Ratings based on 213 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Darren from Grantham

Potential hidden gem.

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly staff. Fantastic views and a relaxed atmosphere. The restaurant had excellent food but the menu could do with being expanded.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from australia

Poolside relaxing family holiday

Posted Jul 31, 2016
We are a family of 6 and stayed in one of the apartments. The kitchen was very limited, no microwave, or oven and limited utensils. There was no laundry facilities. Wi-Fi was limited. The grounds are beautifully maintained with flowering plants and trees shading the courtyard. The pool is wonderful for families looking for a few days of relaxing, it has a spectacular view over the valley and out to the ocean. The restaurant on-site only offered half the dishes on the menu. It is essential to have your own car.
1 out of 5
by Enrico

Posted Jan 17, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel has a lot of potential - conveniently located between Pisa and Lucca, a beautiful view and a restaurant that seems to be open in the summer only. However, we didn't enjoy our stay due to a number of drawbacks. This hotel is at the end of a very long, windy road on top of a mountain, further from the main road than it appears on Google Maps. The hotel room was warm but the reception and common areas seemed unheated. The shower was also just lukewarm. We only stayed one night, but we noticed that you have to pay extra to have the sheets or (flimsy) towels changed the second day. Even though they don't provide breakfast, it is not possible to check out until 9AM.
5 out of 5
by John from Chichester

Italy

Posted Sep 1, 2015 on Hotels
This is a fabulous hotel to escape to. Set up in the hills it's a paradise in which to relax. The restaurant is great and the pool perfect for cooling off. I hope to one day have the chance to return. Perfect in every way.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milngavie

A view to die for, but hire a car !!!

Posted Oct 4, 2014
The view and setting is just amazing. However, we arrived to find Restaurant & Bar closed for the season. The nearest being 4 miles away down a very steep hill. We were in an Apt, and were left to our own devices for the week. No cleaner, no fresh towels and no new toilet paper. But I have to say, for the setting, view and general feel of staying there, I put up with that any day. Would definitely return
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hants, England

Quiet place, when you reach it.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Enjoyed the isolated spot on the hillside, fantastic views and swimming pool very nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for chill out not the best for sightseeing

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Good place if you want to chill out but if you haven't been to Italy before you probably want to something in the city not far up on the hill. Though the view and location is worth it. We went there for three days. Visitors are mostly families so expect sharing pool with children/teenagers. If you don't hire a car a taxi from Pisa airport is about 25-30 Eur. Going down the mountain on foot is about 30-40min (use the other path not the one for cars check Google maps for directions on foot) but at the bottom there's a bus stop (blue line) going directly to Pisa and Pisa airport via St Giuliano therme. 2.5Eur per person usually but once we got it for free. Bus goes more or less hour interval. Use Google maps to check the times. A dinner on site is about 40Eur for a couple. Food was good although you might still feel hungry so its best to have something with you especially if you arrive hungry at 3pm and have to wait 5hours for dinner at 8pm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex, England

A gem in the hills of Tuscany

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Tranquil, pretty lovely views, near Pisa
Cons: More equipment in the self contained apartments i.e kettle
Location: Good location for Lucca, Pisa Firenze and beach
Having read previous reviews we knew what to expect. The road up to the hotel is steep with 6 hairpins. But its worth it!!!! Beautiful setting, lovely pool area and rooms were perfectly adequate, if rural in design and feel. The previous comment re towels was funny........when in Rome! Just take your own pool towel, the cotton ones provided are perfect for a pat down after a shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Darola from UK

Scenic views from the grounds over Pisa

Posted Jul 31, 2013
Pros: friendly staff, nice room, stunning view
Cons: a confusion over the number of people 3 in the part they thought 2 but probably not their making and quickly resolved.
Location: Pisa is nice mostly around the tower, Lucca is exceptionally pretty and very relaxed. There are public beaches but otherwise they are very regimented.
an unusual hotel with a mix of bedrooms and self-catering. Breakfast at the hotel is expensive 15euro so try to get a self catering room. Views are stunning over Pisa and the pool is well maintained. Access is a challenge, first time around, the sign is right at the entrance road and looks like someone's drive. So when you see the yellow sign it is there, the 2500m refers to the drive up to the hotel. It is a series of tight bends but keep going the biggest challenge is getting the car up to the car park which is a very steep gradient. Room was nice, with air con, small windows (as is the Italian way) to keep the room cool. Staff were very nice, friendly and spoke good English. Wi-Fi on the terrace was a big attractions with everyone sitting round with their mobile devices, quite funny to see. Diner on the terrace should be had at least once to have the view over Pisa and the food was good and reasonable value.
3 out of 5
by Chiara e Luca from Italy

Beautiful place, but need service improvement

Posted Jul 21, 2013 on Hotels
The residence is in a wonderful position on top of Monti Pisani: you can spot the Pisa tower and Lago di Massacciuccoli from the same spot. However, the service needs improvement, mainly related to finding the room sufficiently cleaned and with all required items. The good thing is that if you ask, then you get what you are supposed to. However, you shouldn't need to do that. Moreover, all the greenery of the residence need much more care and maintenance to keep up a good quality standard. Restaurant has good food at reasonable price and the swimming pool is well cleaned and serviced.