Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth going to

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Having been to Egypt 3 times before, I can say I'm very disappointed with this hotel. It's lacking in all categories - facilities, staff, service level, food. It's been a disappointing experience overall. -Facilities I understand that at the time of this review (November 2014) 1/3 of the hotel is under renovation and maybe soon it will be completed and up-to-date. But during my visit, the facilities are are in a state of neglect. The washroom in the room had to be flushed multiple times. It sometimes took more than 5 minutes to wait for hot water in the shower, and when I got hot water, it was boiling hot. Air conditioner in the room was not adjustable so you are either stuck with an ice cold room or a hot humid air. It's good to have friends living in other sections of the hotel in case there is no water (happened to me)! -Food I did not go to this hotel to enjoy a very nice meal every day, but some variety (other than chicken, beef, and fish) would not hurt. Fruit selection was very small as well - they only had oranges and pomegranates. Drinks are represented by powder apple, mango, and orange juice or pop. They do have real juice (guava and tomato) but you HAVE to tip in order to get it, but this is more related to the Service section of this review. -Service level / Staff This is where this hotel 'shines'. There were some very nice people, which you wanted to tip, and there were some characters that you want to argue with because of how rude and demanding they are.
5 out of 5
by Mustafa from Cairo

I will definitely come back.

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels
My stay was extremely fantastic, no need to step out of the resort. animation team were completely stunning, Mahmoud Front office manager and the rest of the staff are very helpful. food always fresh and lots of variety. WELL DONE ISLAND VIEW RESORT.
5 out of 5
by Mohamed from Sharm El Sheikh

Super

Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels
Our stay was perfect except that we lost some money on last day before the check out, whatever we enjoyed
3 out of 5
by Mohammad from Cairo

Not Recommended

Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels
some rooms of the hotel are under renovation, house keeping are always late, same kind of food every day .. I think you can get a better hotel in the same area with the same rate
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fin

The hotel Sunrise Select Island View Resort

Posted Jan 24, 2012 on Hotels
I stayed at this very nice hotel with my 2 daughters.The room was big and clean.Food was good.I really would like to stay at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from Washington, DC

Good value for your money

Posted Aug 10, 2011
The positives: The location of the hotel is excellent. Having an all inclusive service in Egypt is great. There was food and drinks available mostly all day. It is located in the Soho area which have many shops and things to do. The diving and snorkeling are just beautiful in the area. Some of the hotel managers were very professional! The negative: A few(not all) of the employees at this hotel were rude specially to women. My wife ordered spaguetti with red sauce and she was given it with white sauce, when she asked the waiter, he just told her "just take it and eat it" I had to complain to the manager and they were very apologetic and told me the employee was just tired. Like this case there were others. The food can be better, it was OK Overall, good service and value for your money. Managers, please train your employees with great customers services since people have choices now.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Budapest, Hungary

Very good value, awesome location!

Posted May 10, 2011
The best thing about this hotel is the immaculate grounds and the beach. It is a huge campus and there are canals and walkways with beautiful landscaping throughout. The hotel is next to the much more expensive Savoy and the beach is just as nice--lots of sand, two jettys, fantastic snorkeling (a much larger area for this than other hotels in the area), a bar and grill and a diving center right on the beach. There are about 2 flights of steps to get to the beach level from the hotel level. There is a vehicle ramp you can use if you have a stroller or wheelchair, but it is quite a workout. The hotel is also next to Soho market for shopping/entertainment/restaurants. As the other reviews said, the rooms are a bit tired, but were kept clean and are fairly decent size. Given the size of the campus, you should request a room next to the place you most want to spend your time. The two main pools, including the kids section, are furthest from the beach, near the lobby and main restaurant. There is another pool near the beach but on the hotel level that has spectacular views of the sea and Tiran Island and also has a waterfall and hanging vines. There is a restaurant on the beach on top of a small cliff, also with spectacular views, serving Egyptian cuisine for lunch. It was very good and convenient if you are like us and spend most of your time on the beach. The staff everywhere was great and they were especially nice to our son! We will likely return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by James from Salt Lake City, UT, USA

Wonderful time

Posted May 2, 2011
This was a wonderful holiday location for my daughter and I. We loved the pools. As has been noted in other reviews the rooms were a little dated, but we had no time to spend in the rooms except to sleep and shower. The evening entertainment at the amphitheater was great and mostly family friendly. The food was good, except for the variety for the kids. There wasn't much variety, the "kids corner" food was the same as the adults food except for the occasional fries. This was the only real down side of the stay. For larger families it appeared difficult to sit together because there were only a few tables set up for them. The day trips from the in house travel agents were a bit pricier than if you booked them on line with local agents, but for piece of mind book with the in house agents. Loved the holiday and hope to return soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

Sunrise Island View

Posted Apr 20, 2011 on Hotels
Spent 10 days there with 2 kids (8 ) and (12) my wife & mother & farther , how to start from the moment we got there every one treated us like royalty great hotel great staff great food super beach & 100% location on soho square , if i wanted to be really picky the rooms could do with a make over as there a bit old and tatty but are very clean, but ha ho you only sleep in your room so give this a go will be going back soon :-)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Sunrise Island View - Comfortable hotel with good

Posted Apr 14, 2011 on Hotels
My wife and I stayed at The Sunrise Islandview for 8 nights and totally enjoyed the experience. Restaurant staff were great and the food was good. We liked the option of having four different pools depending on how quiet/action your mood was. Only negatives were that the massage lady around the pool was pushy and the concierge was rude when I told him I would bring his tip to him after I unpacked.