Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Turkey

Not comfortable

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Although it is near to Sultan Ahmad mosque, the hostel is not comfortable and not clean. I don't recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Mehmet, Hotel Management
Because you were not clean person.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Best view in Sultanahmet

Posted Aug 26, 2017
I booked last minute due to location and reviews. I honestly didn't believe the photos of the view until I arrived! I was on the top floor in the economy double room which took some stairs to reach (but it's Istanbul! Everywhere has stairs!) the view and room was worth the climb! One window faced the Sultanahmet (Blue) Mosque with the most incredible view I've ever seen and the second out to the Marmara Sea! The rooftop terrace was opposite my room and I seemed to be the only one who used it. Mehmet was a gracious host and helped carry my bags up upon arrival and offered advice and a smile each day. It's important to note, the hotel has a shop front downstairs and so the entrance is locked around midnight however if you discuss with Mehmet your plans he is accommodating in arranging a key for you to get in or he will come to open the door for you. Sultanahmet is an incredibly safe area with people around what seems like 24/7. As a solo female traveller I felt 100% safe regardless of the time and I think locals are mindful of that. If you're in the sultanahmet square (a 4 minute walk away) they'll politely offer you water or tea but will not harass you at all even at 2am! I would definitely recommend Lamp Hotel, especially if it's your first time in Istanbul!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Mehmet, Hotel Management
Thank you very much Lucy. Mehmet
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Quaint hotel close to Ayasofia and Blue Mosque

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Hotel was easy to find and is walking distance to key sights. A one block walk to the bazaar and two blocks to the Blue Mosque and Ayasofia. The hotel does not have many rooms and is the absolute best value. The AC is cold, wifi is fast, and it is well situated. Everyone is hospitable and welcoming, not something universally found in Istanbul. The hotel is perfect for a sleeping place or somewhere to rest during a day of long walks. Highly recommend this hotel. We will definitely be staying here on our return trips to Istanbul.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Mehmet, Hotel Management
Thank you very Much. we will wait you again.
4 out of 5
by Rachelle from Houston

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
The people who worked at the Lamp Hotel were very accommodating. They were able to schedule a shuttle for us in order to get to the airport on time and we're helpful in providing directions on how to get to certain places. Based from the outside, I wasn't expecting the room to be as cute and clean as it was. We had a wonderful view of the Blue Mosque and would definitely recommend staying here to other people. We were walking distance from everywhere (Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Grand Bazaar).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

GREAT location!

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Pros: Location can't be beat. Staff is helpful
Cons: I arranged AP pick up and confirmed via email...twice but Mehmet "forgot". Stairway is very small and steep.
Easy walk to Hagia Sophia (best site!), Blue Mosque, Topika, tram. Great kepab place end of the block.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff and location

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful staff, great location. However, Hotels.com mentioned the room had a private balcony, which it did not. Only one room actually has a balcony, the suite.
5 out of 5
by Rachel from Claremont, CA

Don't bother looking elsewhere for price+perfectio

Posted Jun 1, 2015 on Hotels
We arrived at the Lamp Hotel at midnight; nevertheless, the manager was friendly, helpful, warm, and even shared a hookah with us, chatting well into the night. The hotel's patio is the perfect vantage point from which to watch the the comings and going of the Old City, with countless shops and restaurants surrounding the area. Indeed, the Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque are a 3-minute walk from the hotel, which boasts absolutely stunning views of the former from nearly every window. Travel weary, hungry, and tired, landing at the lamp hotel was like a revivifying breath of fresh air. Should I ever return to Turkey, I won't even bother looking elsewhere to stay. All that, and the complimentary breakfast is hearty and generous.
4 out of 5
by Sara from Islamabad

Istanbul

Posted May 20, 2015 on Hotels
A girlfriend and I were on this trip together to Istanbul. We booked online from hotel.com and got a fast reaponse and was greeted cheerfully when I called as well. The room, though small, had a great view of the Blue Mosque. The staff is great, everyone from Mehmet to Adbu and Cristina were polite, friendly and helpful. We felt comfortable and safe staying here and anytime I had a query, I was given an honest reply. They helped us get around the city and use their books on Istanbul (lonely planet was particularly helpful) and give local tips as well. The breakfast was ample and the coffee and tea were not only delicious but unlimited ! Our room was cleaned everyday. Most importantly, the hotel is a 3-5 min walk from Sultanhamet square and also from several reataurants, bars, bazaars and the tram. We would totally reccommend this hotel and plan on staying here again !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

Close to all attractions

Posted May 2, 2015
If you want a hotel close to all Sultanahmet attractions then this is fine just to sleep in. Shower however has mould round the bottom, it leaks onto the floor & the shower head is sellotaped to the upright. If you are going on tour before 08:30 do not expect breakfast. No access to fire escape. Ahmood was one of the staff - he was friendly
3 out of 5
by David from California

A little slice of Sultanahmet

Posted Mar 27, 2015 on Hotels
A small property directly under the Blue Mosque, the Lamp Hotel was a serviceable hotel with basic amenities. Stay here if you plan on spending the majority of your time touring don't I intend being in your room for long periods during the day. An older property with thin walls and sparse amenities being run and maintianed by a genial and pleasant local family. Breakfast was hot as was the coffee. There is a niche for this property as it was full during my stay.