Ratings based on 334 Verified Reviews
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
for Everyoneby A verified traveler from North Carolina
Good price and good locationPosted Aug 11, 2017
Neat,small and clean, not pricey for the central location. Staff is very friendly and helpful,breakfast was good and overall a good experience for us.
CompliantPosted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
When we checked in the room we noticed it wasn't like on the pictures, really small and crowded. We also noticed that on the ceiling there were mold and also at the bathroom. We contact the reception and the guy told us to come back the next day to change the room because the hotel was fully booked. The following day we went to the reception and the guy said that he doesn't have room available and we need to come back later on the same day. We did came back asapcially for that but there weren't any rooms left. The receptionist told us to come back the they after. We tried everyday without success. On the fourth day it was raining and we noticed that water started linking from the ceilings. We immediately contact the maintenance and they told us to leave the room so they can fix it. The reception didn't change our room. Only at the last day the hotel offered us to change the room but it was too late. The staff wasn't really nice and we wasted to much time of our vacation at the hotel. We were highly disappointed and would like a refund for all of the time we wasted. We also have pictures and video of the ceiling and the mold. Waiting for your kind reply and help.
Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels
for Everyoneby A verified traveler from London
Central LocationPosted Mar 25, 2017
The hotel is conveniently located slightly to the west of the city centre. The facilities are up to date and the decor is modern. Due to the hotels location it's possible you may hear traffic noise at peak times.
by A verified traveler
Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
by A verified traveler from rural Massachusetts
Central Hotel Bucharest -- never book on faithPosted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: There was not much to like, and a great deal to dislike.
Cons: The entire guest experience was badly flawed. I stayed in hostels as a teen, more than fifty years ago, where the service was more responsive.
Location: The hotel is well situated, a ten minute walk from the National Theater, the University, the Atheneum, the Old City and the Shopping area.
Initially, although I had received a confirmation for a double bed, I was put into a room with a cot and no working air conditioning, when it was warmer than 90° outside and even hotter indoors. The second night, after expressing my displeasure several times, I was changed to a room with a double bed and air conditioning. When I complained about the cockroaches in the bathroom of the second room, trapping two of them and presenting them to the management, the manager on duty said, "They're everywhere in Bucharest. I even have them at home." I asked for an insect exterminator, and there was no response from management during the week of my stay. The breakfast room was chaotic and loud. In the evening, when there was no internet service, the staff said they could not reset it, because they didn't know where the server was. I suspect that the four stars, of which the hotel boasts, were given to prior ownership, because they are certainly inappropriate for the hotel today! When I paid for my incidentals with cash upon leaving, the staff had to take up a collection to make the change, and a clerk left the building with my money to get change, because there is not even a cash drawer at the front desk! The hotel is next door to a McDonalds, and there is an overflow which simply loiters on the street in front of the hotel. I would advise anyone and everyone to STAY AWAY from the Central Hotel, Bucharest. There were also other issues, but they were minor.
for Everyoneby A verified traveler
Good area of BucharestPosted May 6, 2016
Cons: A little dark and gloomy. Street Noise, Street Noise.
Not a bad inexpensive hotel. Very noisy, if your room faces Elizebeta Street.
by Lynda from California
You can do betterPosted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
The location is definitely central, but of course that means there's some street noise until late in the night. Overall the hotel was OK, it was clean and comfortable with lots of hot water. I would not stay there again because of the staff. I was not made to feel valued by anyone. The man at the front desk couldnt find my reservation when I went to check in and even with a print-out of my confirmation from Hotels.com he argued with me. Maybe the hotel wasnt as bad as my review suggests, but it was a very disappointing start to the stay and I was glad to only be staying one night. I would not go back, there are too many other hotels to choose from.
by A verified traveler
Great StayPosted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
by A verified traveler
Good location but in need of tlcPosted Mar 16, 2016
The hotel was in a good location, walking distance of most sights although the area was a little run down and shady. The staff were lovely and spoke very good English. The room itself needed a bit of love, the air con didnt work and the radiator wouldnt turn down. This ment sleeping with the window open which was ok but the road outside is very loud. The bathroom shower cubicle was mouldy, it would do to be re-grouted, neither of the bedside lights worked and the safe was also broken. For the little time we spent in the room this was all ok, had i planned a longer stay i wouldnt of been happy.