Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California, USA

Taking advantage of and lying to foreign visitors

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: The facilities were very nice and clean.
Location: The hotel is not on the beach, and it takes a shuttle to get to the beach.
I had booked a $450 room, and need to stay an extra half-day. Normally, the cost to extend for a half-day is 50% of the room rate, but I was charged $350 for staying 6 additional hours. The stated reason was that I was "upgraded" to a higher cost room, which was unverifiable. When I volunteered to spend the extra half-day in a different room that would have been in the original rate category, I was told they were all booked. I left the hotel around 930p that night, and it was very clear many rooms were unoccupied. My so-called "upgraded room" had a view of the hotel parking and entrance, not pool area. I paid more for a lesser experience, and was manipulated to pay extra for something that was not worth it. If you can avoid this hotel, I recommend you do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montevideo

Great Hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Mantra is a resort not too near from the center of Punta del Este, but very near from "La Barra" with a lot of restaurants and Pubs. It has an incredible external pool (climatized), and unique infrastructure to enjoy your vacations. Has Kids Club, great SPA (with indoor pool and jacuzi), and very good restaurants with classic meet from Uruguay and mediterranean options too. One of the bests hotels of Punta del Este to enjoy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uruguay

a quick weekend off season break with the childre

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Seriously professional from top to bottom in terms of job functions, smiles everywhere, very happy to have you no matter what !!!
Cons: well it is not on the beach, but will never be.....
Location: La Barra, wrong side of the r
Off season I had low expectations, but was offered a low internet price too. However the complex was clearly at full effort no matter - top condition, staff the key who were on full effort - a top resort playing at full max despite the rain etc
2 out of 5
by Stacey from Ohio

Nice hotel...absolutely NO customer service!

Posted Nov 21, 2013
Pros: The pool
Cons: Some customer service!!!
Location: Not too much around it. really need a car or bike. Can walk to beach
The entire time we were there I counted only about 40 total people staying there. With that number of people I thought the service would have been exceptional - quite the opposite! My husband was at the pool and ordered a beer. After waiting for it for 30 minutes he left. My daughter and I wanted to eat lunch by the pool. we were seated at a table and waited 15 minutes for a menu. We were the ONLY ones there. Uruguay uses the US dollar. I bought a Coca Light and paid with a $20. The bartender gave me $4 dollars back. I asked him when the price went from from $5 to &15 for a drink he said, "oh, did you give me a twenty?" When we checked in we were given a "free" drink coupon. My husband tried to use it and he was told that was only good for Champagne so he said great I'll have a glass. He was then told they didn't have any. I asked the manager if they were understaffed and he told me no. He wasn't at all interested in our experience at his hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by GF from Sao Paulo

Great hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2013
Pros: Everything
Location: need a car to visit main attractions
The hotel rooms and facilities were very well maintained. Food was great and the hotel staff was always very nice and helpful. We travel with our 10 month old baby and we had a wonderful time in this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by annette from Buenos Aires

Great Hotel for family & couples in Punta del Este

Posted Jul 12, 2012
Pros: Friendlyness
Cons: 4 blocks from the beach
Location: nice surroundings in the woods.
Great for children, very friendly, free wifi all around. Great pool, nices surroundings, very well organized activities for children, like laser games in the woods at night, horse back riding at a farm, paintball, and much more.
3 out of 5
by Olga from Chicago, IL, USA

Olga, tourist

Posted Feb 13, 2012
Pros: frendly staff
Cons: no transfers
Location: far from Punta del Este
No transfer from the airoport to Mantra hotel. No transfer from a bus stasion Punta del Este to Mantra hotel. Very boring plese, only 2 restourants with limited menu. I'm not recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sao Paulo, SP - Brazil

Great Hotel with amazing service

Posted Sep 20, 2011
Great hotel with amazing service. I don't have anything to complain but I prefer if the rate all the values on the hotel with Uruguayan Pesos not American Dollars
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Sao Paulo, SP - Brazil

Excelent Vacation

Posted May 6, 2010
Excellent hotel with large rooms, clean and modern. The service is impeccable and the service always very cordial. Helped us rent a car and gave tips on tourist places.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

Good place to stay

Posted Dec 24, 2007
Good experience, the hotel is not located in downtown of Punta del Este but it's close to while you can see a different environment