Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Victoria

Good value

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed my time. Staff are extremely friendly and have good customer services. Shuttle bus to CBD as well as the airport are free and absolutely adding value. Building is getting a bit old but room is spacious. Good value for money.
5 out of 5
by Adam

Good

Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
Great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Ryoji Suganuma, Hotel Management
We're delighted to serve you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Visakhapatnam,India

Nice hotel overlooking Mekong river

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: Quite and nice surroundings. Morning walk on Mekong river bund followed by surrounding beautiful religious places and then breakfast was a great start
Cons: Airport drop and pick up and free shuttle to down town could have been informed at the time hotel booking. Spa is OK, but not worth the money.
Location: Hotel value for money
Apprehensive first. But after checking into corner room 9011 with rear window facing Mekong river and side window facing pagodas and temples, settled comfortably. I have enjoyed Viantine only because of my stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bangkok

A well-known hotel in Vientiane

Posted Nov 17, 2016
My room was upgraded to deluxe type which was more comfortable and very beautiful riverview.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
the food and restaurant service in the hotel not good. breakfast not continental at all - very Chinese and other Eastasian countries focused.
4 out of 5
by Bryce

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by John from Bangkok

Nice - but wrong location for the sightseer.

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel condition exterior wise is rather weathered. Beautiful main entrance, with helpful door and reception staff. Room chosen was of average size with a view looking towards the city. Main restaurant had a good selection of farang food. Certainly the breakfast was big enough to keep even the most greediest fulfilled for the day. Biggest issue is that without a car or tuk tuk the location causes a problem as the main city attractions are a lengthy walk - and the traffic flow is from behind. Road / pavement condition, like most ASEAN countries, is not for the faint-hearted or dimwitted. All in all, a nice hotel, however not for family groups with no means of transport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wickford, UK

Impressive, perhaps a little tired

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: The grandeur and the appointment of the rooms. The keenness of the staff to help. Comfy beds A particular nice touch was the hidden luggage room.
Cons: The noise insulation
Location: It is a fifteen minute walk along the riverside to the centre of the city where most of the restaurants are
My wife and I stayed for a week. The hotel was obviously built to a very high standard and the lobby is very impressive. The rooms are large and well appointed, but it is not hard to find little details, such a cracks in some tiles or poorly reapplied bath sealant the indicates the hotel is in need a redecoration - but I have some sympathy as to do so to the original standard would be truly expensive, perhaps not making good business sense. The staff are exceedingly polite and try hard to help, but don't expect a high level of spoken English. Some staff can converse but many can't. The food served reflects the geographic location, although there is a large range of food, only a smaller range is familiar to those with european tastes. We had a room on the tenth floor. From there the views are impressive, but the fit of the double glazing is not as it once was and so there is quite a lot of noise at night, both car/bike engines and music.
4 out of 5
by Anthony from Honolulu

Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent service.