Ratings based on 197 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Centrally Located- great location

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Centrally located and walking distance to lots.
Cons: When booking on expedia, you should not be allowed to book a room ie two queen beds if in reality it is not available.
This hotel had been recommended by a friend who had stayed here in 2013. The hotel was booked on expedia four months in advance and the booking included two queen beds. When we checked in and went to the room there was a king bed only for three of us which included our daughter. We had to return to the front desk to be told that there were no rooms available with two queen beds and could we provide our hotel confirmation. This was handed over and we were still advised that there were not two queen beds available. After some commotion the front desk clerk disappeared and returned to advise we could have a king with a sofa bed. This worked out for us in the end, but be prepared if booking on expedia that what you actually booked is not what you will get.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ireland

Excellent location

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Location location
Cons: A five star hotel I feel should offer wifi facility as standard not £14. 95 per day.
Location: Location is excellent. Walking distance of theatres, shopping district, very very close to tube, direct tube in from heathrow.
I have stayed in this hotel many times. I love the location and the breakfast is amazing. Over my last few trips wifi in your room costs £14. 95 per day whereas In every other hotel, not necessarily five stars, that I have stayed in,in recent years wifi came as part of the facilities. Also the staff are quite brisk and not overly friendly or welcoming. Some rooms are below what one would expect in a five star hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

Great location. Room freezing

Posted Aug 27, 2014
deputy management david did his very best to put right our complaints. Irene and Valintino fantastic staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Depends on the room you get.

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Location - You can't get much more central to tourist London than to be right next to Picadilly Circus.
Cons: Some rooms are clearly below any modern hotel room expectations let alone a hotel with this number of stars. Stop pretending this doesn't matter
Location: Half a block from Picadilly Circus in London - shopping, theatreland and major London sights are all walking distance. Tube to everywhere else.
We regularly try different hotels for our long weekends in London. Our experience here was a mixed bag. The first night we were given a very odd inward facing room. Because there was a large industrial air extractor about 1 foot from, and right over our window we had (grimy) frosted glass in the windows, making the room very gloomy. Beyond this the noise was very notable at night so after a few attempts (after the first night) we succeeded in getting another room - which was absolutely fine.(reasonably appointed, bright and airy) Overall I am surprised they'd even offer rooms like that at this price. Even in London that's just NOT OK. So the building's old and some of the fittings are a bit "used", but to be unable to figure out what the weather's like outside from your room is certainly not what I paid for in a major chain hotel.. I go into town more than once a month so not the end of the world for me, but I worry if you're saving up for your once in a lifetime experience in London and get the room we were initially offered it would be a real let-down. Net - your experience here very much depends on what room you get. (room 230 = 1 star). Frankly overall you can do better in London for the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel in great location

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Great hotel - poor staff. The service industry in England is awash with immigrants who didn't even know they could work in a hotel until they showed up in England.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice hotel. Concierge accommodating/helpful

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Within walking distance of attractions
Cons: Breakfast buffet very pricy
Location: Soho, Chinatown, Piccadilly, Trafalgar Square, Buckingham Place
Quick check in. Rooms ready on time as promised. Very comfortable and clean rooms as one would expect
2 out of 5
by Ian from World traveller

Five Star rip off.

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Location is very good.
Cons: Free wifi in the rooms!!!!
Location: The location is excellent in that it is on Piccadilly and access by tube from Heathrow is possibly the best. Every tourist event is within walking.
I have a big issue with hotels in this day and age want to charge $30 or more a day for internet usage in the hotel room. IF smaller hotels and even B&Bs can offer it free in rooms then way cannot a five star hotel? The option was to use the lobby- but at all times the few chairs available were full of people using ipads and lap tops. Besides, the lobby is relatively small and very busy. All the coffee shops in Piccadilly offer free wifi. With the hotel wanting $30 for breakfast and $ 30 for wifi my suggestion is take breakfast elsewhere, it is going to cost a fraction and come with free wifi. I also had a room that had light bulbs that were broken. And at the price , a bedroom turn down would be appreciated, there is a need for a second towel in the bathroom. Not great using a damp towel from the previous evening for your morning shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Franklin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Traveler from NYC

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location. Too expensive for worn out, very small rooms. Common areas were fine, but our room needed a lot of repair work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Excelent location

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was perfect and very well located. Room was clean and service at the check in was really a difference.