Ratings based on 729 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Tired hotel and far from Gatwick

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything. And a shuttle service to airport.
Location: Far away if you are using public transport. Only taxi to get there
I needed to be at Gatwick airport early in the morning and decided to find an hotel close to the airport. I was using public transport and this hotel is far and does not have a shuttle service as advertised and the taxi cost £18 a round trip. I should rather have booked into a Premier or hotel within walking distance of Gatwick. The Russ Hill Hotel is tired. I definitely would never book here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Weston Super Mare

Mixed views but good value

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Rocco and our evening meal, plus great value.
Cons: Wi-Fi, better receptionist at all times, signs for where hotel guests park, sound proofing of rooms
Location: Close to Gatwick Airport and not that far from Crawley and Horsham
At check in the receptionist never even spoke to us and even though we booked a double room we got given a cramped twin room with a high window that showed and heard the planes. Next day on reception Rocco was on duty and I would give him 5 stars as he was polite and efficiently swapped us for our remaining 2 nights for a double where you barely heard the planes and you had room at the side of your bed. The evening meal was good and exceptional value. Downside no Wi-Fi ANYWHERE EXCEPT RECEPTION area and EE phone reception non existent. Basically our first night 1 star at everything other 2 nights at least a 3 star. Rocco also told us about cheaper meal deals if you book on arrival, this was not said by original receptionist whom I was told has now been fired.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I was disappointed...

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: The price was low
Cons: internet in the rooms
Location: It was a little out so you needed a car or tour bus
One of the desk clerks was not personable and he was short, not quit courteous. I had to tell the room service to change the shower curtain because it had mildew and you could smell it in the bathroom. There is NO INTERNET IN THE ROOMS. I guess you get what you pay for!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Literally right next to the runway of Gatwick Airp

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Fairly close to Gatwick
Cons: New flooring in the rooms Slightly nicer tv's would be nice
Ok place to stay as a transition for the night before a flight. Food is way overpriced as is drink. (2.50 pounds for a tiny bottle of coke!) Bed was hard but I like that so we slept well. Clean minus the old, yucky carpets. Nothing in the room to speak of. Very bare bones with a tiny tv. Like I said, fine for a night but wouldn't want to be there long term.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Far from airport.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Expedia had it in the same category as holiday inn etc. It's not. First the staff put us in a room with no window or ventilation. Dirty. I've never seen anything like it. Had to ask for another room. In the new room, only enough space to walk around the bed. Not on public transportation system so had to use taxis. Very expensive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Our time away

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: The external features of the hotel has character.
Cons: The quality of the breakfast provided
Location: The town centre is 10 minutes and is easy to get to which means it is good for eating out and entertainment.
Hotel is within the take off flight path of Gatwick Aiirport so there is a continuous flow of air traffic which makes it noisy when sitting in the communal areas. Half of the room had a visible layer of dust and although advertised as having wifi in the bedrooms there was no wifi available . Wifi was only available in the public areas. The staff were helpful and friendly especially the receptionist who changed our twin bed room to a double bed room. We found the breakfast very disappointing as the food was lukewarm , beans looked dry and unappetizing, mushrooms had an odd taste like it had been cooked it used oil , hash browns were tasteless and burnt. I suffer from several food allergies and asked about the contents of the foods that I could safely eat ,unfortunately I had a reaction to the food that I ate.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Just what we expected. No frills but ok for a stop over.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired had better days.

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Russ Hill is tired and in need of a refurb. Easy to say this is reflected in the room rate but the standard has dropped through the floor. Disappointed
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rotterdam

Allen interessant als je eigen vervoer heb.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Rustig omgeving na 23:00, minder vliegtuigen in de lecht dan.
Location: Weining
Op locatie is echt niets. Je moet 10-15 km verder voordat je bij winkels bent. Goed uitvalbasis voor naar London. Je moet wel met je eigen auto naar een station (vb. Caterham of Purley) waar je betaald kan parkeren. Hierna met openbaar vervoer verder reizen.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Excellent airport hotel.

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Very clean room! Friendly, helpful staff. Good location. Excellent breakfast!
Cons: Needs to have wi-fi in the rooms.
Location: Set in the beautiful Surrey countryside.
Hotel out in the lovely Surrey countryside just 4 miles from Gatwick. Only stayed for one night prior to picking up someone from Gatwick airport early in the monring. Lots of parking, FOC for one night. Check-in caused me concern as a coach party arrived and caused a bit of chaos for an inexperienced receptionist but the Manager calmly sorted it. An old hotel but from what I saw it had been refurbished. So many rooms, quite small and a lot of them including my room are internal so no window but there was a sky-light, which was fine for 1 overnighter. I was actually surprised how clean the room was!! restaurant was clean and modernised. Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice and really tasty! Staff were very freindly and helpful. I was disappointed that the wi-fi didn't extend to the room due to the size of the hotel, you had to go to the main area of the hotel wi-fi hotspot which is no good for skyping family abroad which can be very noisy. Overall though I was very happy with the hotel and would use it again for value for money.