Ratings based on 1,813 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KY

Very nice hotel, but parking is inconvenient

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Room, Staff, comfortable bed
Cons: Parking, Parking, Parking
The room was great and very clean. The check-in process was nice. However, the parking was 25/night/car. It was also a decent walk to the lobby. It was also outside uncovered.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Urbana, Illinois

Very nice and great value and location

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Excellent bed, quiet, nice staff, free coffee, large, comfortable room, convenient location
Cons: A larger sign out front is needed. It's not clear where to go.
Very nice hotel in a good location for a great value. It was very quiet, the bed is very comfortable and the room was large and very nice. The staff were very polite and accommodating. The hotel lobby is beautiful. Complimentary coffee in the morning was appreciated and the self-parking was easy in and out. There is no large sign outside of the hotel so I passed it a few times before I realized the Doubletree and Union Hotel are the same thing. That's slightly confusing. But the great experience and breathtakingly beautiful lobby was well worth the confusion.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place for a wedding reception.

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Parking, Check inn, check out, room amenities, as in more TP, towels and caffinated coffy.
Arrived fresh from Six Flags theme park to find the valet overwhelmed and park at the end of the block. The magnificent main hall was set up for a wedding reception that was starting and we felt that we were barging in. The check in line was several people deep on a walled off area and took over 20 minutes wait to check in. What a mess. I heard that Dolly Parton checked in later and took pictures with the reception. I doubt that they wanted to take pictures with any one waiting in line with us. The room as OK but only had a half a roll of TP, towels for 2 and only decaf coffee, we were a family of 4 so you can see we needed to call the desk for obvious necessities. The self park was also an open parking lot not near the room so not quite what I would expect from a Hilton brand. The breakfast was not included. I ordered the waffle and received 4 mini waffles. Though it was a kids meal compared to the Belgan waffles I had included at waffles at Marroitts and Holiday Inns. Will not be back. If I return we return to this area we will stay at the Drury Inn next to the self parking lot with a real restaurant and parking deck at a much lower expense.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OMaha

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: location, service
Location: Close to parks and the Arch and lots of fun restaurants and bar.
Love this hotel. All staff is wonderful and rooms are clean and nice and bar is wonderful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Really disappointed with this hotel

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: The architecture and ceiling in main entrance hall is really beautiful.
Cons: So many things...but mainly housekeeping.
Location: Reasonable distance to downtown, but we chose to drive.
We were really excited to stay in this historic hotel, but from the moment we arrived it was all downhill. There was a huge, slow line at check-in that was being awkwardly routed around a wedding reception. We couldn't explore the hotel due to this event. The elevators are unreasonably slow and in poor condition. I had read complaints about lack of vacuuming at this hotel, but was truly surprised at how bad it really was. The hallways and main areas were littered with dirt, crumbs, etc...this did not change at all during our stay. Our room carpet was filthy with large chip pieces and broken plastic all over, There was hair in our bathtub and around the vanity. The nightstand was filthy. We chose not to bathe while we were there - it was really gross. Had we been staying for more than one night, I would have complained, but fortunately we were outside of the hotel for most of our days. This could be a beautiful hotel, it is just not well run, and in terrible need of repairs/updates.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Geneva, NY

Beautiful renovation but struggling

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Two things: the hotel is difficult to negotiate. Lots of seemingly unavoidable stairs, and way too few elevators, all clustered in one small spot of a huge hotel. But most annoying: checkout took over an hour. Bell captains all busy, and no do-it-yourself carts available. I want to love this place. Beautiful historic setting. The lobby is a work of art. But sections of the hotel, and all of the attached mall, are closed. Exits lock you out. You have to take a well-hidden elevator to get to the street level. There are lovely vintage trains (1930s-1940s era) parked outside. No indication that they are available for anything other than admiration from afar. So yeah, I wanted to love it but it is not getting the loving care it needs to live up to its potential.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Hotel clearly suffers from disorganized management. Everyone was overwhelmed. Pity as it has the potential to be a cool hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Be careful with valet service.

Posted Jun 12, 2016
I had great experience as far as hotel is concerned. Very pleasant. However... I did park my car with the valet service. The next morning when I got in car to leave.. My $100 bill I had in car was gone. I filed report with hotel and with valet service. Extremely upsetting experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay. Especially in the origanal ro

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Great staff, great free ciokies. Everyone was helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Nearly everything about our stay was great

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: The service is outstanding. If something goes wrong they fix it immediately and you might get a free breakfast out of the deal too.
Cons: Making sure the Market is open to all guest during the advertised hours.
Location: It is in union station. All of the union station shops are currently closed due to renovation. It is very close to the Metro Link and Bus stops.
The only thing lacking in our stay was that their "market" which is a bit like Star Bucks + sundries and other times was almost never open during the advertised hours. It was constantly closed for special events.