Ratings based on 1,866 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

Very nice hotel

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Everything
Location: Great restaurants nearby; and wine tasting.
The Santa Maria Hotel is a really neat hotel. Some parts of the hotel are nearly 100 years old and full of pictures of Hollywood movie folks from the 30's 40's and 50's that have been and stayed at the hotel. It has a really nice restaurant and bar. Food prices are a little high for the casual dinner, but is quite reasonable for the "formal" type of breakfast, lunch and dinner it servers. With the parking garage in back it provided plenty of parking which is really nice. The rooms we had were really big for the price and the price was quite reasonable ($110 to $150 range).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Carlsbad, CA

Great room & great character

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Great view from the room. The windows opened a little so we could get fresh air at night. Did not need air conditioning.
Cons: Not sure. We liked what we used at the hotel
Location: I played disc golf at Waller park. We went to Solvang for delicious pastries and a bit of shopping. There are plenty of wineries for tasting.
We stayed 2 nights and got the corner room. The view was excellent. The service was excellent. The bed was comfortable and we got a great nights sleep both nights. I liked the character of the hotel. This is not just another four walls. I look forward to another stay next year when I am in Santa Maria again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Torrance

Historic, but a bit like a maze

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Attractive old-style bar, nice furnishings. Rooms in the older section are 'cozy' but not too small for comfort.
Cons: Signage for finding rooms needs improvement. Some of the art on the walls is almost laughably bad.
The old section of the hotel is charming, but the layout is confusing. There are very long corridors at which it is unclear which way to go, and the room numbering is such that you will probably get lost at least once. Do you think that room 241 should be between room 240 and 242? Well, someone didn't think so. It's around the corner. They have a charming bar called The Tap Room, which is said to be one of the best in town. However, it closes ridiculously early on some days. We went for a drink at 9pm and it was shuttered. With as little night life as there is in this town you would think that they might be open a little later.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca

All nice

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Clean and easy. All good in the hood better all the time
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Middle of the road

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Historic
Cons: Turn on the AC before guests arrive so the room is not hot and muggy
Nice hotel, bit outdated. Some road noise on the side they placed me.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down. Probably has known better days.

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Clean, but small room (particularly the double beds are really small for two. Hotel looks rundown, badly needs a renovation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

double booked our room

Posted Jul 29, 2016
I was very disappointed with my stay. They double booked our room and had the other guest walk into our room while we were there. He was as surprised as we were. We both went to front desk to rectify the problem. Front desk was very apologetic and nice. They gave us 2 free breakfast buffet tickets which we used the next morning. Food was cold and terrible. We left with out eating. The old part of the hotel has an unpleasant smell to it. The bathroom floor was very dirty and the wall to the room were dirty also. People in the next room kept trying to open the adjoining door till I had to yell for them to stop. It was a very unpleasant stay. I will not be going back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rheinland-Pfalz

historisches Hotel mit Flair und modernen Zimmern

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Cons: Günstiges Restaurant sowie ein kleines im Preis inbegriffenes Frühstück.
Der Empfang gegen 20:30 Uhr war super nett und freundlich. Es standen genügend Parkplätze am Hotel zur Verfügung. Das Zimmer war sehr gut ausgestattet und sehr ruhig. Es gab eine Mikrowelle, eine Kaffeemaschine und einen Kühlschrank. Zum Essen sollte man besser in die nähere Umgebung gehen, da es im Hotel selbst sehr teuer ist. Auch das Frühstück ist mit $16 p. P. sehr teuer. Leider konnten wir den Pool nicht nutzen, da wir hier lediglich auf der Durchreise von San Francisco nach L. A. übernachtet haben. Abschließend kann man sagen, es ist ein sehr nettes Hotel mit Flair, in dem bereits viele berühmte Persönlichkeiten beherbergt worden sind.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gute Lage für Auflüge zw. Santa Barbara + Monterey

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Das Frühstück
Location: ideal gelegen auf dem Weg von L.A. nach San Francisco. Wir habe zwei Nächte dort verbracht für Auslüge in die Umgebung, St. Maria selbst bietet nichts
Wir sind spät angekommen und wurden herzlich willkommen geheissen. Das Zimmer war angenehm gross für alle vier und die Ausstattung sehr gut. Selbst der Morgen Kaffee auf dem Zummer war sehr gut. Zudem hatten qir Gutscheine für das Frühstück bekommen, was ebenfalls sehr lecker war. Der Kaffee war ausnahmsweise richtig gut und auch die Rühreier - ein idealer Start für einen Ausflug zum Hearst Castle.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Excellent !! Très belle place et très bon personnel !