Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Matakana nz

Fabulous gardens and fantastic food. great staff.

Posted May 28, 2016
This place has really fantastic gardens. the rooms are pretty good too. Its a reasonable price. the chef has to be applauded as the meals are really fantastic. The fish dishes especially. Close to town and very quiet. Lots of mozzies though so be prepared. Would definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Beautiful grounds.

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: The grounds and staff.
Cons: Some of the furniture, lighting in the rooms, sign about keeping personal items and shoes in room.
When you enter the Orator the staff is very welcoming and the grounds beautiful. However, some of the furniture in the room was a bit tired and the lighting poor. The pool area was clean, but many of the lounge chairs were falling apart and for some reason, graffiti on pool tiles. Stray dogs are an issue in Samoa and there were two friendly ones hanging around when we were there. Since the custom of the country is to kick your shoes off before entering a residence we did so at the hotel to our free standing falle. In the morning a pair of brand new sandals were missing. The staff found them, but they were chewed up by the dogs. The hotel didn't offer to compensate us for the ruined shoes. We didn't mind the dogs, but felt that the staff should have warned us about keeping shoes inside. The restaurant was just ok.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Beautiful place to stay!

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Gorgeous resort with comfortable villas and delicious food! Had a problem with the air conditioner in our room and the staff relocated our things while we were away so it was no trouble for us at all. Will definitely go again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Dec 25, 2015
Excellent place to stay, staff very friendly and helpful..would come here again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Powell, WY

Pleasent environment with well kept and help staff

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Enjoyable relaxing place with very good local and western food. The staff were very helpful all over the hotel not just at the front desk. It was nice having your own separate villa to relax in at the end of the day.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Tranquil setting

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: Peaceful and quiet. The friendly staff who made you feel at home!
Cons: Pool area needs to be tidied up. e.g. boards need to be re-nailed, pools re-painted, broken outdoor furniture replaced (not repaired as beyond that)
Location: Far enough away from the main area of Apia but close enough to be there within 10 mins.
A very quiet peaceful setting with friendly and helpful staff. The food was good especially the oka (raw fish) and the banana fritters & ice-cream for desert! Though the pool area and outdoor furniture could do with a bit of maintenance, the hotel offers value for money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Well-kept hotel and convenient location

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Our stay at the Orator was very pleasant and we found it to be a convenient drive to downtown Apia. It is up a little higher in the countryside so it also feels a little cooler up there. We found the hotel staff to be very helpful and everything was very clean and well-kept. It is very quiet but still a short drive to the hustle and bustle of downtown Apia.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

There are nicer places to stay - DONT STAY HERE.

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Breakfast was terrible, no bacon, poorly cooked eggs, if you got eggs and vegemite that expired in Aug 2014. They serve you fried rice, fish stew and stir fry for breakfast!! They cannot cook eggs. Dogs and cats roam freely and pester you whilst you eat begging for food ir when you are trying to relax by the pool. The staff are lazy, smile rarely and spend more time talking to each other rather than doing their job. Poor Management is to blame. The music played whilst eating at meal times was too loud and songs we can listen to back home, I would have preferred some Samoan music whilst I was holidaying! The pool is in desperate need if repair, my kids ended up with scratches and cuts. The pool area isn't cleaned properly and tables have cigarette ash on them and the floor boards were worse. The place is a smokers paradise! This place has potential but unfortunately no idea how to provide good service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Great place to stay if you want peace and quiet

Posted Aug 4, 2015
I thought it was closer to town takes a good 20 minutes to get into town. If that's what your looking for then I highly recommend it. It's peaceful and tranquil great lovers retreat
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Lovely setting with palms and other trees around the villas and a cascading pool that was great to relax by