Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Picturesque setting

Posted Sep 20, 2017
The grounds and buildings of this hotel are simply amazing. Our room was small but clean, and there was a heavy glass door that separated the room from the entry way and bathroom - not sure why. We did see several areas where rooms appeared to be up steep stairs, luckily we were on the ground floor. The staff were pleasant, food was fine, and parking easy. I can see why this hotel is focused on weddings as the atmosphere is beautiful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

don't bother booking....

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Leaving it.
Cons: Staff politeness and care. The place is beautiful.
Location: Nothing. Difficult to find, road signs dreadful. On leaving we went to Ironbridge and the Wrekin which is superb. People nice and friendly.
We arrived in the dark and the satnav directs you through a cul de sac estate. There Are no road signs and the staff on arrival laughed saying ' there is no exit from the estate to the hotel' The hotel is not signposted and the only sign is not lit. The hotel had few staff who seemed reluctant to serve or help us apart from one woman who did everything from night porter to find I a drink, to locating the other missing staff. Without her the place will crumble. And probably should do. A review of staffing, politeness, availability.....not hiding behind a wall and two desks to obscure guests, and a general tidy up would do well here. Add some road signs, and 24 information about wifi no you might improve what looks like a beautiful hideaway with glamorous surroundings. All in all a really dreadful experience. Such a pity, what a waste of such a lovely ace.
5 out of 5
by David

Delightful stopover

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
Ancient buildings skilfully adapted as excellent mnodern hotel set in quiet wooded parkland with lake. Food good and generous
4 out of 5
by Samantha

Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice hotel. Unfortunately they were unable to provide me with an invoice for the amount I had paid which meant that I had to spend half of my weekend getting hold of the correct documents.
4 out of 5
by Carwyn

Posted May 25, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is a lovely old building, the rooms you actually stay in are probably 80's and round the back and in need of some refurbishment now. The bathroom especially was very tired and dated. The main part of the hotel like reception & the hall where you have dinner and breakfast was very nice. The wifi was also very slow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Niagara Falls, ON

Ancient buildings with lovely views.

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Without question, coffee in the lounge at the end of the day's outing. The bed was superb. My room was on the ground floor with leaded windows.
Cons: Everything was lovely.
Location: Driving up from London, north of Bath, you must go to the village of Laycock. It has a National Trust administered 13th century abbey. WONDERFUL day!
This is not a modern steel and glass building. It is an ancient historical complex of halls and suites that has kept the ambience without descending into cliche. Simple dining room in large hall with few tables. Placid and quiet. The breakfast, which is all we had at the hotel during the day, was just what one would expect. Pleasing service and tasty, cooked to order menu. The high point for me and my daughter was coffee and dessert (rich brownies with delicious ice cream) seated in the lounge, which is a wonderful oak panelled great room. Wonderful way to end the day of exploring Telford and surrounds! The bar overlooks a small body of water, replete with ducks and geese. We sat on the deck and watched the spring ritual unfolding. The staff seem efficient and co-operative, but weren't fawning; willing to help when asked. Nothing more you could ask for really. We loved out stay in this beautiful area of England, and I know we will go back if the opportunity presents. Telford area is associated with the Arthurian legends, and offers some self-tours of landmarks of that period. Worth seeing. The people in the small towns are remarkably friendly, and quick to join a conversation about their particular area. Truly one of the friendliest places I have ever been.
4 out of 5
by Michelle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from staffordshire

Nice hotel more comfortable and quiet area

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Part of history
Cons: Need vibrating pad link fire for deaf clients
Location: The road near hotel need wider for road safety
Concern for deaf clients link with health and fire safety issues
2 out of 5
by Simon

5 Star? Don't think so!

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
We arrived to find we had been given possibly the smallest room the hotel had (anything to do with the reduced price we paid, you think?) but were given a much bigger room upon request without any quibble. But the room was cold due to the fact that the heating only reached luke warm. Dinner was disappointing. Dining room also cold. My sea bream was well cooked but my linguine was very overcooked and swamped in a bland tomato (Heinz soup?) sauce. Breakfast was very good, however, even though we were told about the buffet after we had ordered. The Hotel was set in a beautiful location but the interior decor was sparse, which is a shame as it would lend itself superbly to be themed in a fitting period style. All the staff were very polite and helpful and looked after us very well. Full marks to them.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Madeley in the middle

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
As with so many hotels in old, historic buildings there is always a bit of a catch. Rarely are you in that old building, but a 70s block which bears no resemblance to what you think you might be staying in. Marcure Madeley is such a place. The old part of the hotel is wonderfully atmospheric; the new part not so exciting. It was clean enough but the pervasive smell of damp forced us to change rooms. Staff were helpful and pleasant all weekend. The furniture in both rooms was drab and a bit tired, with paint chipped windowsills and desks. The heating was inadequate which perhaps explained the mould. The TV in the room didn't work as there was insufficient signal. Bedding was comfortable enough, breakfast was excellent both mornings with a good choice. Great hotel let down a little by its extensions. My daughter said the block we were in looked like a hospital wing which says it all. Overall, I don't think this is up to the usual Mercure standard.