Ratings based on 343 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Condition

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Good location, easy to get to town. Needed a car to do this.
The room we were in was old but nice. Mostly comfortable, pillows adequate. TV adequate. No AC, but there was a fan available. Slept with windows open, felt safe. The morning breakfast was late sometimes, and was always the same. Would have liked some variety. Parking was right next to the room, Nice. Old bathroom, but water pressure good. For the price in Carmel, this was a good place. For more money, we could have had modern... but who wants to spend more?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from santa clara

Not cheap rundown with bad service

Posted Oct 16, 2014
After staying once for about same price in Mission Inn in Carmel I was so shocked to see this hotel room outside and inside. I rented cottage room. First thing I saw was capet stained so badly, you'd think murders happened there. Breakfast was brought to us in a basket - which sounds nice - but muffins and danish were born before me and bananas were so green that they were tasting like grass. I called to front desk many times and was never able to get through - I had to find their number on internet. I asked for hair drier which was immediately promised but never brought. Really bad experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

This place was older style accommodation

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: We got a good continental breakfast delivered to our door!! Staff was friendly & helpful.
Cons: Needs some updates, renovation
Location: Location was ok, but couldn't walk into town. Easy drive down into Carmel from hotel.
Carmel Resort Inn needs some TLC, some updates would be good. Since Carmel has no street lights it was difficult to find our accommodation because we arrived in the evening. Bed was comfortable but bathroom was not good. Sink was in the main room but shower was in need of repair.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Very expensive, not worth at all, could hear baby crying in next cottage, ppl glowering etc in other cottages etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorks

Comfort not luxury

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Located a 15 min walk from the main town centre, Carmel Resort is a series of cabins not a Vegas - style "resort". The cabin we stayed in was the size of a junior suite, fixtures were a little dated but clean, serviceable and comfortable. The rare addition of breakfast (brought to the room as there is no communal dining area) was adequate to set us up for the day - fruit, pastry, muffin, yoghurt and juice; coffee already in the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calif..

Run down cabins

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Grounds,carpets,sink,bathtub,fresh painting
Location: 5-minute drive to Carmel and beach
Quite basic,bathroom needs to be redone,view from bathroom was a junkyard, Breakfast was cold with muffins and some juice,plants and flowers outside Neglected. Staff is nice,I feel sorry for them.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Came the weekend of Concourse.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The cute little breakfast basket in the morning.
Cons: I realize the facility is old and "charming" but I can't understand why there was so much mold in the bathroom.
Location: It is a trek to downtown, uphill and at least a 20 minute walk (with no sidewalks).
While very charming, when we first entered our room we were overpowered with the musty/moldy smell. We tried really hard to keep in mind the uniqueness of the establishment but it got so bad we had to leave our room, keeping the windows open in hopes to "air it out". The next morning when we showered, we noticed the mold on the ceiling, the walls and even in the grout that encompassed the tub to the point it was separating from the wall. Everything leaked, which I get being an older facility but that may be the reason for the mold/musty smell. After two days, we left with headaches and terrible sore throats. Not sure how that correlates to our stay, but interesting that my husband and I had the same symptoms and once home, the symptoms disappeared. I am thankful we had the opportunity, but I don't feel I can come back or even bring my young family with me because of the health concerns. I feel bad to write this review, but I would feel guilty if someone brought their family and someone had a compromised immune system or pulmonary issues and I didn't speak up.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara

Not fancy but good!

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The location and the price.
Cons: It needs to be remodeled.
Location: It's about a 15 minute walk or 3 minute ride into town.
This place is not a hotel, it's a motel. It used to be a resort type of place, and now the units are individual " room cottages". It's not remodeled, and it's not fancy. However, it's clean, it's quiet,and it's very affordable for Carmel. We would stay here again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sf east bay

Old "cottage" type wooden construction ...

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Price and location ( on Carpenter not far from highway One) during the car week allows you to avoid some traffic messes... But not all.
Staff is gracious; cleanliness is good; plastic cups; no fridge in room; bathroom designed in 1920's or so... No counters; shower over tub.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Road Trip

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: Take a Bulldozer and take it down !!
Location: Out of the way and a long walk to the main are of Carmel
Payed for 2 nights 2 rooms stayed only one night ...could not do it again ...!!