Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Small and Quiet Hotel

Posted Jan 30, 2014
Pros: It was quiet and the staff was very helpful and friendly.
Cons: On site dining option would be great but may not be feasible due to its small size.
Location: Lots of dining and shopping is very close by.
We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel on the beach. It's close to everything but far enough from SoBe to be quiet at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by BLM from Chicago

Best Customer Service - Ever!

Posted Aug 9, 2013
Pros: Customer Service - nice location.
Cons: There should be a evening cutoff at the pool for kids. Was never able to use the pool because there were kids in it from early morning to late night.
Location: There's shopping, boating, fishing, lots of cafe type restaurants, sunbathing and playing in the ocean, jet skiing, cruises and more.
My husband, son and I stayed for 4 nights and above all was really impressed by the excellent customer service extended by the front desk staff and valets. They were very accommodating when dealing with a room issue and sought to make us as comfortable as possible. I can't say enough about the staff - really, really nice experience in today's times when other facility staff can be aloof or abrasive. Kudos to them!!! A couple of comments that would have made my stay perfect - Bluegreen should have informed me as soon as they knew that the roof was being torn off and that construction would be going on. I spoke to representative from Bluegreen two days before my travel and she never told me anything about the roof. However, the day before I traveled I received an email letting me know the pool would be closed because of construction. My other complaint is where balconies connect, Bluegreen should make those balconies no smoking. My family and I don't smoke yet, the couple next to us were chain smokers so we couldn't sit out on our balcony very oftern because of all the smoke. These are my only two complaints about the stay. I would definitely go back to Solara and recommend it to friends.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude People! Poor Customer Service! Old mattresses

Posted Jul 25, 2013
Pros: The grounds were nice and it was right on the beach.
Cons: Train your staff to have better customer service. And buy some new mattresses that don't have squeaky springs that stab you all night long
Location: There isn't a lot going on besides the beach. The location is quite far from the excitement of South Beach that most people are expecting.
The only helpful/pleasant people at this hotel were the valets. From the moment we checked in there was problems and bad attitude from the staff. Officially the check in time is 4pm, with a check OUT time of 10am (this leave a 6 hour cleaning window). We had arrived a few hours early and left our bags with the bell desk. The front desk had claimed that our room wasn't ready yet, but they would try to put a rush on it and would call as soon as it was ready. Since we were tired and sticky from our travels we decided to stay close to the hotel so that we could get right back as soon as the room was ready. We never received a call and went back around 3pm. We saw guest after guest check in and go straight to their rooms while we waited in the lobby surrounded by our luggage. Any time we asked for an updated it was the same answer "I'll let you know as soon as housekeeping is done". MY MAIN COMPLAINT: Don't make promises you don't intend on delivering on! If the room wasn't going to be ready until 4pm TELL US THAT! We could have made plans to visit a beach or sight seeing instead of hovering close to the hotel in hopes that we would get a room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ron from Tampa, FL.

Great condo on the beach.

Posted Jun 8, 2013
Pros: It's on the beach, helpful staff.
Location: Boat tour of the houses of the rich and famous.
Surfside is north of Miami Beach but still south of the Bal Harbour. Its about a ten minute cab ride north of the Fontainebleau Hotel and the very excellent Hakkasan Chinese restaurant. It is a condo run like a hotel. They have a very helpful staff. Our room had a bedroom, a kitchen and living room with foldout couch. There is a pool, hot tub, picnic tables with grills and a kids room. We had breakfast in our room one morning and on the picnic tables the next. There is free coffee in the lobby. Food stores are a short drive away. Parking is by valet only for an extra charge. The beach is nice with beach chairs that come with the room but umbrellas extra. Get your beach towels from the front desk. There is a beach front sidewalk that we walked on. One could ride a bike there as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tom from montreal

a place like home.

Posted Apr 24, 2013
Pros: room,beach access
Location: good location 10 minutes to south beach or to Aventura mall
We arrived at the hotel and we where greated by Hilliard the valet who was very friendly and so the same with the reception staff,We where very pleased to see how huge was this ''appartement '' with a full size kitchen huge living room with balcony ,one big walk -inn plus another wardrobe ,2 and half bath and a umungus bedroom with a ''real'' kingsize bed.flat screen tv in bedroom +livingroom. Amazing view of the beach and of the bay from our balcony. Very good staff thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Best beach vacation ever

Posted Sep 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
This hotel was very accommodating. We make a family of 6. 8 if you include many parents who joined us. We stayed in the 2/2 suite. It had more than enough space for all of us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lionel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rob from Cincinnati, OH

Great Experience

Posted Apr 30, 2012
Great Location! walking distance to restaurants and shops and overall gret beach experience as they provide chairs for lounging on the beach. Great walking and biking path on the beach, also resonably price parking! Would definitely go back
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay.... Not bad, not brilliant...

Posted Mar 21, 2012 on Hotels.com
Absolutely NOTHING around the hotel as in bars and restaurants. Expensive valet and they never had the car ready for us everytime we phoned for it. Overpowering fake flower smell in reception. Room understated and a bit blah. Pool very small and very deep. But warm enough. Hot tub good. Great access to the beach. Overall good price for getting direct access to beach but very restrictive overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by April from Palmetto Bay, FL, USA

Great stay!

Posted Mar 18, 2012
My only complaint was that the bed was too hard but other than that everything was wonderful. We checked out and stayed the rest of the day and was treated just as wonderfully as when we first checked in. We had 2 adults 2 kids and an infant and can't wait to go again!