Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Cons: strange loud sound in the plumbing
very well situated in Covent Garden area, excellent staff and amenities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Perfect hotel. Friendly staff. We love it and will return again. Everything about them was wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Beautiful hotel. Amazing location.

Posted Jul 9, 2015
The staff of this hotel are second to none. Never before, have I experienced such professionalism in a hotel. They are polite, beautifully dressed, friendly, helpful and don't miss a detail. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are comfortable. I enjoyed a soak in the tub every evening after hours of walking. Close to the theatres and Covent gardens. My 16 year son and I had a great experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from München

Erholsam, zuvorkommend und sehr aufmerksam.

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Wir sind noch vor der offiziellen Check in Zeit angekommen und wurden wegen der Wartezeit von 15 Minuten auf 1 Glas Champagner eingeladen. Ob die tägliche nationale oder internationale Zeitung, Hinweise für besondere Veranstaltungen oder auch der tägliche Wetterbericht, nichts wurde vergessen um einen wundervollen Aufenthalt zu gestalten. Ein Geheimtipp an der Hauseigenen und Sehenswerten Bar ist ein "Hairthief".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City.

A Covent Garden jewel

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: The aesthetic environment, the courteous and upbeat staff, the facilities like a wonderful pool and spa facilities, including massages.
Cons: I can't name a thing!
Location: Right across the street is the Strand theater (now playing The Lion King). Up the street is a fantastic pub with outdoor seating. Lots of shops.
Do you enjoy the sense of staying in a private residence when traveling? If so, then One Aldwych Hotel in London is for you. The entrance has the feel of a private mansion -- a great wrought iron-grated door set into an impressive stone building that occupies the block of 1 Aldwych. Just inside bell hops, discreetly looking at the name on your luggage tags while carrying your bags inside, address you by name and introduce you to the concierge. A sense of peace and style pervades the lobby where, set off in its own corner, a comfortable bar and lounge area with its cathedral-like windows look out to the bustling street. Art pieces adorn all walls, including the corridors upstairs.The staff is courteous (in a very British manner), highly trained (also in a British manner) and cheerful (quintessentially British). My room was relatively small but very comfortable. The plumbing had odd features (the drain was positioned in the middle of the bath tub) but nothing that was off putting. The baths are completely modern with granite counters and stylish basins. Each night the maid service puts on the side stand a card detailing tomorrow's weather. On the night before check-out, the maid put by the bathroom sink a ziploc bag to store liquids in while traveling via plane. The room has free Wi-fi, a safe and mini bar. Complimentary bottles of water are given each day. The breakfast room/restaurant is on the mezzanine level and features upholstered chairs and a view of the street outside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Florida

London Accomodations

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Pros: The location, staff, room - everything.
The One Aldwych had been recommended to us and I had researched at least 30 hotels. I was not familiar with the area having never been to London before but the hotel's location was perfect. It was close to many places we wanted to visit or, if necessary, easy to navigate the public transportation stops nearby. The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating and made us feel welcome whether we were coming and going. They always made suggestions and helped us with any information we had questions about. The room was extremely comfortable and clean every time we returned in the evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent hotel in central London

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Perfect location, quiet rooms, powerful bath, comfy beds, personalised service.
Location: Lion King just behind the hotel. Covent Garden 5 mins away. Waterloo Bridge with views of the Thames across the road - easy to walk to South Bank.
Really impressed by this place - picked it for the location (just round the corner from the Lyceum Theatre and 5 minutes from Covent Garden) but would stay again for the friendly staff, quiet cosy rooms, and amazing service - felt like a really special stay. The staff were exceptionally friendly, asking us about our plans and sharing tips, and some of the housekeeping touches were very impressive - a card placed by the bed with the weather for the next day, a sealable bag for toiletries (they must have seen our mini shampoos and realised we were flying somewhere), etc. We didn't have time to use the pool or do the afternoon tea, but both looked great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Highly recommend

Posted May 22, 2015
Gorgeously appointed, very accommodating staff, heart of London in easy walking or tube distance to most major attractions. Great food, comfy bed, plenty of hot water, speedy room service. No complaints whatsoever!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

5 star boutique hotel well located for sights

Posted May 21, 2015
It was our anniversary and the staff made an incredible effort to help us celebrate. Can highly recommend - high end without being stuffy - had a Four Seasons feel to the place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2015
We had a wonderful time at the Aldwych! Recommend it! The staff were what sets this hotel apart.