Ratings based on 286 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alamogordo, NM

Serviceable

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Convenient, inexpensive (relative to the area), and available.
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: South of Carlsbad, NM, close to Carlsbad Caverns, Lincoln National Forest, and Guadalupe Mountains National Park for hiking, camping, caving & explore
Was in town for work, not for pleasure. Got there, slept, got up & left.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DIRTY & SMELLY!

Posted Mar 15, 2015
1st off, we were "greeted" by the front desk person with "don't tell me you're here to check in?" we were 40 min early for the check in time. our keys did not work and kept getting deactivated. VERY frustrating. The room smelled, and when we asked for a spray or anything to help, the front desk person said she didn't know where it was but if we saw a cleaning lady, to ask her. NEVER staying here again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2015
The town of Carlsbad is quite depressing. The hotel just fit with the whole town!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Disappointed!

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Mold on the bathroom ceiling. We were checked in to a room with an existing broken lavatory faucet. We were told that we had to move out so the faucet could be fixed. It was freezing outside so we stayed put and didn't use the faucet. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tucson, AZ

Comfy warm bed on our snowed in day in Carlsbad

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: They had waffles at the continental breakfast.
Cons: In our room the bathroom light cover was cracked and one arm chair had holes worn through the armrest. Great other than that.
Everything we needed. Fridge, microwave, iron, hairdryer.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cold and smelled like old smoke..

Posted Jan 6, 2015
We arrived and the staff was awesome. But the room smelled like smoke and the rest room was small , no room to move around kept running in the walls.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom california

Not clean!

Posted Dec 31, 2014
The room smelled of stale smoke but it was a non-smoking room, needed a lot of repairs, and the bathroom floor was still dirty/dusty. I can't expect much from a hotel where most of the staff looks related and they can work in sweat pants and T shirts. I expect more for $140
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Artfrom Anthony

Aweful!

Posted Dec 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Visiting Caverns and lights on the river. $100/night hotel you'd think there would be no mold in the bathrooms. Plus, we had to ask to change rooms due to smoke penetrating our room from nearby rooms. The vent on the heater blows straight and so when sleeping, air blows directly onto the bed/person sleeping. Had to block it with a chair. Toilet loose so when you get off of it, it hits the wall. Initial room's bath faucet just laid on top of the sink so it slides. Hotel staff very nice which is sadly, the only good thing about this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom El Paso Tx

To expensive for the quality of the hotel

Posted Dec 16, 2014
The beds were horrible and the shower worse, the tub over flooded it was just not good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Arizona

Working Man's Motel

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Pros: It was available when we needed it and it served our purpose of an overnite during our travels.
Cons: The mattress needed changing.
Location: Carlsbad, NM. The name says it all as Carlsbad Caverns is nearby drawing thousands of visitors annually. Barbecue and breakfast spots are good.
The motel shows the wear and tear of working people. There are many oil field types in the area with many staying in the motel. Our only real gripe was the mattress wasn't up to par. The room was clean and neat and everything worked fine.