Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from usa

Excellent hotel by the duomo

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Very clean and comfortable. Lots of natural light.
Cons: Would love a Coffee maker in the room
Location: Duomo, academia and other attractions are within the walking distance.
We loved our stay at this hotel within walking distance from all the attractions in florence.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moreno Valley, Ca

Great location!!!

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Great location!
Cons: I didn't like that you had to give your room key to the front desk every time you left the hotel. It wasn't a problem just unusual.
Location: Everything!!? The cathedral...San Lorenzo square...many gelaterias...
The location us perfect! The hotel is close to all the sights. The room was small, but clean. The staff was pleasant enough, but wasn't feeling our sense of humor. Even still, I have no real complaints. Hotel has a lot of character and I would stay again for the location!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by family of 3 tra

Hotel with good location

Posted May 25, 2014
We had a room for 3 & it was a small room. Window opens to busy street. Front desk helpful but not warm it enthusiastic. Good location near Duomo and Academia. We walked over from train station. Great gelato place up the block. Smallest accommodation on 3 city trip made it least favorite. Nice buffet for breakfast. Hotel can use some updating. Very old small TV in room but unimportant. Nicest part was nice jacuzzi bath.
3 out of 5
by Olivea from Toronto, ON

Good location

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Location. Very clean. Woman at the front desk was very helpful and super friendly. Couldn't ask for better staff.
Cons: Free wireless should be the norm. It is everywhere else in Italy (even the train). Fix the TVs. Make prices standardized.
Location: Everything is literally near by - you can walk any and everywhere from the hotel.
The hotel is fine. Totally adequate. But nothing above or beyond. You have to pay for internet (we stayed at 3 hotels in Italy and this is the only one that charged for internet. And it is 10 euros a day!!). Our TV did not work. We eventually got a new remote but all the channels were fuzzy. The rooms were really hot and we couldn't adjust our temperature (well, it never got any cooler) so we had to sleep with our patio door open. The breakfast was fine - lots of fruit. The "American" coffee is terrible, but the European expresso machine makes great coffee. The 3rd floor bar is pretty lonely and randomly expensive. The menu says one price and then the bill says something else. But overall, the place is totally fine. The woman at the front desk (who works like 24/7) is very helpful. And the breakfast room staff is prompt and friendly. The hotel is exactly what I expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie from California

Worth staying at when in Florence

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Great location and view. Yummy full breakfast! Hotel staff was polite and very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Spa
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Comfy beds, horrible service

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Rooms are good and beds are comfy, but service is horrible. My talk at the reception desk: I am saying: We use two rooms. I was waiting in one room when other family members were at a walk. I checked: our second room was locked. Then I checked again: our second room was unlocked, and Indian-looking person without a badge was silently running away of our door. I am warning a receptionist on this fact. Receptionist: It is normal, maybe this Indian works here. I am asking: Why he run away silently and left our door unlocked? Can you check cameras records? Receptionist: It is normal. Maybe he speaks only Indian, not English ( :) ) Maybe he wanted to check if the room is still occupied or not. I reply: But why he left the door unlocked? My conclusion: the service is horrible, and this makes the hotel unsafe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jacko from Melbourne

Excellent position, close to the Duomo.

Posted Dec 25, 2013
Pros: The spacious rooms, the position of the hotel and the helpful staff.
Cons: See above
Location: The hotel is right near the Duomo, the Accademia and a short walk to the Ponte Vecchio. Pitti palace is just over the bridge, as well as many others.
While our stay was generally ok, it's time modern hotels stopped charging for Wi-fi. 5 euro an hour is robbery. Also, an information sheet advising usage of the heating, which TV channels are best for, say, English, or others, and that the safe required a key, with deposit. Just on that these days a security code gives a better feel of safety. The breakfast was just ok, some egg concoction with heaps of salt seemed to be the "cooked" part of the arrangement on all three days, on the Sunday the croissants were stale, but the cereals, fruit etc was fine. The dining hall should have a dividing door between it and the corridor to the closest room (ours), as it was noisy while mealtimes were happening (Room 110).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Okay in a Pinch

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Pros: Location to touristy sites.
Cons: Bathroom, window that wouldn't close, internet charge and breakfast buffet
Location: Close to all the major tourist sites and easy access to the train station if wanting to head off to Pisa or somewhere for the day.
We booked into Hotel California with very little notice. The hotel is close to a lot of the sites and restaurants. The breakfast buffet was very limited. Seemed to be out of most things causing us to eat items as/or if they became available. We had to pay for Internet, and even after paying, only two devices could access it which was definitely a cause for turmoil amongst the kids. The bathroom was very dated with a tub that had a shower hose, however, you could not stand while using it. It got the job done but not in the greatest of fashions or comfort. The door/window to the patio could not be closed all the way allowing for a lot of mosquitos to invade overnight which resulted in a lot of bites by morning. All in all, the stay was okay and we were there for only two nights.
2 out of 5
by marc from seattle

There are better rooms at this price

Posted Oct 30, 2013
The location is ok - situated between the Duomo and the academia gallery. The layout of the hotel is odd and it was kind of a maze getting to my room. There was an a/c unit in the room, but it didn't work unfortunately. I'd say the room was on the small side, even by European standards. They hold your luggage before check-in, but it's not secure at all - literally placed in an unsupervised open room. On the plus side, the staff was very helpful and did more than expected when I had a last minute issue getting to the airport.