Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Good rooms but the owners don't really care.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
There's no reception that is open. Hard to find. Had to call for them to open the door. When I got to the hotel early they informed me the room wasn't ready to come back at 2pm. When I came back at 2 the staff lady (who was the nice one) told me that actually I was in another hotel a few blocks away. I clearly reserved the leoni hotel and had the reservation printed out. She then called the owner who told her that no I was in the other hotel. I had to explain that I booked based on location and pictures and that I didn't feel comfortable going somewhere else I didn't know and had never seen. She called him again and this time he told her to give me room no. 1. The room was nice and comfortable. It was somewhat clean. The floors needed a little mopping.. But fine. After all day walking around I came back to the hotel and there was some sort of party going on the backyard. Some people singing really loud. I didn't complain until it was about 11:30pm and someone started playing some kind saxophone.. Right under my door that opened to the small backyard. When I called the number I had for the reception (because there is no "reception") the owner picked up. Took them about an hour to stop the noise and turns out it was him and his family/friends who were in the backyard.. I'm not sure what he's thinking but it didn't feel that he took his business seriously. Oh and the breakfast is not included in this B&B..(what????) should not be called b&b at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC Area

Very nice place

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Great looking facility
Cons: It has it all
Location: Very close to Historic Center
Great location to Historic Center, 5 minute walk. Very clean, great breakfast, very nice staff. Good bed and bathrooms, free parking. It has it all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by levace from UK

Ideal Hotel for Old Lucca town

Posted Jun 20, 2014
We had a nice room in "Attic" with nice old beams etc, Nicely fitted out and for what we paid V Nice, They can organise Bikes, which is by far the best way to see the town. Breakfast ok, Internet ok, All in Very nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Glammo from U

Comfortable, rustic and so convenient

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: The staff. So welcoming and friendly.
Cons: Shower was a tad small.
Location: Lucca - astonishing city. Climb the stairs in Torre Guinigi to find the famous oak trees and see the city views. Cycle around perimeter wall - a must
Just five minutes walk from Lucca city walls. On street parking - free down one side of the road. Our downstairs room (no.2) opened onto a communal terrace. Very high ceiling, air conditioning, refrigerator & kettle in the room. Breakfast - croissant, cereal, melba toast etc. then coffee, tea and juice or water served in a basement room a bit like a wine cellar! Clean room, all electrics worked, wifi okay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Meredith from Washington State

Friendly staff, room clean and comfortable

Posted Nov 2, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Robert from Newquay

basic hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room very basic and simple. No information (code) for Wifi given. There's a walk into town of approx 15 minutes. The road in front of the hotel is strongly frequented by ambulances/polices cars. So prepare yourself to listen to the siren at any time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keys from Sydney, NSW, Australia

Cheap B&B close to Lucca

Posted Oct 12, 2013
Very nice B&B, close to Lucca walled city. 5 mins walk max. Stayed on top floor with beautiful wooden beams. Comfortable and clean room. Shower is in room which may put some off but was fine for us. Office has limited hours, and breakfast was not included in out rate and we chose to have it in the city. Everything done on check in and office was not open when we left at 10, so left keys in door when leaving. Owners live down stairs so was able to leave our luggage in the locked office and pick it up at 12 prior to leaving Lucca.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Debi from Mexico

Great location, but that's it!

Posted Oct 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
It might say B n B but if you want breakfast it costs an extra 5€. We had # 4 with a king bed, and bunkbeds. The kingbed is worn flat on the sides and still high in the center so it is like sleeping on a little hill. Which is too bad because it was a very comfy mattress. Wifi is terrible, we were rarely with service, or the signal strength was so weak we couldn't access internet or send/receive email. Property is completely unmanned after about 6pm, until service staff who come in about 7am. When we arrived about 4pm another couple was standing on the stoop in the rain and had been waiting 40+ minutes for someone to come let them in. Our fridge didn't work, and the shower head attachment was broken so that you had to hold it with one hand and shower with the other, thankfully my hubby was able to repair it. Property is basic and economy. Tiny shower with 11 inch opening. There was ample hot water, and little squeeze packets of shampoo were available. Property is a smoking property even though they say the 'rooms' are non smoking. Consequently you frequently have smoke smell in your room, especially if like our room the a/c won't blow and you need the windows open. Have no clue what the breakfast is like since it is served on the patio and I refused to walk through the smokers to check it out. Location is convenient to city walls and historic city. Nice neighborhood with restaurants and food store. Eva, super sweet and helpful. I would not return to this BnB.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kathy from Baltimore

Good for a one night stay

Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel was very convenient to Lucca and that's what we wanted. Everything was fine, but nothing to write home about and certainly not someplace you'd want to hang around. But we had limited time to see Lucca, which was fantastic, and this hotel was in a good location and was very inexpensive.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good location, pity about the hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was clean and the staff were really, really nice (couldn't speak very much English but shame on us for not speaking Italian). However, Room 108 is tiny, beams which you hit your head off, window shutter doesn't work properly, shower you have to use one hand to hold it (also cublcle tiny). Sorry, wish could give a better review.