Ratings based on 235 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2016
It was nice. Much construction going on around at the time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was spacious and clean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Old World Charmer in the Heart of Vail Village

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: The location is great. Loved the giant pine trees right shading our deck.
We had a lovely stay this summer. The hotel has a lot of old European charm including a great continental breakfast. Our room was large with a huge deck and a view of both the mountain and the creek. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Highly recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by Hotel Gasthof Gramshammer Team, Hotel Management
Hi Deborah, Thank you for taking the time to give such a nice description of your experience here at the Hotel Gasthof Gramshammer. We appreciate all feedback as it helps us to continue to tailor our priorities with the guest's experience in mind.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Old hotel, but in the heart of the village.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: It's history! Fairly quiet and location.
Cons: Badly needs updating!
Location: In the heart of Vail Village. Vail shopping is very expensive! (mainly for the rich!)
Old hotel and being renovated. Fire alarm went off in the morning, false alaram. No parking in the garage so we had to park far away in public garage and haul our luggage! Staff friendly and the hotel is a great location!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chattanooga

Good Location. Difficult Parking and Unloading

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Great Location to all the shops and eating. Hotel has a very nice ambiance rich in history of its past.
Cons: Air-conditioning and better directions to the hotel because GPS lead us to a location where you couldn't drive on the road to the hotel entrance.
Location: Lots of shops and restaurants. We went in the summer so mostly browsed the shops.
Stayed at this hotel for one night in late July on our way to the Rock Mountains. The hotel is in a great location right in the middle of an Alpine town, but parking was difficult. They have very minimal parking space at the hotel so most people will have to park in the parking garage. Had to carry our suitcases from garage to Hotel. Not far of a walk but may be for someone as there are stairs to walk up and down from the garage. The hotel has no air conditioner so our room was a bit warm. We had a fan in our room so that helped. All in all the hotel was nice and breakfast was good plus.
4 out of 5
by Robin from Tampa

The original old hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful balcony over the town square. Great old world feel. Shopping all around.
4 out of 5
by Lynelle from West Bend, WI

Summer getaway

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Stopped in for two nights to revisit after almost 30 years. First visit during the summer. Loved this hotel based on friendliness of staff and location. Will be coming back next year!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint hotel in the middle of Vail Village

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Orbitz
Wonderful hotel in the heart of Vail Village. The staff was warm welcoming, and very helpful. The rooms have no AC, however they do have ceiling fans, and provide extra fans in the rooms. We brought our own fan and propped open the windows after dark and the room stayed cool and comfortable. The restaurant is a little pricy and isn't very kid friendly. Overall a great place to stay with a mountain feel, and excellent location.
5 out of 5
by Dana

Love the Hotel Gasthof

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
Awesome family hotel with a delicious breakfast each morning . Two minute walk to gondola one. Will Definitely stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Dana, Thank you for your enthusiastic review. The Gramshammer family is one of the last small hotels in Vail which is not run by a management company and we like to think that while we may not be able to offer all of the amenities and services of some corporate hotels - our hospitality is second to none! We look forward to welcoming you back soon! HGG Front Desk Team
4 out of 5
by STEPHEN from Grand Junction, CO

Great Family-Run Landmark

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
I first stayed at Pepi's in 1969 or 70. While it is not the glitz and glamor of the newer hotels, it is very welcoming. In some ways it would seem disloyal not to stay there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Stephen, The Gramshammer appreciates your loyalty. It is true that we don't have the glitz or the glamour. As Mrs. Gramshammer likes to say, "Our hotel has and will always have two stars....Pepi and Sheika"! Thank you for enjoy our family driven hospitality. We hope to see you again soon! The Hotel Gasthof Gramshammer Team!