pedi matrimonial y me pusieron doble) la cambie con otros huespedes que tenian el mismo problema. La comida estuvo buena, el alcohol regular, el personal todos atentos y amigables menos unos cuantos que deberian ser capacitados o excluidos. La habitacion que me iban a dar era fea por suerte la cambie porque hay 2 edificios, el nuevo y principal y uno viejo apagado.