Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent all round.

Posted Jan 24, 2016 on Hotels
Really enjoyed this hotel. Beautiful building full of character and original features but plenty of modern amenities too. Excellent continental breakfast served by the restaurant. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Room was a good size,perfectly clean and lots of natural light with a generous en suite bathroom. Situated in the heart of Siracusas Ortigia but off the noisy main streets. Would definitely stay here again .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Wonderful Period Hotel in the Centre of Ortigia

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Pros: Central Location, very friendly staff, room size was excellent for a small hotel and very clean
Cons: Breakfast area was being refurbished but no works were carried out during breakfast. The breakfast that was served could be more adventurous.
Location: Superb location, the hotel was within a fifteen minute walk of all the main site on Ortigia
A pleasant hotel in Central Ortigia. The building was a typical 17th Century house with wonderful high ceilings and the room I stayed in had two stunning balconies. The hotel seemed to have been recently renovat0ed and was in very good condition. The lady at reception recommended three restaurants which I tried and all were excellent. I would highly recommend staying at Hotel Gargallo and I will certainly be returning.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2015 on Hotels
Great service and help with parking. Good breakfast and great location.
5 out of 5
by Tanya Iori from Sydney

Great location

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels
A great 3 star hotel located in a very central place on Ortiga. The staff were all very friendly and could not do enough to help us. They recommended some excellent restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Malc and Linda from London

Great little hotel centrally located on Ortigia

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: Friendly informal atmosphere suite we retirees
Super service from the friendly, helpful, staff throughout our 5 night stay . Clean modern facilities and excellent cold buffet breakfast included ( cold meats and cheeses , pastries and bread , cereal, fresh fruit , coffee, tea and juice ) . Perfect central location on Ortigia island for all attractions in Syracuse . Walls between rooms quite thin and internal noise does travel - but not unduly disturbing ( we had a quiet back of hotel 1st floor room looking onto a courtyard ). All in all would recommend as good value for its 3 star rating.
4 out of 5
by Stephen

Good location

Posted Apr 25, 2012 on Hotels
A B&B in a good location in the old town. Finding it by car was tricky and when we got there, they had one parking space which we were fortunately able to take. The room we had, 205, was smaller compared to the others that we glanced at when they were cleaning, but sufficed. It was clean, but the shower in the bathroom leaked onto the floor, and the shower head has seen better days. Free wifi is a plus, though slow, and the walls were thin such that we heard the TV from the next room, though not too bad as it was switched off before we went to bed. Breakfast buffet was smaller, but again, sufficed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would love to come back

Posted Dec 22, 2011 on Hotels
Great location! More than friendly staff! Beautiful hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris (France)

A very tiny but nice room in syracusa.

Posted Nov 21, 2011 on Hotels
We spent only one night, but we appreciated this place : nice hotel, very good and smiling service. Central in syracusa. Only weak points : a quite bad breakfast, and we got a tiny room (could barely turn around the bed). For one night, was ok. It seems the other rooms are quite bigger...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Great location, reasonable price

Posted Oct 20, 2011 on Hotels
The Gargallo is located right in the middle of Ortegia Island, the best place to stay in Siricusa from a tourist's perspective. You can walk anywhere in this area and it is very asmospheric, lots of restaurants etc. I went to an outstanding performance at the puppet theater and it was literally less than a 5 minute walk. That said, the hotel is certainly not luxurious, no elevator and no hot water the second day I was there. I complained about it to the very nice lady attending the breakfast service, literally the only person around from the staff. She made some calls and told me it would be fixed right away. A few minutes later whenI went to take a shower it was better but certainly not much more than warm. However you can't beat the price and the location!