Ratings based on 686 Verified Reviews

2.2 out of 5
29% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very bad odor

Posted Feb 12, 2018
This was a very basic hotel. And that is fine. It’s what I paid for. The horrible urine/damp odor was inexcusable. Made it hard to sleep. Disgusting!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from King georgr

Posted Feb 9, 2018
Know good for anyone else it sucked it was the worst place ever stayed my whole life my wife is really mad about this whole place I wouldn't even let my dog stay there I'll be scared he would die
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't be like me.

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Cons: Just shut the whole operation down. Pervasive mold and horrible service.
Location: DC attractions are close
I saw the reviews, but did not head the warnings. I needed to travel to MD for just one night, so I figured I would just take this deal since the stay would be significantly discounted. Well, you get what you pay for. . For the low price, I got horrible service, a dirty room, a moldy bathroom, and no working heat (on a night when the temperature in Silver Spring was 10 degrees). Upon arrival, I noticed that there was no one at the front desk. I stood in the front office (calling the front desk in hopes that someone would hear it and come to the desk) for 15 minutes before the desk clerk finally came in from across the street. When the clerk finally got behind the desk, he did not welcome me, but just stood there. I almost forwent taking a shower because I felt that I would come out of the shower dirtier than I went in. The bathroom walls and ceiling were covered in mold spots, and the mold on the bedroom walls had clearly been painted over. Thank heavens the deadbolt worked, but the door guard was missing screws and was barely hanging on to the door frame. If you're a broke student like me (or just looking to save a buck), do yourself a favor and just don't.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Off my list of quick stay accommodations

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: new carpeting, working phone, better internet access
You always get what you pay for. I checked in @ 6:30pm and checkout out at 8:00am the next day. I could nit pick a lot of issues but the top three are: didn't feel safe/secure (broken safety latch) - female travelling alone; noisy heating unit with thermostat that continued to turn off and on (didn't matter, I didn't get a good nights sleep anyway) and internet access (horrible) - I couldn't call the front desk from the phone in the room, no dial tone - Several other "things" but you get my drift.... I would not recommend to location nor will I ever book the Travel Lodge ever again.
1 out of 5
by Andrew


Posted Dec 11, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Margaret


Posted Nov 20, 2017 on Hotels
The Travelodge was old and needed to be updated (not a problem). The real problem was the roaches, no amenities (microwave or refrigerator) that is listed. There is mold inside the bathroom on the walls. It is trying to be covered up with contact paper. Dead bugs stuck to ceiling. The cleanup did not speak English so they didn't understand what was asked. The ice machine looked horrible with visible mold on the inside and outside. Outlets did not operate in room. TV was analog so only local channels. There was a lot of activity around the location (that didn't look legal). Rotten wood around doors. Carpet dirty. Read additional reviews and look at news clippings from the city about the Travelodge. Please remove it from your recommended places to stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very satisfied!!!

Posted Nov 12, 2017 on Hotels
Very pleasant... Nice accommodations... Friendly, courteous, and helpful staff...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Bad service & rooms

Posted Nov 2, 2017
There was no one at the front desk at 4 pm. Front desk guy not friendly at all. They gave us a smoking room, bad odor. Shower faucet loose, toilet water valve broken. The good thing is that the bus stop is next to the property. We will come Back.
1 out of 5
by Brianna

Bed bugs

Posted Oct 26, 2017 on Hotels
My door knob on the inside kept coming off asked to switch rooms was denied even though it was not packed cockroaches found in bed asked for a refund was denied worst experience
3 out of 5
by Ian C Blair

So so

Posted Oct 21, 2017 on Hotels
Pretty shady, but you get what you pay for, and my last stay was at the Hilton so perhaps my bar was set inappropriately high. As for the room service menu, I’d order the Coca Cola. The vending machine is top notch.