Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Harry from Bramley jhb

Excellence a home from home

Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly exelent staff very clean rooms
5 out of 5
by Suelyn from Galway, Ireland

Good value for money

Posted Jan 6, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable and friendly staff
3 out of 5
by John

Semi-Luxurious hotel with 3 big faults

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
Protea Hotel Highveld is a semi-luxurious hotel. The hotel is divided in 2 parts. The main part is where the reception is, however they claim it is the noisier section, but I must admit I heard nothing. The second section is across the parking area which is only rooms and they claim to have less noise. The positives are the room is good; quality of furniture and bedding is very good. Very good desk with plug on desk for businessman. All rooms are air conditioned. They have a large bathrooms but only a shower, toilet and a small basin with almost no shelf space. Only about 50% of the room is being used and the other 50% is just open space. Supper they tend to push you towards carvery, however you can insist on ala carte. The 3 big faults for me is a) there is no lift and many stairways, not suitable for the elderly or disables unless you insist on a ground floor room ahead of time. B) With all the space in the bathroom, more shelf space could be fitted to put your toiletries on. C) my biggest gripe is there is not door between the bathroom and the bedroom. You can lie in bed and watch your partner go to the toilet. If I was not travelling alone, this alone would have been a reason to checkout.
5 out of 5
by Nomboniso from Woodmead, Johannesburg

Pleasant Surprise All Round!!!

Posted Sep 5, 2015 on Hotels
What an excellent find! I was pleasantly surprised by everything, from the hospitality, the location, the settings and the food. Best place to stay in the city, period!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Formidabile rapporto qualità (molto alta) e prezzo (contenuto)
4 out of 5
by Megan from South Africa

Okay for Emalahleni

Posted Jun 11, 2015 on Hotels
There is not much to choose from in Emalahleni - so for a short stay on a business trip this hotel was adequate. With a Protea Hotel you know what you are getting as it is part of a chain. I did find the dinner to be overpriced and not great for the cost.
4 out of 5
by Nolan from Sandton, Johannesburg

Family holiday

Posted Mar 23, 2015 on Hotels
Really enjoyed it, not much time spent at the hotel itself due to attending an event, but loved the spacious rooms (family room). Will definitely book a family room again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mainz

Hotel mit Touch zur Kolonialzeit

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: Der rustikale Stil Und die Verwendung massiver Baumaterialien
Cons: Sicher wuerde ein bißchen Farbe hier und da das ganze etwas freundlicher scheinen lassen.
Location: Reines Geschaeftshotel, nur OK fuer Stopp auf Durchfahrt von Joburg zum Krueger NP
Gute Matratzen, akzeptables Essen im Restaurant , am Wochenende nur -a la Carte-, schmackhafte, preiswerte offene (Haus)-Weine, nettes Personal, alles total stressfrei. Natuerlich etwas in die Jahre gekommen, wer aber oefter in Hotels in Suedafrika unterwegs ist, wuerde es immer noch als akzeptabel einstufen. Sehr grosse Zimmer und Bad. Es funktionierte alles!
5 out of 5
by Nomonde from Pretoria

Awesome And Peaceful Stay

Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels
Very lovely hotel with friendly staff... everything about the hotel was just awesome. Really enjoyed our stay:)
4 out of 5
by Thabi from Johannesburg

Decent hotel, but not the room I booked/paid for!

Posted Dec 3, 2014 on Hotels
I was a bit dissappointed that I booked a family room which was confirmed only to be told by the receptionist on duty that they did not have any for me on arrival; and they blamed the confusion on the "system" and Hotel.com; that was rather disappointing!